CGTalk > Software Specific Forums > Maxon Cinema 4D
Login register
reply share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-01-2013, 09:08 AM   #31
Mike Abbott
...
Mike Abbott
United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 436
[QUOTE=dangomes]Here's mine (modest one compared to ones i'm seeing. But not bad for a 1year laptop i think )QUOTE]

Dangomes - out of interest, what laptop?
 
Old 10-01-2013, 09:19 AM   #32
Srek
Some guy
 
Srek's Avatar
CGSociety Member
portfolio
Björn Dirk Marl
Technical Design
Maxon Computer GmbH
Friedrichsdorf, Germany
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 11,249
Differences in OGL results can also happen if the driver profile overrides the AA settings of the application.
__________________
- www.bonkers.de -
The views expressed on this post are my personal opinions and do not represent the views of my employer.
 
Old 10-01-2013, 09:31 AM   #33
dangomes
Veteran
 
dangomes's Avatar
portfolio
Daniel Gomes
Motion Designer
Ogilvy
London, United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 57
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike Abbott
[QUOTE=dangomes]Here's mine (modest one compared to ones i'm seeing. But not bad for a 1year laptop i think )QUOTE]

Dangomes - out of interest, what laptop?


Hi, its a 17" Clevo P170EM (heavy for a laptop, but nice "transportable workstation").
__________________
My Portfolio
 
Old 10-01-2013, 12:22 PM   #34
deepshade
Expert
portfolio
Paul T
United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 1,243
Quote:
Originally Posted by kromekat
Have you done it yourself? - is it easily done?



+1 more info please
 
Old 10-01-2013, 01:05 PM   #35
interactiveBoy
Expert
 
interactiveBoy's Avatar
portfolio
Gary Ingle
Animator / Graphics Generalist
Nashville, USA
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 710
Quote:
Originally Posted by deepshade
+1 more info please


+1 - we are going to be ordering a Mac Pro for me at work as soon as they are released. I'd like to know what options I have for aftermarket upgrades!
 
Old 10-01-2013, 01:13 PM   #36
deepshade
Expert
portfolio
Paul T
United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 1,243
I think this is a dual CPU MacPro - 2 X 4 taken up to 2 X 6 cores
 
Old 10-01-2013, 01:25 PM   #37
brasco
Polygone
 
brasco's Avatar
portfolio
Jon Bosley
United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 1,731
Quote:
Originally Posted by interactiveBoy
+1 - we are going to be ordering a Mac Pro for me at work as soon as they are released. I'd like to know what options I have for aftermarket upgrades!


Paul's right, stoiQa has upgraded a current Mac Pro with those CPUs (2 generations old).

I don't think there are going to be many options to upgrade the new (cylindrical) Mac Pro.

cheers
brasc
__________________
brasco on vimeo
 
Old 10-01-2013, 01:44 PM   #38
deepshade
Expert
portfolio
Paul T
United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 1,243
Quote:
Originally Posted by brasco
Paul's right, stoiQa has upgraded a current Mac Pro with those CPUs (2 generations old).

I don't think there are going to be many options to upgrade the new (cylindrical) Mac Pro.

cheers
brasc


Or the single 6 core 3.3 (AFAIK)
 
Old 10-01-2013, 06:01 PM   #39
stoiQa
PRO
portfolio
stoiqa.com
LA, USA
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 133
Send a message via AIM to stoiQa Send a message via Yahoo to stoiQa
Quote:
Originally Posted by interactiveBoy
+1 - we are going to be ordering a Mac Pro for me at work as soon as they are released. I'd like to know what options I have for aftermarket upgrades!


the upgrade is the easiest ever. My base was a 12core 2012 2.53ghz mac pro, but it can be also done on the late 2010 and up 8core mac pro, that`s why they still hold their value on ebay.

Processor tray comes out, pop out the coolers, remove the processors, wipe them, add the new processors,add cooling paste, screw the coolers back, and you should be done in 30min, if you are technical inclined.

