CGTalk > Main > News
Login register
Thread Closed share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-08-2012, 04:54 PM   #1
MKabesh
Frequenter
portfolio
Mariam Kabesh
cebas Visual Technology Inc.
Victoria, Canada
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 114
A NEW fR4 GPU Video by cebas

Check out fR 4GPU's NEW Video!

http://www.cebas.org/blog/2012/11/0...al-engineering/

Stay tuned for more

cebas Team
__________________
-MK-
 
Old 11-08-2012, 06:03 PM   #2
TwinSnakes
3d Flunky
 
TwinSnakes's Avatar
Lutha Jenkins
USA
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 334
Is there any GPU render engine that does not perform well on a 4 GPU system?

Is cebas really THAT far behind?
 
Old 11-08-2012, 06:13 PM   #3
Edwin Braun
Frequenter
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 181
Quote:
Originally Posted by TwinSnakes
Is there any GPU render engine that does not perform well on a 4 GPU system?

Is cebas really THAT far behind?


Depends how you define it I guess

We use already CUDA 5 and that was released October 15, 2012 so we are not behind on that

General speaking, you're right but when you look at having really useful rendering solutions on GPU that might have potential to replace the main renderer in a complex production pipeline there is nothing out there! Our system was the first to show true geometry instancing and blurry refraction/reflection effects based on a Physically accurate Micro Facet model on GPU.
There is so much more to a renderer than just "preview". We're working hard to get proper material support and so on .... so if we are behind - I would say NVIDIA is also behind we can only use what is exposed to us .... and a real full blown rendering system needs more features and access to the system than we have now.

-ed
__________________
cebas the makers of finalRender
 
Old 11-08-2012, 06:40 PM   #4
DePaint
Banned
 
DePaint's Avatar
portfolio
Emre M.
Istanbul, Turkey
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 1,156
Much better demo that your last one, Edwin.

I like the part where the 3D model/gears turn into glass.

Could you show some more stuff like this?

Maybe with a more complex CAD model than this one? (e.g. an internal combustion engine or gas turbine, or something detailed like that...)

Good work! Good luck...
 
Old 11-08-2012, 06:45 PM   #5
MAN0
Expert
manuel mark hofmann
nuremberg, Germany
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 591
can you show some indoor realtime rendering
 
Old 11-08-2012, 07:40 PM   #6
AbnRanger
Banned
portfolio
Don
USA
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 41
Quote:
Originally Posted by TwinSnakes
Is there any GPU render engine that does not perform well on a 4 GPU system?

Is cebas really THAT far behind?
Friends don't let friends toke and type.



FinalRender 4 GPU....is a N-A-M-E. It doesn't imply usage of 4GPU's anymore than C4D 13 means it uses 13 CPU's.

Anyway, Edwin, I'm glad to see things shaping up well on it so far.

Last edited by AbnRanger : 11-09-2012 at 01:44 AM.
 
Old 11-08-2012, 07:49 PM   #7
TwinSnakes
3d Flunky
 
TwinSnakes's Avatar
Lutha Jenkins
USA
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 334
Quote:
FinalRender 4 GPU....is a N-A-M-E. It doesn't imply usage of 4GPU's


hahaha..dude you got me. (LOL) I should have looked more carefully.
 
Old 11-09-2012, 06:26 AM   #8
nildoe
Frequenter
portfolio
Nildo Essa
Architect/Animator
FX
Maputo, Mozambique
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 254
Send a message via MSN to nildoe
Hi Edwin,

very nice video, I got a few questions

1-Is you fr 4gpu renderer CUDA only or OPENCL as well?
2-Will have the same limitations as other CUDA gpu renderers like the texture limits? (for example we use Octane in our studio, and currently at least with the GTX 5xxseries and below, we get only 64 textures RGB)
3-In this video what VCard was used?
4-Does it (or will it) allow for MultiGpu setup to render an Image/animation
5-Will it support deformations (skin, etc)
6-Do you have any plans to support realtime MBlur as well?
7-What about render elements, will they be supported?

Nildo
 
Old 11-09-2012, 05:15 PM   #9
Edwin Braun
Frequenter
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 181
Quote:
Originally Posted by nildoe
Hi Edwin,

very nice video, I got a few questions

1-Is you fr 4gpu renderer CUDA only or OPENCL as well?
2-Will have the same limitations as other CUDA gpu renderers like the texture limits? (for example we use Octane in our studio, and currently at least with the GTX 5xxseries and below, we get only 64 textures RGB)
3-In this video what VCard was used?
4-Does it (or will it) allow for MultiGpu setup to render an Image/animation
5-Will it support deformations (skin, etc)
6-Do you have any plans to support realtime MBlur as well?
7-What about render elements, will they be supported?

Nildo


1- Yes, for now we have a plan for OPENCL support. But for now it is CUDA only.
2- Yes, same hardware same restrictions, Kepler is 256 Textures total
3- Same as always a Quadro 5000
4- Yes we do support MULTI GPU
5- Why not ?? Yes
6- Yes
7- that's our speciality no one beats us on that !

-ed
__________________
cebas the makers of finalRender
 
Old 11-12-2012, 07:28 AM   #10
nildoe
Frequenter
portfolio
Nildo Essa
Architect/Animator
FX
Maputo, Mozambique
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 254
Send a message via MSN to nildoe
Thx for the reply edwin , looking really promising .
 
