customizing C4D for a modeler

Become a member of the CGSociety

Connect, Share, and Learn with our Large Growing CG Art Community. It's Free!

THREAD CLOSED

Old 11 November 2009   #1
customizing C4D for a modeler

Hi all,

I'm a long time 3D modeler and I'm trying to switch to Cinema 4D for most tasks. I'm a couple of weeks in and I love it. I just need some help with customizations.

I've made a custom modeling palette with all the tools I need for character/creature/organic modeling. Is it possible to make an icon for Knife/Loop and Knife Line so I don't have to switch them in the Knife options. And then assign a short cut would help.

Also, there are a set of basic polygon meshes that I use with symmetry already on and already in a hypernurb tag. I have to load these from via File>load. Can I add them to the palette or one of the drop downs as Icons? I'm used to making the icons so it's just how I add them (I'm fine with shelves/scripts in Maya and adding icons to the interface in Silo so I'm hoping it's easy)

Sorry if this is really basic but I am enjoying modeling in C4D so much and these tiny things will speed me up a lot.

Glen
http://www.southerngfx.co.uk
http://twitter.com/southerngfx

Old 11 November 2009   #2
Here's a linky to Fluffy's tut on making custom tool scripts:

http://fluffy4d.com/?p=79

Also, check out the OLX plugin from Biomekk.com (like the old object library... but oh so much more) it's free and awesome. If you want icons of the objects, you can use the inbuilt content browser. Just make a new preset library and start dragging your objects in. That way you can drag em' back out into your OM whenever you need em'.

Also, you can take a palette full of commands and collapse it into a single, expandable icon (like the standard object and generator icons) by right clicking on a palette. Many people will create multiple versions of the top/main palette and tab them for individual tasks (modeling, hair, mograph, character, etc.).