CGTalk > Software > Maxon Cinema 4D
Login register
Thread Closed share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-07-2010, 12:03 PM   #1
Srek
Some guy
 
Srek's Avatar
CGSociety Member
portfolio
Björn Dirk Marl
Technical Design
Maxon Computer GmbH
Friedrichsdorf, Germany
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 11,404
Exclamation CINEMA 4D and graphics drivers

Hi all,
please use the latest WHQL certified drivers from AMD and Nvidia if you want to run CINEMA 4D R12.
Here at Maxon we are receiving quite a lot crash reports that are caused by old, faulty drivers and can be prevented with a simple driver update

Cheers
Björn
__________________
- www.bonkers.de -
The views expressed on this post are my personal opinions and do not represent the views of my employer.
 
Old 09-12-2010, 01:17 PM   #2
Tarek128
Arab4D
 
Tarek128's Avatar
portfolio
Tarek Akkad
Arab4D Studios
Arab4D.com
Cairo, Egypt
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 247
Björn Thanks about this , really useful thread

Cheers,
Tarek
__________________
www.Arab4D.net Our Arabia Cinema 4d Forums
Facebook Cinema 4d users page
 
Old 09-13-2010, 07:21 AM   #3
steppes
postworker
 
steppes's Avatar
portfolio
oliver hecke
architect/cg-artist
oliver hecke
Berlin, Germany
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 59

i can tell, that the newest ati driver did not work for my mobility radeon 4650 but an older one did...

steppes
__________________
www.oliver-hecke.de
 
Old 09-13-2010, 01:22 PM   #4
maxhunter
PRO
 
maxhunter's Avatar
portfolio
MB
3D/Vfx Art Director
Buenos Aires, Argentina
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 154
Send a message via MSN to maxhunter
mmm...

I got the latest oficial Nvidia drivers, but when I enable "Shadows" in Enhanced OpenGL , i get "Your hardware configuration does not meet ...."

In 11.5 i can enable shadows without problems!!!

I have 8800 GTS

Any solution? Maybe its a drivers problem?
 
Old 09-13-2010, 01:58 PM   #5
mp-grafix
PRO
portfolio
Marius Plock
Munich, Germany
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 169
Quote:
Originally Posted by maxhunter
I got the latest oficial Nvidia drivers, but when I enable "Shadows" in Enhanced OpenGL , i get "Your hardware configuration does not meet ...."

In 11.5 i can enable shadows without problems!!!

I have 8800 GTS

Any solution? Maybe its a drivers problem?


As mentioned before I also have an extreme slow viewport with a 8800GTX and newest driver.
It is a bug in R12, we'll have to wait for an update.
__________________
Diplom Digital Artist
www.mp-grafix.de
www.filmakademie.de
 
Old 09-15-2010, 12:03 PM   #6
lomvuho
Veteran
3d artist
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 66
Quote:
Originally Posted by mp-grafix
As mentioned before I also have an extreme slow viewport with a 8800GTX and newest driver.
It is a bug in R12, we'll have to wait for an update.

similar situation


Windows 7 Ultimate x64
Geforce 8800 GTX
258.96 WHQL for Windows 7 64-bit
 
Old 09-15-2010, 01:44 PM   #7
Srek
Some guy
 
Srek's Avatar
CGSociety Member
portfolio
Björn Dirk Marl
Technical Design
Maxon Computer GmbH
Friedrichsdorf, Germany
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 11,404
This is under investigation, but currently it seems that it is realy limited to 8800 and derived GPUs and might be a problem of the hardware.

Cheers
Björn
__________________
- www.bonkers.de -
The views expressed on this post are my personal opinions and do not represent the views of my employer.
 
Old 09-15-2010, 01:57 PM   #8
mp-grafix
PRO
portfolio
Marius Plock
Munich, Germany
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 169
Quote:
Originally Posted by Srek
This is under investigation, but currently it seems that it is realy limited to 8800 and derived GPUs and might be a problem of the hardware.

Cheers
Björn


Please no :O That would be absolutely horrible, but the Problem can also be observed with the Quadro4600 FX... are these GFX cards related somehow? Will there be a confirmed list, which GFX cards are supported fully then? I can't afford to buy a new GFX card _and_ R12 :(
At least I would like to be able to switch back the OGL mode to 11.5 to at least have the old performance, which is 10 times faster...
__________________
Diplom Digital Artist
www.mp-grafix.de
www.filmakademie.de
 
Old 09-15-2010, 01:58 PM   #9
maxhunter
PRO
 
maxhunter's Avatar
portfolio
MB
3D/Vfx Art Director
Buenos Aires, Argentina
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 154
Send a message via MSN to maxhunter
Maybe this help you to find the problem:
Im using 8800 GTS, and the only "recent" driver that have no problems on cinema is the version: 197.13

Since that old driver version all have some kind of crash problem, when changing viewports, etc, at some point it crash and i have to enter in software mode or else it crashes after the loading screen.
 
