CGTalk > Main > News
Login register
Thread Closed share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-21-2012, 01:53 PM   #1
oktawu
visual stuff
 
oktawu's Avatar
Octavian
okto
Earth, Romania
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 470
Mash - Mainframe's Maya Nodes for Motion Design

Briefly, it's a set of tools i stumbled upon which make Maya a little more useful for doing
mograph style animation. It's actually mainframe's inhouse toolset for motion design and it runs on top of SOUP. Been playing around with it and i really like what they've done.
And more importantly, they are giving it away for free.

http://marquee.by/mash/
__________________
Portfolio
Linkedin

Last edited by oktawu : 10-21-2012 at 01:57 PM.
 
Old 10-21-2012, 05:14 PM   #2
John Keates
Fiddler
 
John Keates's Avatar
john keates
United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 1,470
Hmmm.... nodes!
 
Old 10-21-2012, 07:01 PM   #3
ianwaters
PRO
portfolio
Ian Waters
MASH/ Type/ CurveWarp Developer
Mainframe
Manchester, United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 103

Thanks for posting this, I wasn't sure it was worthy of being put on the news page

Hope you find it useful, let me know if you have any ideas for improvements etc., etc.

mash@mainframe.co.uk

Cheery ta!
Ian
__________________
Maya Motion Graphics Tutorials
 
Old 10-22-2012, 07:27 AM   #4
joie
Lexus-friendly
 
joie's Avatar
portfolio
JOSE MIGUEL ARAGUES
3D Animatior and TD at www.vortice3d.com
Zaragoza, Spain
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 1,411
These tools are amazing, mograph at the palm of your hand
__________________
3D Animator and TD at www.vortice3d.com

"Don´t trust on affemeral things, only love will last..."

Visit my BLOG: 3djoie.blogspot.com
 
Old 10-22-2012, 10:37 AM   #5
oktawu
visual stuff
 
oktawu's Avatar
Octavian
okto
Earth, Romania
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 470
Hey Ian.

Thank you and your team for this. It's a huge timesaver, plus, for a ton of things
i don't need to go out to other packages and try to export that back into maya.

Will let u guys know if i get any ideas for improvements. Hope u'll keep supporting this.

Cheers,
O
__________________
Portfolio
Linkedin
 
Old 10-22-2012, 01:56 PM   #6
leif3d
Solving 9999 things a day
 
leif3d's Avatar
portfolio
Leif Pedersen
San%2BFrancisco, United%2BStates
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 1,910
Aha, very nice!
Setup time for goal driven animations and other more complicated math ops look like a breeze to setup. Thanks again.
__________________
LEIF3D.com
 
Old 10-22-2012, 06:18 PM   #7
thematt
brain filler
 
thematt's Avatar
matt
EMCA
France
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 1,514
looks amazingly usefull!! thanks a lot for that and for sharing it with us.
Will test it soon in a project I have!
 
Old 10-23-2012, 03:21 PM   #8
Ekenryd
Bugged
portfolio
Thomas
3d/comp
Stockholm, Sweden
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 373
Very cool. One improvement that I can think of is custom curves, like the bias ramp, for each attribute that could use it, for example amp x, y and z. Sure, you can use one node for each axis but it would be nice to have stuff clean.

Also, maybe a delete button and/or a disable button on the nodes? As it is now, I get random crashes when I delete a node in the middle of a network.
 
Old 10-23-2012, 03:33 PM   #9
ianwaters
PRO
portfolio
Ian Waters
MASH/ Type/ CurveWarp Developer
Mainframe
Manchester, United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 103
Thanks for the feedback!

So do you mean, for example, that the distribute node would have 3 ramps and not one? One for Distribute X, one for Distribute Y, and one for Distribute Z?

Binning nodes is slightly tricky, are you deleting the nodes using the 'Bin' shelf button?

If you select the node in the node editor, and click 'bin' on the MASH shelf, the node should be deleted and the surrounding nodes re-connected so that everything still works. It's not fool proof, but it works most of the time.

