CGTalk > Main Forums > News
To minimize the ads you see on this page create a CGTalk account and log in HERE
Thread Closed share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-04-2014, 07:16 PM   #1
do3dcom
Veteran
portfolio
Do3D.com
do3d.com
astoria, USA
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 57
Exclamation VRay 3.0 for 3ds Max Released!



Click here to read more details

V-Ray for 3ds Max / Version 3.0











Rendering

Faster Ray Tracing Performance
New Progressive Production Renderer for interactive and production rendering
Render Mask to specify render regions using an object selection or image mask
Reflection/ Refraction Trace Sets to control object visibility in reflections and refractions
Max Ray Intensity parameter to remove noise resulting from over bright sources
Faster Hair rendering with support for view-dependent tessellation
Deep Image support including OpenEXR 2.0 output
Improved V-Ray RT GPU with support for Render Elements
Improved V-Ray RT CPU with support for SSS, VRaySkinMtl, and VRayDirt (Ambient Occlusion)
Improved V-Ray RT with support for Forest Pack and RailClone from iToo Software
Improved Distributed Rendering with Automatic Asset transfer and ability to exclude local machine


Lighting

Probabalistic Light Sampling for optimized rendering of scenes with multiple lights


Geometry

VRayClipper for creating cutaway and section renders
Metaballs with support for rendering implicit surfaces


Workflow

Simplified User Interface with easy access to common controls
Quick Settings with production-ready presets for fast render set ups
New V-Ray Toolbar for quick access to common V-Ray tools
New Online Documentation with direct links within interface
Improved V-Ray Frame Buffer with added color correction controls
Improved Lens Effects supported directly in V-Ray Frame Buffer
OpenColorIO support for advanced color management
Alembic integration with support for hair and particles
Improved Lens Analyzer Tool to match barrel distortion using any image (no longer limited to grid photo.)


Additional Features and Improvements

Support for object-based custom tags in filenames using VRayHDRI
Support for Mari and Mudbox tags in VRayHDRI
Support for Ground Environment Projection in VRayHDRI
Support for Ptex object-space vector displacement any image (no longer limited to grid photo)

- See more at: http://www.cgriver.com/forum/conten...h.j3yjcOo3.dpuf
__________________
High Quality Rigged and Animated 3D Transformers on DO3D.com

Last edited by do3dcom : 02-12-2014 at 04:07 AM.
 
Old 02-04-2014, 08:55 PM   #2
andrewjohn81
Bad Username since 1990?
Andrew Engelkemier
Powerpoint Expert and more
USA
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 1,262
don't forget to show the less great stuff they changed as well.

You now have to pay additional amounts for each render node. There is an option to rent if you need the extra power, but rarely.

That will work for plenty of people, I'm sure. But I can't get that much extra money, and my bosses don't like renting. So I'm stuck with the older version which gives you 10 render nodes per license instead of 2.

For those that aren't aware, this is by far the worst system. Some people charge you per CPU, regardless of it's speed. And some of those are even fixed licenses so each node has to be a full time render machine.
 
Old 02-04-2014, 09:29 PM   #3
Billabong
huh?
 
Billabong's Avatar
portfolio
Brandon Hall
Modeler
Indigo Studios
Atlanta, USA
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 1,227
Send a message via MSN to Billabong
Quote:
Originally Posted by andrewjohn81
don't forget to show the less great stuff they changed as well.

You now have to pay additional amounts for each render node. There is an option to rent if you need the extra power, but rarely.

That will work for plenty of people, I'm sure. But I can't get that much extra money, and my bosses don't like renting. So I'm stuck with the older version which gives you 10 render nodes per license instead of 2.

For those that aren't aware, this is by far the worst system. Some people charge you per CPU, regardless of it's speed. And some of those are even fixed licenses so each node has to be a full time render machine.


Yeah my boss saw this as well. we are looking at close to 20K to upgrade. Not sure its gonna happen.