Old 11-12-2012, 08:16 AM   #11
michibe
Count Poly
portfolio
Michael Betke
Artist
Pure3D Visualisierungen
Bielefeld, Germany
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 160
As an Octane Render and Maxwell (for special cases only) user I have my render of choice and it runs very fast, reliable and stable with regular updates but competition and innovation is always welcome.
__________________
Pure3D Visualisierungen
 
Old 11-12-2012, 12:49 PM   #12
CerberusC
Lord of the posts
 
CerberusC's Avatar
Juan Gea
Bone-Studio Founder & Director
Bone-Studio
España
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 1,029
Hi Edwin.

The render engine looks awesome.
Maybe this can be the reason to change from iRay/Mental Ray to Final Render.

I have some questions:

- Do this GPU render engine suffer from the video card RAM limit like the others?
- Do you support proxys? (in the terms to optimize the RAM usage, so we can put billions of polygons in 10Mb)
- Will this be included in the standard Final Render license? (like vRay RT inside vRay)

Thanks in advance and congrats.

Cheers.
__________________
If there's no spoon you must eat the soup with your hands, don't let the tool be your life, be an artist.
 
Old 11-12-2012, 07:14 PM   #13
Edwin Braun
Frequenter
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 181
Quote:
Originally Posted by CerberusC
Hi Edwin.
The render engine looks awesome.
Maybe this can be the reason to change from iRay/Mental Ray to Final Render.
I have some questions:
- Do this GPU render engine suffer from the video card RAM limit like the others?
- Do you support proxys? (in the terms to optimize the RAM usage, so we can put billions of polygons in 10Mb)
- Will this be included in the standard Final Render license? (like vRay RT inside vRay)
Thanks in advance and congrats.
Cheers.


Hello,

yes RAM has to be available on the GPU card - that is where the power comes form.
Your question about the proxies is a bit unclear, we do support proper instancing including instancing of proxies. This would save you memory. The whole idea about GPU is to have it all close bye - so all should fit onto the card that's the most effective way.

Yes finalRender 4 GPU will come with this GPU mode and trueHybrid™ mode. For existing users it will be a normal upgrade.

-ed
__________________
cebas the makers of finalRender
 
Old 11-13-2012, 01:25 AM   #14
damjan
Frequenter
 
damjan's Avatar
Damjan
vienna, Austria
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 113
@Edwin - i am sure you know about the centileo render engine - what is it with the gpu chaching they do (accessing 10 times more ram than the gpu has, trough mysterious caching algorithms)

have you tried such thing? is it possible at all?

another thing - how about corona renderer - its still alpha - but it uses basically that what we know from vray - Lightcache, and then in the primary engine, path tracing with the lightcache data - and it is very fast (and cpu only)..
wouldn't such kind of mixed approach be interesting for your new gpu system?

i am sure you work hard on this, and its just my two cents, but i dont see anything that makes your engine different from the rest - and i know your integration into max was always good - but for me it is not enough to change my pipline..

one last thing - and this is something i dont understand why other engines care so little about (except maxwell maybe - havent tried this) - the sky!
most use since 10+ years the preetham model - maybe with modifications, but still..
and they dont expose enough parameters (i read once there are about 50 variables?) anyway - mostly we get 3 and if we are lucky a horizon slider..
since years i fiddle with all the parameters and try everything possible to get some nice, not over saturated colors..
i know there are hdr etc - but having a flexible sky is imperative!
..and most fail at this.. (terragen sky is very nice though)

Last edited by damjan : 11-13-2012 at 01:28 AM.
 
Old 11-13-2012, 05:48 AM   #15
AbnRanger
Banned
portfolio
Don
USA
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 41
Quote:
Originally Posted by damjan
@Edwin - i am sure you know about the centileo render engine - what is it with the gpu chaching they do (accessing 10 times more ram than the gpu has, trough mysterious caching algorithms)

have you tried such thing? is it possible at all?

another thing - how about corona renderer - its still alpha - but it uses basically that what we know from vray - Lightcache, and then in the primary engine, path tracing with the lightcache data - and it is very fast (and cpu only)..
wouldn't such kind of mixed approach be interesting for your new gpu system?

i am sure you work hard on this, and its just my two cents, but i dont see anything that makes your engine different from the rest - and i know your integration into max was always good - but for me it is not enough to change my pipline..

one last thing - and this is something i dont understand why other engines care so little about (except maxwell maybe - havent tried this) - the sky!
most use since 10+ years the preetham model - maybe with modifications, but still..
and they dont expose enough parameters (i read once there are about 50 variables?) anyway - mostly we get 3 and if we are lucky a horizon slider..
since years i fiddle with all the parameters and try everything possible to get some nice, not over saturated colors..
i know there are hdr etc - but having a flexible sky is imperative!
..and most fail at this.. (terragen sky is very nice though)
Would you say the same thing about VRay if it suddenly used the GPU not only for preview rendering (RT module....with lots of limitations), but the main rendering engine as well? It currently is CPU only. As is Mental Ray.

FinalRender R4 GPU isn't simply an equivalent to iRay or VRay RT. THE CORE RENDERING ENGINE IS GPU ACCELERATED. I don't understand how people keeping on missing this crucial point. Neither VRay or Mental Ray offers this, and you say you see no difference? Wow.
 
Thread Closed share thread


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
CGSociety
Society of Digital Artists
www.cgsociety.org

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2006,
Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Minimize Ads
Forum Jump
Miscellaneous

All times are GMT. The time now is 01:34 AM.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.