CGTalk > Techniques > Character Rigging
Login register
Thread Closed share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »  
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-29-2013, 05:43 AM   #1
Ainorwei
New Member
 
Ainorwei's Avatar
portfolio
Steven Jin
Hacienda Heights, USA
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 22
Send a message via AIM to Ainorwei
custom keyframe control...help

I am not really a rigger, but I think this is part of rigging...not really sure. Here goes.

I been trying to figure this out for a while now.

I have a Bend. I place two keyframes on Curvature. One at Curvature 0 at keyframe 1. Another at Curvature 4 at keyframe 30.

Than I made a nurbsCircle and added an float attribute.

I was hopping that I am can connect the float attribute I made on the nurbsCircle to the two keyframes that I made under the bend and be able to auto control keyframe 30 (able to increase the keyframe or decrease the number to control the speed of the curvature without having to go to the Graph Editor).

I thought I can do it in Hypershade, but everytime I try to connect it in the connection editor. Nothing is there for me to connect.

I am not sure if I am at the right track or wrong track. I know it can be done. I have seen it done before. Any help on leading me on the right direction will be great or if there is a tutorial out there on this will be perfect.

Thank you
__________________
I need help...
 
Old 08-29-2013, 06:27 AM   #2
Pahuska
Veteran
 
Pahuska's Avatar
portfolio
FERRACHAT Guillaume
Maya Rigging/Scripting
Valence, France
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 79
I think that what you are trying to do is this : http://download.autodesk.com/global...er =d30e223289

Am I right ?
 
Old 08-29-2013, 07:36 AM   #3
Ainorwei
New Member
 
Ainorwei's Avatar
portfolio
Steven Jin
Hacienda Heights, USA
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 22
Send a message via AIM to Ainorwei
yeah, SDK lets me control it using my created attributes, but I still need to set keyframe to the newly made attributes to make animation work...maybe I am just not doing it right.

I was think how to turn animated keyframes into attributes. Like controlling the speed of a whole walk cycle's speed just by typing in some numbers into the attributes. I guess, in a way it is auto scaling the walk cycle.

I seen it done before. Maybe it is SDK, but I am just not doing it right or in the right order of things.

Thank you.
__________________
I need help...
 
Old 08-29-2013, 01:17 PM   #4
Pahuska
Veteran
 
Pahuska's Avatar
portfolio
FERRACHAT Guillaume
Maya Rigging/Scripting
Valence, France
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 79
Have you tried to use expressions (with the keyframe & setKeyframe commands) ?
 
Old 08-30-2013, 03:54 AM   #5
Ainorwei
New Member
 
Ainorwei's Avatar
portfolio
Steven Jin
Hacienda Heights, USA
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 22
Send a message via AIM to Ainorwei
oh, thank you. I have not. I will give those a try.
__________________
I need help...
 
Old 08-30-2013, 03:54 AM   #6
CGTalk Moderation
Lord of the posts
CGTalk Forum Leader
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 1,066,480
Thread automatically closed

This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.
__________________
CGTalk Policy/Legalities
Note that as CGTalk Members, you agree to the terms and conditions of using this website.
 
Thread Closed share thread


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
CGSociety
Society of Digital Artists
www.cgsociety.org

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright 2000 - 2006,
Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Minimize Ads
Forum Jump
Miscellaneous

All times are GMT. The time now is 03:32 PM.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.