CGTalk > Main Forums > News
Login register
Thread Closed share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-12-2012, 03:02 PM   #16
RickToxik
Expert
 
RickToxik's Avatar
portfolio
Eric Mc Guire
Canada
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 550
I am having so much fun with MASH

One feature that would be awesome to add would be to be able to "instance instanced" systems.. Kind of like Scott said before I guess, but maybe even further.

The idea behind this would be to be able to establish connections between MASH and Maya's dynamic system (forces & fields).

So this is what I'd like to be able to achieve, it's just an idea of course

- create some objects
- create a particle system
- instance the objects with the particles
- Apply fields on the system

then:
- (optionally group particles and instances)
- instance this in MASH so I can MASH the instanced dynamic system

So far, I've been able to do all of the above but not with instanced objects, only particles. It would be totally K*c* a*s to have that possibility in MASH. Like really really sick lol...
 
Old 11-19-2012, 02:53 PM   #17
Ekenryd
Bugged
portfolio
Thomas
3d/comp
Stockholm, Sweden
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 373
Hm, any chance you could explain what I need in the bin-shelf button to execute the bin function? When I tried copy that code into my custom menu as a button, the menu disappeared, and when I try loading your shelf I get the shelf but there are no buttons on it.

This is the code that I put under a "button" in my script, which I got from your bin shelf button.

Code:
-command "string $sel[];\nstring $nodeName;\n$sel = `ls -sl`;\n\nif (size($sel) > 0) {\n $nodeName = $sel[0];\n}\nelse {\n error \"You need to select a node in the Node Editor or Hypershade.\";\n}\n\nif ((`objectType -isType \"MASH_Distribute\" $nodeName`) || (`objectType -isType \"MASH_Curve\" $nodeName`)|| (`objectType -isType \"MASH_Delay\" $nodeName`)|| (`objectType -isType \"MASH_Inherit\" $nodeName`)|| (`objectType -isType \"MASH_Mute\" $nodeName`)|| (`objectType -isType \"MASH_Noise\" $nodeName`)|| (`objectType -isType \"MASH_Orient\" $nodeName`)|| (`objectType -isType \"MASH_Random\" $nodeName`)|| (`objectType -isType \"MASH_Spring\" $nodeName`)|| (`objectType -isType \"MASH_Trig\" $nodeName`)|| (`objectType -isType \"MASH_Visibility\" $nodeName`)) {\n binMASHnode $nodeName;\n}\nelse {\n error \"Please select a valid MASH node in the Node Editor or Hypershade.\";\n}\n\nglobal proc binMASHnode (string $nodeName) {\n \n string $in[] = `listConnections -d 0 -s 1 -c 1 -p 1 ($nodeName+\".inputArray\")`;\n string $out[];\n \n if (`objExists ($nodeName+\".outputArray\")`) {\n $out = `listConnections -d 1 -s 0 -c 1 -p 1 ($nodeName+\".outputArray\")`;\n }\n else {\n $out = `listConnections -d 1 -s 0 -c 1 -p 1 ($nodeName+\".outRotationPP\")`;\n clear($in);\n warning \"Orient node deleted, no reconnections have occured.\";\n }\n \n\n\nif ((size($in)) > 0) {\n\n connectAttr -force $in[1] $out[1];\n \n}\n\nevalDeferred -lp (\"delete \"+$nodeName);\nif( `objExists $nodeName` ) {\nevalDeferred -lp (\"delete \"+$nodeName);\n}\n}\n\n"


I thought it would work but I guess I'm missing something?
 
Old 11-19-2012, 04:29 PM   #18
ianwaters
PRO
portfolio
Ian Waters
Animator/ Developer
Mainframe
Manchester, United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 101
What version/platform of Maya are you using?

Once the button is created, select a MASH node in the hypershade or node editor and click the button to delete it.

At least that's what is supposed to happen...
Ian
 
Old 11-20-2012, 12:51 PM   #19
Ekenryd
Bugged
portfolio
Thomas
3d/comp
Stockholm, Sweden
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 373
Quote:
Originally Posted by ianwaters
What version/platform of Maya are you using?

Once the button is created, select a MASH node in the hypershade or node editor and click the button to delete it.

At least that's what is supposed to happen...
Ian


linux centOS, maya 2012 sap sp1 x64

Yes, the problem is my shelf is empty :| and as I use a custom written window for all my scripts/plugins (to get away from the limited space/customization of the regular shelves) I was hoping to be able to create a custom button for mash binning, but when I copy the bin command from the mash shelf mel file to a button in my custom window script it doesn't work and I was wondering if its the correct way to do it. Or if maybe there is a short procedure one can call for the bin operation, like "mashBin;" or something.
 
Old 11-20-2012, 05:27 PM   #20
ximage
War Time
Daniel Sweeney
Freelance 3D modeller/Generalist
Leeds, United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 376
looks pretty cool.

seems mograph is being replicated in alot of packages, reminds me of this set of tool released for softimage ice.

http://www.gustavoeb.com.br/mtools/

. never really got in to maya but ICE inside softimage pretty impressive.

good work though.
 
Old 11-20-2012, 05:33 PM   #21
ianwaters
PRO
portfolio
Ian Waters
Animator/ Developer
Mainframe
Manchester, United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 101
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ekenryd
linux centOS, maya 2012 sap sp1 x64

Yes, the problem is my shelf is empty :| and as I use a custom written window for all my scripts/plugins (to get away from the limited space/customization of the regular shelves) I was hoping to be able to create a custom button for mash binning, but when I copy the bin command from the mash shelf mel file to a button in my custom window script it doesn't work.


Hmmm, I don't know what's wrong here, and I don't have access to a Linux machine. I'll add such a procedure in the next release though so you can just type mashBin or something like that.

In the meantime, to bin a node, delete its connections, then delete the node.
Best,
Ian
 
Old 11-21-2012, 09:03 AM   #22
Ekenryd
Bugged
portfolio
Thomas
3d/comp
Stockholm, Sweden
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 373
Okay, thanks for the support
 
Old 11-21-2012, 09:03 AM   #23
CGTalk Moderation
Lord of the posts
CGTalk Forum Leader
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 1,066,481
Thread automatically closed

This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.
__________________
CGTalk Policy/Legalities
Note that as CGTalk Members, you agree to the terms and conditions of using this website.
 
Thread Closed share thread


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
CGSociety
Society of Digital Artists
www.cgsociety.org

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright 2000 - 2006,
Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Minimize Ads
Forum Jump
Miscellaneous

All times are GMT. The time now is 08:22 AM.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.