CGTalk > General Techniques > Character Rigging
Login register
Thread Closed share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-04-2013, 02:08 PM   #1
ChrisSosa
Animator/Modeler
 
ChrisSosa's Avatar
portfolio
Christopher Sosa
3D Artist
Valrico, USA
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 156
Send a message via AIM to ChrisSosa Send a message via MSN to ChrisSosa
WHAT the FUR!

So... my fur will not stay with the mesh once I start using blenshapes? The fur looks great and re-acts fine to my smooth bind rigging but the I'm having very little luck with my blendshapes. I've done test before that were successful but this was on a primitive sphere and not on my character. Has anyone else experienced this problem?

HELP!

Sosa
 
Old 09-07-2013, 04:26 AM   #2
ChrisSosa
Animator/Modeler
 
ChrisSosa's Avatar
portfolio
Christopher Sosa
3D Artist
Valrico, USA
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 156
Send a message via AIM to ChrisSosa Send a message via MSN to ChrisSosa
Okay so I haven't found a solution but I've located the problem. It seems that if you have your inclination set to high value like .6 - 1.0 where the fur is laying against the mesh it doesn't adjust to blendshapes. Now this doesn't seem to be the case with mesh that's skinned.
 
Old 09-07-2013, 02:15 PM   #3
meldu
PRO
portfolio
osmel briceno carrizo
3D generalist
freelance
caracas, Venezuela
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 124
Hi chris

Quote:
Originally Posted by ChrisSosa
Okay so I haven't found a solution but I've located the problem. It seems that if you have your inclination set to high value like .6 - 1.0 where the fur is laying against the mesh it doesn't adjust to blendshapes. Now this doesn't seem to be the case with mesh that's skinned.


Hi there. Which software are you using?
 
Old 09-07-2013, 03:25 PM   #4
ChrisSosa
Animator/Modeler
 
ChrisSosa's Avatar
portfolio
Christopher Sosa
3D Artist
Valrico, USA
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 156
Send a message via AIM to ChrisSosa Send a message via MSN to ChrisSosa
Oh yeah I guess that would be a good thing to know. I'm using Maya 2012 but have also tested it on 2014 as well. Oh and to correct myself on my previous statement I'm still having the same issue with the skinned mesh as in the blendshapes.

Last edited by ChrisSosa : 09-07-2013 at 03:31 PM.
 
Old 09-07-2013, 03:48 PM   #5
meldu
PRO
portfolio
osmel briceno carrizo
3D generalist
freelance
caracas, Venezuela
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 124
Hi there

Quote:
Originally Posted by ChrisSosa
Oh yeah I guess that would be a good thing to know. I'm using Maya 2012 but have also tested it on 2014 as well. Oh and to correct myself on my previous statement I'm still having the same issue with the skinned mesh as in the blendshapes.



Ok. Whats the problem exactly?can you upload a screenshoot?
 
Old 09-07-2013, 04:58 PM   #6
ChrisSosa
Animator/Modeler
 
ChrisSosa's Avatar
portfolio
Christopher Sosa
3D Artist
Valrico, USA
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 156
Send a message via AIM to ChrisSosa Send a message via MSN to ChrisSosa
Here's what I got. The rig is just using influence controls and I'm running a 4k map on my baldness and polar maps. I'm rendering with Mental Ray.

https://www.dropbox.com/s/aluj5b0p3...Description.png
https://www.dropbox.com/s/4t4zghmbk...ur%20Issues.png


 
Old 09-07-2013, 05:36 PM   #7
Pahuska
Veteran
 
Pahuska's Avatar
portfolio
FERRACHAT Guillaume
Maya Rigging/Scripting
Valence, France
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 79
Have you tried a "delete non deformer history" ?
 
Old 09-07-2013, 06:15 PM   #8
meldu
PRO
portfolio
osmel briceno carrizo
3D generalist
freelance
caracas, Venezuela
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 124
hi there

Quote:
Originally Posted by ChrisSosa
Here's what I got. The rig is just using influence controls and I'm running a 4k map on my baldness and polar maps. I'm rendering with Mental Ray.

https://www.dropbox.com/s/aluj5b0p3...Description.png
https://www.dropbox.com/s/4t4zghmbk...ur%20Issues.png





Did you change the orders in the inputs of the mesh?the blend shapes and the skin node.
 