-B
__________________
www.billa1.com










 
Old 02-04-2014, 10:16 PM   #4
cecofuli
Engineer
 
cecofuli's Avatar
portfolio
Francesco Legrenzi
Modeler / Lighter
Architecture Studio Piva
Milan, Italy
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 847
But with $20.000 you can buy something like 300 nodes ! And, if you contact Chaosgroup, they can do a good discount, I think! And, again, if you have 300 nodes, your business is veeery big!
With 700 euro (or $970) you have one WS license and 10 rendernodes. Not bad at all.

http://www.chaosgroup.com/public_im...d-Licensing.pdf
__________________
Francesco Legrenzi
www.francescolegrenzi.com
VRay - THE COMPLETE GUIDE

Last edited by cecofuli : 02-04-2014 at 10:19 PM.
 
Old 02-04-2014, 10:36 PM   #5
Billabong
huh?
 
Billabong's Avatar
portfolio
Brandon Hall
Modeler
Indigo Studios
Atlanta, USA
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 1,227
Send a message via MSN to Billabong
That pricing list was the first I've seen. I went to Archvision site and everything is priced separately.

So with the discounts on that pdf you attached we are looking at 10K to upgrade, which is better than 20K

-B
__________________
www.billa1.com










 
Old 02-04-2014, 11:10 PM   #6
cecofuli
Engineer
 
cecofuli's Avatar
portfolio
Francesco Legrenzi
Modeler / Lighter
Architecture Studio Piva
Milan, Italy
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 847
I don't remember where I found this link. Maybe in the Chaosgroup forum, some month ago. We talked in some threads about the new prices and I saved this PDF on my bookmark. Maybe, now, something is change. Better to ask to Chaosgroup. I remember Vlado talked about big discount if you buy a lot of nodes. And 250-300 are a looot rendernodes!
__________________
Francesco Legrenzi
www.francescolegrenzi.com
VRay - THE COMPLETE GUIDE
 
Old 02-04-2014, 11:16 PM   #7
do3dcom
Veteran
portfolio
Do3D.com
do3d.com
astoria, USA
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 57
Quote:
Originally Posted by andrewjohn81
don't forget to show the less great stuff they changed as well.

You now have to pay additional amounts for each render node. There is an option to rent if you need the extra power, but rarely.

That will work for plenty of people, I'm sure. But I can't get that much extra money, and my bosses don't like renting. So I'm stuck with the older version which gives you 10 render nodes per license instead of 2.

For those that aren't aware, this is by far the worst system. Some people charge you per CPU, regardless of it's speed. And some of those are even fixed licenses so each node has to be a full time render machine.


Doesn't Vray 2.0 come with 100 render nodes? What do you mean by 10?
__________________
High Quality Rigged and Animated 3D Transformers on DO3D.com
 
Old 02-04-2014, 11:41 PM   #8
spurcell
Lord of the posts
 
spurcell's Avatar
portfolio
shane purcell
Senior Artist
Providence, USA
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 704
So, are these licenses for DR, or Backburner? If it's for Backburner, then forget it.
 
Old 02-05-2014, 01:23 AM   #9
Billabong
huh?
 
Billabong's Avatar
portfolio
Brandon Hall
Modeler
Indigo Studios
Atlanta, USA
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 1,227
Send a message via MSN to Billabong
Quote:
Originally Posted by spurcell
So, are these licenses for DR, or Backburner? If it's for Backburner, then forget it.


On the archvison site, it only mentions the render nodes for DR, but I just asked on the chaos group forums. Will post back here as soon as I get an answer.

-B
__________________
www.billa1.com










 
Old 02-05-2014, 01:40 AM   #10
Billabong
huh?
 
Billabong's Avatar
portfolio
Brandon Hall
Modeler
Indigo Studios
Atlanta, USA
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 1,227
Send a message via MSN to Billabong
Here is the response.

