CGTalk > Software > Autodesk 3ds max
Login register
Thread Closed share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-08-2012, 11:54 AM   #1
DaveWortley
<database error>
 
DaveWortley's Avatar
portfolio
David Wortley
Technical Director
London, United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,869
Send a message via MSN to DaveWortley
Object Properties 2.0 (Beta)

[Find the last post by me on this thread for the latest version]

It's always annoyed me that the Object Properties window is modal (locks out the rest of the max interface), someone mentioned in one the various 3dsmax rant threads that it annoys the hell out of them, and I thought, hang on that can't be too difficult to re-make.

So I've written a new one in maxscript! This is non-modal, so you can change your selection with it open and see your changes in real-time.



I'm planning on adding some extended features and some more useful features. I'm welcoming suggestions of what you'd like to see added in. It's very handy as allows you to animate visibility without having to constantly open and close the dialog.

I've added in all the tabs you'd expected as well as the VRay Object Properties tab and a very useful Maxscript tab which tells you everything about all the properties to do with that object, modifier, material, interfaces etc.

It's being used in production and has no known major bugs....
__________________
Maxscript Made Easy...
http://davewortley.wordpress.com/

Last edited by DaveWortley : 06-10-2013 at 04:31 PM.
 
Old 08-08-2012, 12:19 PM   #2
AJ
Totoro
 
AJ's Avatar
CGTalk Forum Leader
portfolio
Alex Jefferies
Director
MDI Digital Ltd
Norwich, United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 4,961
Dave - you are a genius.

Does this mean that it's possible to animate the visibility track of an object and *actually* move the time slider?

Will scratch my head and see if I can think of anything to add but in the meantime, great job!
__________________
SKETCHBOOK
MDI
moonjam.com
 
Old 08-08-2012, 12:21 PM   #3
DaveWortley
<database error>
 
DaveWortley's Avatar
portfolio
David Wortley
Technical Director
London, United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,869
Send a message via MSN to DaveWortley
Quote:
Originally Posted by AJ
Dave - you are a genius.

Does this mean that it's possible to animate the visibility track of an object and *actually* move the time slider?

Will scratch my head and see if I can think of anything to add but in the meantime, great job!


Yep, haven't added in the visibility animation tracks yet, but hoping to removing the faff of having to deal with the different controllers for on/off animation and variable visibility. I'll make it automatic.
__________________
Maxscript Made Easy...
http://davewortley.wordpress.com/
 
Old 08-08-2012, 01:21 PM   #4
lo
the frequentest!
portfolio
Rotem Shiffman
Tel Aviv, Israel
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,837
Looks like a great idea
 
Old 08-08-2012, 01:45 PM   #5
Charkins
Digital Handyman
 
Charkins's Avatar
portfolio
Christopher Harkins
Lead CG Artist
Kitestring
Louisville, USA
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 902
Fantastic idea! It really annoys me being a locked window.

Being a vray user, I never use the adv. lighting or mental ray tab either.

Something else that annoys me, every time I launch object props, it defaults to the 'User Defined Properties', which I never use anyway and have to tab over to 'General'.
__________________
Chris L. Harkins
 
Old 08-08-2012, 02:27 PM   #6
DaveWortley
<database error>
 
DaveWortley's Avatar
portfolio
David Wortley
Technical Director
London, United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,869
Send a message via MSN to DaveWortley
Quote:
Originally Posted by Charkins
Fantastic idea! It really annoys me being a locked window.

Being a vray user, I never use the adv. lighting or mental ray tab either.

Something else that annoys me, every time I launch object props, it defaults to the 'User Defined Properties', which I never use anyway and have to tab over to 'General'.


Yep that happens to me, which is annoying, mine won't do this of course
__________________
Maxscript Made Easy...
http://davewortley.wordpress.com/
 
Old 08-08-2012, 02:44 PM   #7
robinb
Expert
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 2,917
Looks good. I hate it being modal as well.

I use advanced lighting. Radiosity is still useful in games.

If at all possible, I'd like to be able to toggle material colour/ object colour on a per object basis rather than a scene basis. Or just be able to turn textures on and off would do. We're constantly running out of VRAM with DX shaders and this would be very helpful for that.

But I have no idea if this is even possible as is.
 
Old 08-08-2012, 07:50 PM   #8
DaveWortley
<database error>
 
DaveWortley's Avatar
portfolio
David Wortley
Technical Director
London, United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,869
Send a message via MSN to DaveWortley
Oh look a maxscript file to test....

Version 0.3 ready for viewing.... still beta at the moment.... but it's usable and if you're animating visibility, very useful!