Old 09-07-2013, 06:30 PM   #9
ChrisSosa
Animator/Modeler
 
ChrisSosa's Avatar
portfolio
Christopher Sosa
3D Artist
Valrico, USA
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 156
Send a message via AIM to ChrisSosa Send a message via MSN to ChrisSosa
This is what I have for my input mesh. I haven't changed the order but honestly I haven't really tried looking into this. Now I do have the old blendshape node in there but with my face rig I wasn't planning on using it.



https://www.dropbox.com/s/g4ag2oepw....28.21%20PM.png
 
Old 09-07-2013, 06:34 PM   #10
ChrisSosa
Animator/Modeler
 
ChrisSosa's Avatar
portfolio
Christopher Sosa
3D Artist
Valrico, USA
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 156
Send a message via AIM to ChrisSosa Send a message via MSN to ChrisSosa
I've tried deleting the non-deforming history. No change though.
 
Old 09-07-2013, 06:46 PM   #11
meldu
PRO
portfolio
osmel briceno carrizo
3D generalist
freelance
caracas, Venezuela
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 124
hi there

Quote:
Originally Posted by ChrisSosa
I've tried deleting the non-deforming history. No change though.



well, maya fur is a pain in the a..you know. I made a short film with fur, and i suffer like hell.
http://vimeo.com/57278587

i used renderman for rendering, mental ray for fur is kinda tricky and slow.

Dude, if you want, upload the scene and i will try to see whats coming up.

By the way, i found a maya plugin called peregrine labs yeti: Is amazing.
 
Old 09-07-2013, 07:20 PM   #12
ChrisSosa
Animator/Modeler
 
ChrisSosa's Avatar
portfolio
Christopher Sosa
3D Artist
Valrico, USA
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 156
Send a message via AIM to ChrisSosa Send a message via MSN to ChrisSosa
You know I already watched your short. I was like, " Okay I have to be doing something wrong". Knowing I'm not the only person having issues with Maya fur does take the edge off the sleepless nights. Thanks

Have you used Yeti? If Maya fur is going to be me this much problems and I'm not even at the animation stage, I'd be more then happy to try out another tool. Hopefully there's not that much of a learning curve.
 
Old 09-07-2013, 07:36 PM   #13
meldu
PRO
portfolio
osmel briceno carrizo
3D generalist
freelance
caracas, Venezuela
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 124
Hi there

Quote:
Originally Posted by ChrisSosa
You know I already watched your short. I was like, " Okay I have to be doing something wrong". Knowing I'm not the only person having issues with Maya fur does take the edge off the sleepless nights. Thanks

Have you used Yeti? If Maya fur is going to be me this much problems and I'm not even at the animation stage, I'd be more then happy to try out another tool. Hopefully there's not that much of a learning curve.



yes, i have used yeti. Is amazing, easy and stable. The only issue is that dosnt work with mental ray, only arnold, vray, 3d delight and renderman.

The documentation in the webpage of peregrine labs is poor, but i think in youtube you can find some videos.
 
Old 09-09-2013, 12:59 AM   #14
ChrisSosa
Animator/Modeler
 
ChrisSosa's Avatar
portfolio
Christopher Sosa
3D Artist
Valrico, USA
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 156
Send a message via AIM to ChrisSosa Send a message via MSN to ChrisSosa
I got it! Turns out all I needed to do was smooth the mesh a few times to increase the area the fur is generating on. So just a heads up if your creating fur that's has an inclination of .8 or higher make sure you have a dense mesh so it can evaluate properly. This may have been something already known.

Thanks for the help.
 
Old 09-09-2013, 09:36 AM   #15
meldu
PRO
portfolio
osmel briceno carrizo
3D generalist
freelance
caracas, Venezuela
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 124
cool

Quote:
Originally Posted by ChrisSosa
I got it! Turns out all I needed to do was smooth the mesh a few times to increase the area the fur is generating on. So just a heads up if your creating fur that's has an inclination of .8 or higher make sure you have a dense mesh so it can evaluate properly. This may have been something already known.

Thanks for the help.


Awesome dude, and thanks for sharing the solution, maybe someone else have this problem in the future.
 
Thread Closed share thread


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
CGSociety
Society of Digital Artists
www.cgsociety.org

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright 2000 - 2006,
Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Minimize Ads
Forum Jump
Miscellaneous

All times are GMT. The time now is 03:16 PM.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.