CGTalk > Techniques > Character Rigging
Login register
Thread Closed share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »  
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-28-2014, 11:28 PM   #1
fleity
New Member
 
fleity's Avatar
portfolio
Julian O.
Dburg, Germany
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 12
best way to loft a nurbs surface from a curve via script

hi

I am currently writing an autorigger for a variant of a ribbon rig in maya. since day one I have the problem that I never get a nice nurbs surface.
imagine the curve to be a straight line from (0,0,0) to (10,0,0). to loft a surface from that I'd usally duplicate the curve and move it +1 on the z-axis. that way I get two parallel curves. this works in a couple of cases but for example not if the curve is parallel to the z-axis my nurbs surface ends up beeing infinitly narrow. if I'd do this by hand of course I would just move the duplicated curve another way but since this is scripted I have to figure out a different way. additionally this does of course not work well for acutally curvy curves because they do not end up beeing the same width all the time.


any help and ideas are appreciated
 
Old 02-02-2014, 12:17 AM   #2
adeptus
Expert
portfolio
Stefan Ehrenhaus
London, United%2BKingdom
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 249
You can sample joints or other transform nodes along that curve, orient them along it using the previous object as rotationUp object (to prevent world up vector flipping on s-type curves), parent a second set of nodes on top of them, and move those in local up axis. from there generate a new curve along those new points, rebuild it with the rt flag on 2 so it matches the knots from the first curve, and do your loft from those. Then maybe delete nodes you dont need anymore from that second curve generation.
I use this method to create upVector curves for spline rig scripts.
 
Old 02-02-2014, 02:42 AM   #3
fleity
New Member
 
fleity's Avatar
portfolio
Julian O.
Dburg, Germany
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 12
thanks for answering. I figured out that I could use joints and their local axis too just like you said but using the previous object as a up object was exactly what was not working yet.

big thanks
 
Old 02-16-2014, 11:42 AM   #4
fleity
New Member
 
fleity's Avatar
portfolio
Julian O.
Dburg, Germany
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 12
finally finished my autorigger so far if you want to have a look:
http://www.creativecrash.com/maya/d...iable-fk-rigger
 
Old 02-16-2014, 11:42 AM   #5
CGTalk Moderation
Expert
CGTalk Forum Leader
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 1,066,478
Thread automatically closed

This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.
__________________
CGTalk Policy/Legalities
Note that as CGTalk Members, you agree to the terms and conditions of using this website.
 
Thread Closed share thread



Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
CGSociety
Society of Digital Artists
www.cgsociety.org

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright 2000 - 2006,
Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Minimize Ads
Forum Jump
Miscellaneous

All times are GMT. The time now is 08:55 AM.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.