Open it up and take a look at the instructions and then go test it... make it break please! Then tell me what you did....

Written and tested in max 2011 should work in future and previous versions as long as they didn't add/remove many extra buttons.
__________________
Maxscript Made Easy...
http://davewortley.wordpress.com/

Last edited by DaveWortley : 08-13-2012 at 09:03 AM.
 
Old 08-08-2012, 07:56 PM   #9
strangerthings
Expert
 
strangerthings's Avatar
A Roberts
Kingston upon Thame, United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 445
Nice work! And to think my rant helped it along!

Love the fact it's taken you a few days when it's been on max wish lists for about 10 years.

Not sure it will stop me from staying with C4D though

I'll certainly pass it on to the max house I am at

A.
 
Old 08-08-2012, 07:57 PM   #10
Charkins
Digital Handyman
 
Charkins's Avatar
portfolio
Christopher Harkins
Lead CG Artist
Kitestring
Louisville, USA
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 902
Awesome. Just post problems here as we find them? I came across one immediately.

Any time I select something else in the scene with OP2 open, I get:
'MAXScript Callback script Exception' -- Unknown property: "UpdateSel" in undefined

That's in Max 2013 PU4
__________________
Chris L. Harkins
 
Old 08-08-2012, 08:03 PM   #11
Charkins
Digital Handyman
 
Charkins's Avatar
portfolio
Christopher Harkins
Lead CG Artist
Kitestring
Louisville, USA
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 902
Quote:
Originally Posted by strangerthings
Love the fact it's taken you a few days when it's been on max wish lists for about 10 years.


I've thought this quite often myself. I'm not a dev, so I have no idea what goes into adding new features from AD's side, but it's kinda shocking to see Marius Silaghi (quad chamfer), Clovis Gay (Anim Transfert, Ultimate Painter) or spacefrog (PowerPreview), to name a few, knocking out awesome tools quickly and efficiently...
__________________
Chris L. Harkins
 
Old 08-08-2012, 08:10 PM   #12
DaveWortley
<database error>
 
DaveWortley's Avatar
portfolio
David Wortley
Technical Director
London, United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,869
Send a message via MSN to DaveWortley
Quote:
Originally Posted by Charkins
Awesome. Just post problems here as we find them? I came across one immediately.

Any time I select something else in the scene with OP2 open, I get:
'MAXScript Callback script Exception' -- Unknown property: "UpdateSel" in undefined

That's in Max 2013 PU4


D'oh! Scope issue... fixed now, re-download it from the link above, and to think I just wrote a whole long blog post on how exciting (huh?) scopes are.

http://davewortley.wordpress.com/20...topped-working/
__________________
Maxscript Made Easy...
http://davewortley.wordpress.com/
 
Old 08-08-2012, 08:32 PM   #13
Charkins
Digital Handyman
 
Charkins's Avatar
portfolio
Christopher Harkins
Lead CG Artist
Kitestring
Louisville, USA
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 902
Some more, pretty trivial things, really... So far hasn't crashed on me.

- Name field doesn't change object name
- Materialname doesn't update when material applied, changed, removed.
- Visibility slider doesn't seem to update unless I toggle some other boxes (hide, freeze, etc)
- Vertices/Faces field is empty
__________________
Chris L. Harkins
 
Old 08-08-2012, 09:44 PM   #14
DaveWortley
<database error>
 
DaveWortley's Avatar
portfolio
David Wortley
Technical Director
London, United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,869
Send a message via MSN to DaveWortley
Quote:
Originally Posted by Charkins
- Visibility slider doesn't seem to update unless I toggle some other boxes (hide, freeze, etc)


Can you clarify that please?
__________________
Maxscript Made Easy...
http://davewortley.wordpress.com/
 
Old 08-08-2012, 11:06 PM   #15
Charkins
Digital Handyman
 
Charkins's Avatar
portfolio
Christopher Harkins
Lead CG Artist
Kitestring
Louisville, USA
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 902
Quote:
Originally Posted by DaveWortley
Can you clarify that please?


It's strange, but if I toggle the 'hide' or 'freeze' functions, it happens instantaneously. But if I mess with the visibility slider, it doesn't take effect until I toggle something else. When I get back at work I'll test to see if its a viewport thing or if the changes actually don't stick.
__________________
Chris L. Harkins
 
Thread Closed share thread


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
CGSociety
Society of Digital Artists
www.cgsociety.org

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright 2000 - 2006,
Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Minimize Ads
Forum Jump
Miscellaneous

All times are GMT. The time now is 10:08 AM.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.