CGTalk > General Techniques > Character Rigging
To minimize the ads you see on this page create a CGTalk account and log in HERE
Thread Closed share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »  

Old 10-19-2012, 09:43 AM   #1
insertmesh
Expert

portfolio
Samuel Enslin
3D Generalist
Acolori Medienproduktion GmbH
Hamburg, Germany

PEN Attribute Holder in Production

Hi,

Im currently working on a character for my new boss...
Weve talked about the setup and hew wanted me to use CAT to create the rig.

Since I keep getting into trouble with CAT, even though I like the idea of it, Im now trying to convince him to let me build a custom rig.

Im not very experienced in doing that, but following a couple of tutorials I managed to crank out a basic custom rig to show him its power...

But there are still a couple of things to consider:

1. He doesnt want to use any additional plugins or other stuff he he has to worry about when rendering via his farm or upgrading to a newer version of max, since Ill provide him with the character setup and he might be using it long after Im gone...
The only non-native max item I wanted to use is Paul Neales Attribute holder for storing poses.
Its not really a plugin but since I havent really used it in production yet, I was wondering it could pose a problem with the farm or if hes upgrading his workstations or something like that.
I know, stupid questions, but Id rather not have to script something similar myself, if there already is a great solution out there...

Last edited by insertmesh : 10-28-2012 at 11:32 AM.

Old 10-19-2012, 05:20 PM   #2
TimCallaway
Problem Solver

portfolio
Timothy Callaway
Technical artist
SP
USA

Not stupid questions at all. This is my number one problem most of the time. Even though I'm a maya user, the use of plug-ins to rig and get extra features creates issues when sending stuff to the farm.