CGTalk > Techniques > Character Rigging
Login register
Thread Closed share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »  
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-30-2013, 08:17 AM   #1
Falnredemption
New Member
portfolio
USA
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 2
Problems with weight painting.

I'm new here so sorry if my post is a bit vague. I currently am going to college and I'm learning how to rig characters right now. I already have joints on my rig with controls. My problem is when I go to skin weight my character my influence for verts seems to be on multiple joins even when one joint has 100% influence on a joint. My understanding was that no more then one joint can have 100% influence on a joint. When I go to flood the weight on one joint the other joint that had 100% still retains that influence. I remember doing this before and when I would flood another joint after another the new join would take over the verts influence. So my question is what am I doing wrong? Is there a setting that I'm missing. I know this post doesn't have a lot of information and if you want I can post pics or anything on request. Thanks for the help.
 
Old 10-01-2013, 01:04 AM   #2
shinyprem
Expert
 
shinyprem's Avatar
portfolio
Prem Anand Earnest Dhass
Team Lead Rigging
Technicolor India
Bangalore, India
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 602
Send a message via Yahoo to shinyprem
Hi
I hope you are looking for locking the influence on the joint, which is in painting tool.
Rgds,
__________________
Prem
Download vehicleRigGenerator @ http://www.creativecrash.com/marketplace/44706
 
Old 10-01-2013, 01:57 PM   #3
Pahuska
Veteran
 
Pahuska's Avatar
portfolio
FERRACHAT Guillaume
Maya Rigging/Scripting
Valence, France
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 79
You are painting your weights in post mode, wich allows verts to have influences higher than 1. You must change it to "interactive"
 
Old 10-02-2013, 03:50 PM   #4
Falnredemption
New Member
portfolio
USA
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 2
Thanks for much for the help. I never knew about post/interactive. I'll see if this works and let you guys know if it worked. Thanks again
 
Old 10-02-2013, 03:50 PM   #5
CGTalk Moderation
Expert
CGTalk Forum Leader
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 1,066,478
Thread automatically closed

This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.
__________________
CGTalk Policy/Legalities
Note that as CGTalk Members, you agree to the terms and conditions of using this website.
 
Thread Closed share thread


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
CGSociety
Society of Digital Artists
www.cgsociety.org

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright 2000 - 2006,
Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Minimize Ads
Forum Jump
Miscellaneous

All times are GMT. The time now is 08:05 PM.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.