I`m not getting any errors, it just works
__________________
My link
 
Old 10-01-2013, 07:45 PM   #40
kromekat
Daydreamer
 
kromekat's Avatar
portfolio
Adam Benton
Freelance CG Artist
kromekat digital media
United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 2,273
Send a message via ICQ to kromekat Send a message via Yahoo to kromekat
And did you put in the highest chipset you could? - how much and where from?

Adam

Quote:
Originally Posted by stoiQa
the upgrade is the easiest ever. My base was a 12core 2012 2.53ghz mac pro, but it can be also done on the late 2010 and up 8core mac pro, that`s why they still hold their value on ebay.

Processor tray comes out, pop out the coolers, remove the processors, wipe them, add the new processors,add cooling paste, screw the coolers back, and you should be done in 30min, if you are technical inclined.

I`m not getting any errors, it just works
__________________
www.kromekat.com

12 core Mac Pro / 2x Mac Pro 8-core ATI5770 / ATI4870
MacBookPro i7 2.66Ghz

 
Old 10-01-2013, 07:55 PM   #41
stoiQa
PRO
portfolio
stoiqa.com
LA, USA
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 133
Send a message via AIM to stoiQa Send a message via Yahoo to stoiQa
That is highest mac pro can go x5690, although they officially only upgrade up to x5680

Had a Dell T5500, so I took them out. I was curious to see if it would work in the first place.
__________________
My link
 
Old 10-01-2013, 11:40 PM   #42
MikeFix
Frequenter
Mike Fix
FIX
los angeles, USA
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 101
I'd like to see Cinebench work with Team Render. Give you a score of your network/farm/connected machines/etc...
__________________
MikeFix.com | C4DList.com
 
Old 10-02-2013, 06:11 AM   #43
jerry0520a
Frequenter
portfolio
Jerry Chong Ching Yoong
Malaysia
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 244
Send a message via MSN to jerry0520a
after downloading, the file is corrupt, i try few time.
 
Old 10-02-2013, 04:30 PM   #44
LucentDreams
lover of gophers
 
LucentDreams's Avatar
CGSociety Member
portfolio
Kai Pedersen
Lighting TD
Double Negative
Vancouver, Canada
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 10,350
Sad to see that CPU is still a key factor in ill performance score. Ran cb with stock speed on my 3930k and GeForce 670 and got 80.75 then again with my OC which is 4.45 and got 99.84. A 25% ogl gain because of my CPU speed.

Loved the play on the old cb scene though. I agree it'd be nice
To see an update to it to allow team render tests but that is more specific to a c4d user and not general benchmarking tool. Nice to see that my overclock maintains a consistent multiplier now. How does the 12 core have such a significantly better multiplier than all the other 6 and 8 core systems? Does the single core not go into turbo or something?
__________________
Quote:
"Until you do what you believe in, how do you know whether you believe in it or not?" -Leo Tolstoy
Kai Pedersen
 
Old 10-02-2013, 04:49 PM   #45
wbj
Lord of the posts
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 604
Quote:
Originally Posted by LucentDreams
Sad to see that CPU is still a key factor in ill performance score. Ran cb with stock speed on my 3930k and GeForce 670 and got 80.75 then again with my OC which is 4.45 and got 99.84. A 25% ogl gain because of my CPU speed.

Loved the play on the old cb scene though. I agree it'd be nice
To see an update to it to allow team render tests but that is more specific to a c4d user and not general benchmarking tool. Nice to see that my overclock maintains a consistent multiplier now. How does the 12 core have such a significantly better multiplier than all the other 6 and 8 core systems? Does the single core not go into turbo or something?


Usually the workstation cpus just increase the frequency be 2 or 3 bins (333 MHz) in single threaded mode, while the desktop cpus go much higher.

Beside that the render engine had a lot of changes since 11.5:

- improved mp factors with a lot of cores (for 12 cores or more).

- using 64 bit doubles instead of 32 bit float for calculations (basically working on twice the data set in memory) and enhanced range of the coordinate while still achieving a higher render speed than in 11.5

- color correction

- (The whole app) using SSE3

...


Best regards,

wbj
 
reply share thread


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
CGSociety
Society of Digital Artists
www.cgsociety.org

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2006,
Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Minimize Ads
Forum Jump
Miscellaneous

All times are GMT. The time now is 06:29 AM.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.