Old 09-15-2010, 02:56 PM   #10
Srek
Some guy
 
Srek's Avatar
CGSociety Member
portfolio
Björn Dirk Marl
Technical Design
Maxon Computer GmbH
Friedrichsdorf, Germany
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 11,404
The Quadro FX 4600 uses the same G80 GPU as several of the GF8800 GTS/GTX series cards.
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Compar..._units#Qua dro
This still might be a coincidence though.

Cheers
Björn
__________________
- www.bonkers.de -
The views expressed on this post are my personal opinions and do not represent the views of my employer.
 
Old 09-15-2010, 02:59 PM   #11
mp-grafix
PRO
portfolio
Marius Plock
Munich, Germany
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 169
Quote:
Originally Posted by Srek
The Quadro FX 4600 uses the same G80 GPU as several of the GF8800 GTS/GTX series cards.
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Compar..._units#Qua dro
This still might be a coincidence though.

Cheers
Björn


Ah, interesting! Thanks for the clue, srek. That might explain it... still not nice :/ Just out of curiosity: is there any feedback from the Maxon-Developers back to Nvidia to their drivers dept.? If so, maybe it would be solved in some version of the gfx card's driver...

Best regards,

Marius
__________________
Diplom Digital Artist
www.mp-grafix.de
www.filmakademie.de

Last edited by mp-grafix : 09-16-2010 at 06:15 AM.
 
Old 09-15-2010, 05:58 PM   #12
Srek
Some guy
 
Srek's Avatar
CGSociety Member
portfolio
Björn Dirk Marl
Technical Design
Maxon Computer GmbH
Friedrichsdorf, Germany
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 11,404
We are in contact with Nvidia and AMD since many years.
Cheers
Björn
__________________
- www.bonkers.de -
The views expressed on this post are my personal opinions and do not represent the views of my employer.
 
Old 09-16-2010, 09:52 AM   #13
wonky
Expert
designer
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 352
Unhappy Drivers in OSX?

Having terrible issues with R12 and crashes doing the most basic of tasks, dragging sla materials, mograph cloning etc.
I have reinstalled c4d twice (deleted all prefs etc) and thought the issue went away but no...
I get the spinning beach-ball of death which takes down my whole machine and does not allow me to force quit. Hate having to pull the plug on a running system.
I can replicate this problem every time and have tested on another friends machine who has no issues with the file at all. He does however have a different mac configuration.
Am I right in thinking that mac users have no choice when it comes to drivers if the card is non-retail?

ATY,RadeonX1900 - OSX 10.6.4 - 3GHzquad core - 32Gb Ram
 
Old 09-16-2010, 10:38 AM   #14
wbj
Expert
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 629
Quote:
Originally Posted by wonky
Having terrible issues with R12 and crashes doing the most basic of tasks, dragging sla materials, mograph cloning etc.
I have reinstalled c4d twice (deleted all prefs etc) and thought the issue went away but no...
I get the spinning beach-ball of death which takes down my whole machine and does not allow me to force quit. Hate having to pull the plug on a running system.
I can replicate this problem every time and have tested on another friends machine who has no issues with the file at all. He does however have a different mac configuration.
Am I right in thinking that mac users have no choice when it comes to drivers if the card is non-retail?

ATY,RadeonX1900 - OSX 10.6.4 - 3GHzquad core - 32Gb Ram


First of all, if you have a crash, please use the crashreporter to send the information to Maxon. So far there have been no crashes of your gfx card recorded for r12.

Generally your gfx card is quite old (e.g. you won't be able to run CineBench r11.5 on it, as the hardware doesn't support the necessary GL features and even it would, it would be too slow) and therefore it might be a good idea, to look for a newer card anyway (e.g. ATI 3870, 4870 or 5770).

Best regards,

wbj
 
Old 09-16-2010, 11:03 AM   #15
wonky
Expert
designer
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 352
Crash Reporter

Will the crash reporter work with this sort of issue?
It takes down my whole machine and forces me to hard-reset
 
Thread Closed share thread


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
CGSociety
Society of Digital Artists
www.cgsociety.org

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2006,
Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Minimize Ads
Forum Jump
Miscellaneous

All times are GMT. The time now is 08:06 PM.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.