CGTalk > Main > News
Login register
Thread Closed share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-26-2013, 12:04 AM   #16
strangerthings
Expert
 
strangerthings's Avatar
A Roberts
Kingston upon Thame, United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 445
Looks Amazing. Never Used Modo... . This looks incredible, but can I be bothered to learn another application

Gave up Learnt Lightwave then Max gave that up for Maya and now mainly use C4D for the awesome interface (and it's still the only 3d app you can use multiple documents easily in) and while I love Cinmea, UI performance is rubbish.

To Modo Or To Nodo?
 
Old 03-26-2013, 12:39 AM   #17
grrinc
Expert
 
grrinc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1,332
I am seriously impressed and sold.... but...

whenever a new and exciting Modo release is announced, it doesn't take long for reports of bugs and errors to follow. I understand that most releases are in need of patching etc, but Modo seems to get more flak then most.

Am I right?
__________________
Posted by Proxy
 
Old 03-26-2013, 01:13 AM   #18
Mattoo
Lord of the posts
 
Mattoo's Avatar
portfolio
Matt Painter
3D artist - Generalist
London, United%2BKingdom
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 653
Quote:
Originally Posted by grrinc
I am seriously impressed and sold.... but...

whenever a new and exciting Modo release is announced, it doesn't take long for reports of bugs and errors to follow. I understand that most releases are in need of patching etc, but Modo seems to get more flak then most.

Am I right?



I've been using Modo for 95% of all my work (through modelling, texturing, animation and rendering) for the last 5 years and I've found it no more unstable than the previous 5 years I spent using Maya 5 days a week through 3 versions. So no, I don't really understand that comment.
Certainly by the final few service packs of each generation of Modo it becomes very stable indeed.
 
Old 03-26-2013, 01:27 AM   #19
SheepFactory
Expert
CGSociety Member
portfolio
x y
Canada
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 16,141
Quote:
Originally Posted by grrinc
I am seriously impressed and sold.... but...

whenever a new and exciting Modo release is announced, it doesn't take long for reports of bugs and errors to follow. I understand that most releases are in need of patching etc, but Modo seems to get more flak then most.

Am I right?



601 was a wreck on release. I tried the demo and it randomly crashed a lot. So far 701 has been rock stable, I have been using it non stop since this morning and haven't had a single crash. Really happy with the stability so far.
 
Old 03-26-2013, 02:36 AM   #20
oatz
particle wrangler
Khye Kading
Khye Kading S.P.
Ankeny, USA
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 260
It does look impressive. What is the Foundry's role in Modo's development? Was it a hands-off acquisition or do they influence development?

Also, I think if Modo wants to start to take a chunk out of other DCC's userbase (which I'm willing), it'd be nice to see some migration PR or pricing for existing users of other DCCs, Like when Adobe went after the Final Cut X users.

A 15-day or 30-day (paid) demo is not enough time for me to diagnose if I can comfortably switch. I hope they adopt a Nuke PLE model so I could investigate in sporadic downtime situations.

Downloading now...
__________________
Khye Kading
 
Old 03-26-2013, 02:42 AM   #21
Kabab
Lord of the posts
 
Kabab's Avatar
portfolio
babak sanayei
Director
Vizual Element
Australia
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 2,855
The Foundry did the Linux port according to the modcast they did that project to test the waters before they decided to merge as way to make sure both companies would work well as one entity....
__________________
Vizual-Element
 
Old 03-26-2013, 02:53 AM   #22
Novakog
Lord of the posts
 
Novakog's Avatar
portfolio
Andrew Helmer
Software Engineer
Google
USA
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 813
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kabab
The Foundry did the Linux port according to the modcast they did that project to test the waters before they decided to merge as way to make sure both companies would work well as one entity....


Yup. The new features of 701 were developed entirely by the original Lux crew (the exact same team that did 601), while Foundry developers (Tom Ward, in particular) did the Linux OS layer. The Foundry crew also helped out on general bug fixing later in the development cycle.
__________________
If someone offers a penny for your thoughts, and you give them your two cents, where does the other penny go?
 
Old 03-26-2013, 04:23 AM   #23
Zeddicus
Nothing is ever easy.
 