Thanks again,
Ian

Edit: I've also started adding 'enable' checkboxes to the nodes.
__________________
Maya Motion Graphics Tutorials

Last edited by ianwaters : 10-23-2012 at 03:46 PM.
 
Old 10-23-2012, 06:25 PM   #10
ogar555
Evolving
 
ogar555's Avatar
portfolio
Oskar Berglund
Gävle, Sweden
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 178
Sweet! Going to try it out A.S.A.P!
__________________
Yeehaaaw!

 
Old 10-23-2012, 09:39 PM   #11
republicavfx
Expert
 
republicavfx's Avatar
portfolio
Scott Turner
Generalist/ Coordinador Animación 3D, Instituto Arcos
Vina Del Mar, Chile
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 648
ive been playing with this a bit too..overall very positive vibes for this.

would be nice to have recursive distribute node...like a cloner inside cloner in c4d

also would be nice to work with dummy objects then switch them out later for geometry like matrix object

edit....i guess instancer mode kind of does both of these requests probably within the limitations of maya


also ...and i havent played with this too much ....but it seems like more than one bounding object throws an error.. so if i have bounding on position noise then a bounding on position trig it doenst seem to like too much.

overall very good tho. hopefully other people will kick in with the sourcecode and continue to improve.

thanks very much for putting this much needed toolset together
__________________
Scott Turner
http://www.republicavfx.com

Last edited by republicavfx : 10-23-2012 at 09:58 PM.
 
Old 10-24-2012, 08:23 AM   #12
Ekenryd
Bugged
portfolio
Thomas
3d/comp
Stockholm, Sweden
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 373
Quote:
Originally Posted by ianwaters
Thanks for the feedback!

So do you mean, for example, that the distribute node would have 3 ramps and not one? One for Distribute X, one for Distribute Y, and one for Distribute Z?

Binning nodes is slightly tricky, are you deleting the nodes using the 'Bin' shelf button?

If you select the node in the node editor, and click 'bin' on the MASH shelf, the node should be deleted and the surrounding nodes re-connected so that everything still works. It's not fool proof, but it works most of the time.

Thanks again,
Ian

Edit: I've also started adding 'enable' checkboxes to the nodes.


I meant something like the default texture slot in many other maya attributes, where you can just plug a ramp/curve and mess away.

I didn't know about the bin-button as I dont use shelves I'll add it to my custom menu.

Anyhow, really looking forward to seeing this develop.
 
Old 10-24-2012, 09:08 AM   #13
ianwaters
PRO
portfolio
Ian Waters
MASH/ Type/ CurveWarp Developer
Mainframe
Manchester, United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 103
Quote:
Originally Posted by blade33ru
edit....i guess instancer mode kind of does both of these requests probably within the limitations of maya

Yes it does, but you're right, Maya does impose some limitations here, and 'uninstancing' is a bit of a clunky solution.

Quote:
Originally Posted by blade33ru
it seems like more than one bounding object throws an error..

Well spotted! Thanks, that was actually just a bug in the Trig node, now fixed. You can have several bounding objects, just don't use the Trig node one until I push an update

Quote:
Originally Posted by blade33ru
thanks very much for putting this much needed toolset together

You are more then welcome, updates are on the way!
__________________
Maya Motion Graphics Tutorials
 
Old 10-24-2012, 09:37 AM   #14
ianwaters
PRO
portfolio
Ian Waters
MASH/ Type/ CurveWarp Developer
Mainframe
Manchester, United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 103
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ekenryd
I meant something like the default texture slot in many other maya attributes, where you can just plug a ramp/curve and mess away.


Ahh! I follow you now, sorry, I'll look into it
__________________
Maya Motion Graphics Tutorials
 
Old 11-12-2012, 11:07 AM   #15
RickToxik
Expert
 
RickToxik's Avatar
portfolio
Eric Mc Guire
Canada
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 560
Thank you so much Ian, I have been searching for this since I launched maya for the first time!
 
Thread Closed share thread


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
CGSociety
Society of Digital Artists
www.cgsociety.org

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2006,
Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Minimize Ads
Forum Jump
Miscellaneous

All times are GMT. The time now is 02:05 AM.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.