Old 10-19-2012, 08:48 PM   #1
artguystanley
portfolio
Michael
Addo Games
Atlanta, USA

Question NEWB: Joint Rotation Problem in Maya 2011

Hello Forum,

I'm new to CG Talk and relatively new to skinning so I could use all the help I can get (as well as a high tolerance level). So here' the rundown of my problem:

I have a weapon that I am skinning but have found that this happens when I rotate the top "Spin" joint that will be used to spin the barrel when firing.

This is how the joints are set up:

And here is a visual on the painted weights and their relative influences:

I need to figure out what I'm doing wrong or a work around to let the barrel be able to spin while sill being affected by the "Pivot" joint that will be dynamically rotated through code. Thanks!

Old 10-29-2012, 03:17 AM   #2
BenBarker
Frequenter

portfolio
Ben Barker
Character TD
USA

Make sure your "spin" joint it the only joint affecting the barrel. It looks like both 'pivot' and 'spin' are affecting those points. Spin will inherit the motion from pivot automatically because it is a child of pivot, so you don't need to paint the points to both.

Here's an explanation if you are interested:

By default the skinCluster moves point by point, working on one at a time, so for simplicitly just think of a single vertex. The skincluster works by transforming that vertex by every joint it is weighted to as if it was weighted 100%. If it is weighted to two joints it will come up with two possible point positions, one for each joint. It doesn't care about weights at this time.