Quote:
Render Nodes 3.0 can be used for both DR and Network Rendering (Backburner, Deadline, Qube, etc.) Depending on how many nodes you need, there are bundle options available. You can check out http://www.chaosgroup.com/en/2/vray_licensing.html#tab3 for more details. Be sure to click on the Upgrade Tab if you're looking to upgrade.

We also have an upgrade Calculator available for anyone looking to configure the best option. http://www.chaosgroup.com/en/2/UpgradeCalculator.html

And be sure to email sales@chaosgroup.com if you have any other questions
.
__________________
www.billa1.com










 
Old 02-05-2014, 10:40 AM   #11
Laserschwert
Know-it-All
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 493
Quote:
Originally Posted by spurcell
So, are these licenses for DR, or Backburner? If it's for Backburner, then forget it.
The licenses are both for Backburner and DR.

Sure, it's a step down from the unlimited Backburner licenses (DR was always 10 licenses per V-Ray license), on the other hand V-Ray got a bit cheaper. To be fair, the "unlimited" thing was a fantastic offer, and we should be glad we got it in the first place. But with V-Ray being such a great renderer and the incredible customer support by Chaosgroup, it's understandable that they want to make more money from it.
 
Old 02-05-2014, 02:16 PM   #12
spurcell
Lord of the posts
 
spurcell's Avatar
portfolio
shane purcell
Senior Artist
Providence, USA
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 704
Quote:
Originally Posted by Laserschwert
The licenses are both for Backburner and DR.

Sure, it's a step down from the unlimited Backburner licenses (DR was always 10 licenses per V-Ray license), on the other hand V-Ray got a bit cheaper. To be fair, the "unlimited" thing was a fantastic offer, and we should be glad we got it in the first place. But with V-Ray being such a great renderer and the incredible customer support by Chaosgroup, it's understandable that they want to make more money from it.


That thought occurred to me. I've been using vray since it was in beta, and was a large and helpful presence on their forums for a pretty long time. It WAS great they went that route, and I think it was a wise business choice, as it brought in people who were willing to give their renderer a shot, especially compared to mentalray and how it charged per node. (or was it even cpu?) I guess I'm just curious as to the reason for the change.

I also think that the Max ray intensity feature, which is used to remove overbright pixels, an issue vray users have long suffered from, is something that should be included in the current vray version, not just the new one.
 
Old 02-05-2014, 03:05 PM   #13
circusboy
Expert
Raonull Conover
Montreal, Canada
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 2,841
Quote:
Originally Posted by spurcell
I also think that the Max ray intensity feature, which is used to remove overbright pixels, an issue vray users have long suffered from, is something that should be included in the current vray version, not just the new one.

But that means retrofitting a new feature onto a previously released version.
Software developers almost never do that. Its too messy to support as well.
It could be pretty core level for all we know.

You may hate the issue...so then you'll have to upgrade to get the feature/fix.
 
Old 02-05-2014, 05:22 PM   #14
bigbossfr
aka DeeX
 
bigbossfr's Avatar
portfolio
Damien BATAILLE
Renderer/lighter/shading
Paris, France
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 576
People talks about the price (which is not abusive compared to other render engines), but not about features ....

Last edited by bigbossfr : 02-05-2014 at 05:27 PM.
 
Old 02-05-2014, 06:12 PM   #15
AJ
Totoro
 
AJ's Avatar
CGTalk Forum Leader
portfolio
Alex Jefferies
Director
MDI Digital Ltd
Norwich, United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 4,961
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigbossfr
People talks about the price (which is not abusive compared to other render engines), but not about features ....
Welcome to the internet!
__________________
SKETCHBOOK
MDI
moonjam.com
 
Thread Closed share thread


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
CGSociety
Society of Digital Artists
www.cgsociety.org

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright 2000 - 2006,
Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Minimize Ads
Forum Jump
Miscellaneous

All times are GMT. The time now is 02:16 AM.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.