Zeddicus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 147
I'm having trouble accessing the 701 tour right now. Does anyone know whether they implemented Ptex support yet? If so, is it compatible with subdivision? I really expected this to find it's way into modo 601 and was pretty disappointed when it didn't. Considering Mari has supported it for a while now, I'd find it very odd if it still hasn't been added.
 
Old 03-26-2013, 06:40 AM   #24
Novakog
Lord of the posts
 
Novakog's Avatar
portfolio
Andrew Helmer
Software Engineer
Google
USA
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 813
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zeddicus
I'm having trouble accessing the 701 tour right now. Does anyone know whether they implemented Ptex support yet? If so, is it compatible with subdivision? I really expected this to find it's way into modo 601 and was pretty disappointed when it didn't. Considering Mari has supported it for a while now, I'd find it very odd if it still hasn't been added.


Sorry Zeddicus, there's no Ptex support yet. Of course it is something we want to implement, but it didn't make it onto the list for this release.
__________________
If someone offers a penny for your thoughts, and you give them your two cents, where does the other penny go?
 
Old 03-26-2013, 08:05 AM   #25
Zeddicus
Nothing is ever easy.
 
Zeddicus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 147
Quote:
Originally Posted by Novakog
Sorry Zeddicus, there's no Ptex support yet. Of course it is something we want to implement, but it didn't make it onto the list for this release.

That's a pity. Maybe 801 then, perhaps. I'm watching all of the sneak peaks you posted and I have to say modo 701 is pretty darn amazing. I'm really impressed at how easy it is to learn modo as well. Goodbye Autodesk, hello Luxology.
 
Old 03-26-2013, 09:23 AM   #26
Hawksmoor
Miscreant
 
Hawksmoor's Avatar
Games Artist
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 122
Looks great! Only thing putting me off taking the plunge is it still is missing a few games specific things which don't seem to have been touched in this release. Maybe 801 as I'd love a competitor of autodesk to really seize that market.
 
Old 03-26-2013, 03:09 PM   #27
malax
Frequenter
Ma La
Wild West, United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 197
There's a lot to like there....for a nearly ex c4d-er who's looking to move.

Any ideas when the 701 demo will be available ?

....and maybe a silly question but what is the UK price ?
I can only seem to find USD prices for electronic purchase...or maybe is Luxology one of those rare software companies that charges you the same no matter where you live ?

Cheers,
mala
 
Old 03-26-2013, 03:19 PM   #28
Kabab
Lord of the posts
 
Kabab's Avatar
portfolio
babak sanayei
Director
Vizual Element
Australia
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 2,855
Quote:
Originally Posted by malax
There's a lot to like there....for a nearly ex c4d-er who's looking to move.

Any ideas when the 701 demo will be available ?

....and maybe a silly question but what is the UK price ?
I can only seem to find USD prices for electronic purchase...or maybe is Luxology one of those rare software companies that charges you the same no matter where you live ?

Cheers,
mala

Luxology are indeed a rare company
__________________
Vizual-Element
 
Old 03-26-2013, 03:21 PM   #29
SheepFactory
Expert
CGSociety Member
portfolio
x y
Canada
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 16,141
I believe someone said you have to pay VAT on top of the price on the lux site if you are in Europe.
 
Old 03-26-2013, 03:23 PM   #30
manuel
Know-it-All
 
manuel's Avatar
Manu Roig
London, United%2BKingdom
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 399
Quote:
Originally Posted by malax
....and maybe a silly question but what is the UK price ?
I can only seem to find USD prices for electronic purchase...or maybe is Luxology one of those rare software companies that charges you the same no matter where you live ?

They are indeed one of those rare companies. You pay them in dollars, the only premium is the exchange rate your credit card charges.

Quote:
Originally Posted by SheepFactory
I believe someone said you have to pay VAT on top of the price on the lux site if you are in Europe.
Didn't see any VAT appearing on my invoice.
__________________
Funny Little Men
 
Thread Closed share thread


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
CGSociety
Society of Digital Artists
www.cgsociety.org

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright 2000 - 2006,
Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Minimize Ads
Forum Jump
Miscellaneous

All times are GMT. The time now is 01:40 AM.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.