CGTalk > Software Specific Forums > Maxon Cinema 4D
Login register
Thread Closed share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 07-31-2013, 04:50 PM   #1
spirozero
C4D Devotee
 
spirozero's Avatar
Ken
Shantytown, USA
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 673
If I Don't Renew MSA?

What happens? I currently have R14 Studio. R15 looks nice, but nothing that I really need.

If I wait and upgrade a year from now when R16 comes out, does anyone know how much more I'll have to pay?

Price-wise, is it better to stay locked in to the MSA deal???
 
Old 07-31-2013, 05:06 PM   #2
PhoenixCG
Pixol Pusher
portfolio
Tappan Peterson
USA
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 704
I'm almost sure it would cost more to skip.
 
Old 07-31-2013, 05:06 PM   #3
kvb
Now with Less Gout!
 
kvb's Avatar
Kevin V. Barnum
Graphic Designer/3D Artist
Colorvision International
Orlando, USA
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 813
It's a $295 loss if you don't renew and wait until R16 to upgrade. That is, if the current upgrade price from 2 versions old doesn't change (which is currently $1,595... MSA for R15 and R16 would come out to $1,300)

-kvb
__________________
www.kvbarnum.com
LOBODESTROYO!!!
 
Old 07-31-2013, 05:11 PM   #4
spirozero
C4D Devotee
 
spirozero's Avatar
Ken
Shantytown, USA
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 673
Woah - if I were at R13 and wanted to upgrade to R15, it would cost me $1,595?

Bummer.
 
Old 07-31-2013, 07:38 PM   #5
PhoenixCG
Pixol Pusher
portfolio
Tappan Peterson
USA
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 704
That was kinda what I thought. Retail for the one you skipped and then MSA for the new one. It makes far more since to renew every year then it does to pay 40% more for the one(s) you skipped.
 
Old 07-31-2013, 09:34 PM   #6
Venkman
Don't cross the streams
 
Venkman's Avatar
portfolio
Peter Venkman
Frederick, USA
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 3,496
My MSA is up closer to the end of August. I started getting emails in early July telling "YOU MUST RENEW NOW" to keep the lower price. I didn't really appreciate those emails considering I still had 6 or so weeks before my MSA was up.

You really do save money (and get access to cineversity), but I don't need high pressure tactics.

And yes, it was all in caps in bright red text.
 
Old 07-31-2013, 10:15 PM   #7
celke
Frequenter
portfolio
Carsten Elke
Switzerland
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 106
Quote:
Originally Posted by Venkman
...and get access to cineversity


Is that new?
How do I get access? Or, is it for US residents only?

thanks and cheers

celke
 
Old 07-31-2013, 10:45 PM   #8
EricM
Expert
Eric Marodon
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 1,124
No cineversity outside of US I think, as it's managed by the US subsidiary and not the HQ.

Regarding the cost of skipping, the current trend (note that it may change) is that late R14 buyers during the summer are being offered the MSA and the upgrade to R15.

So by skipping, it's only the cost of one upgrade + special offer vs 2 MSAs if you don't skip. I think it's a little bit cheaper to skip every other versions granted that they continue this scheme every year, but for one year you lose the benefit of installing on 2 computers + other MSA perks and you can't enjoy the new features and bug fixes.

Basically, it's about on par I'd say.
 
Old 08-01-2013, 02:50 AM   #9
LukeLetellier
Work in Progress
 
LukeLetellier's Avatar
portfolio
Luke Letellier
Portland, Maine, USA
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 808
Quote:
Originally Posted by EricM
No cineversity outside of US I think, as it's managed by the US subsidiary and not the HQ.

Regarding the cost of skipping, the current trend (note that it may change) is that late R14 buyers during the summer are being offered the MSA and the upgrade to R15.

So by skipping, it's only the cost of one upgrade + special offer vs 2 MSAs if you don't skip. I think it's a little bit cheaper to skip every other versions granted that they continue this scheme every year, but for one year you lose the benefit of installing on 2 computers + other MSA perks and you can't enjoy the new features and bug fixes.

Basically, it's about on par I'd say.

I believe this scheme is only applicable if you are purchasing a license for the first time, not renewing an older one.

Quote:
And yes, it was all in caps in bright red text.


My guess is that someone somewhere didn't catch the e-mails and raised a ruckus over at Maxon HQ until they got their way, forcing Maxon to be over-the-top blunt in their communication.
 
Old 08-01-2013, 04:11 PM   #10
celke
Frequenter
portfolio
Carsten Elke
Switzerland
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 106
Quote:
Originally Posted by EricM
No cineversity outside of US I think, as it's managed by the US subsidiary and not the HQ.


Thanks for your answer. At least we have the privilege to pay 200$ more for our MSA.

cheers

celke
 
Old 08-02-2013, 10:19 AM   #11
kromekat
Daydreamer
 
kromekat's Avatar
portfolio
Adam Benton
Freelance CG Artist
kromekat digital media
United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 2,273
Send a message via ICQ to kromekat Send a message via Yahoo to kromekat
Hang on I pay for my MSA and still pay a yearly subs to Cineversity! - am I overpaying for the latter if it's included in MSA!?

Adam
__________________
www.kromekat.com

12 core Mac Pro / 2x Mac Pro 8-core ATI5770 / ATI4870
MacBookPro i7 2.66Ghz

 
Old 08-02-2013, 10:33 AM   #12
Cairyn
Fur Stylist
 
Cairyn's Avatar
Robert Gruenweiss
Germany
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 351
Quote:
Originally Posted by kromekat
Hang on I pay for my MSA and still pay a yearly subs to Cineversity! - am I overpaying for the latter if it's included in MSA!?


It's not generally included in the MSA. Depends on the country. I think it's only offered in the US so far, since Cineversity is a Maxon USA thing. I don't have it included either.

(Not to mention the 1 on 1 training...)
 
Old 08-02-2013, 11:36 AM   #13
deepshade
Expert
portfolio
Paul T
United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 1,242
AFAIK its only available to US customers. UK customers are given the option to use the software on 2 machines (non consecutively). I'd expect US users cannot do that.
 
Old 08-02-2013, 12:51 PM   #14
Halogen
I lost the Matrix :(
 
Halogen's Avatar
portfolio
Jarrad Gittos
3D Animator - Medical
Perth, Australia
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 338
Quote:
Originally Posted by spirozero
Woah - if I were at R13 and wanted to upgrade to R15, it would cost me $1,595?

Bummer.


About right. I got a quote for $1770 Aussie dollars, so probably the same value as $1595 USD. Works out cheaper to keep MSA renewed :(
 
Old 08-02-2013, 02:01 PM   #15
Venkman
Don't cross the streams
 
Venkman's Avatar
portfolio
Peter Venkman
Frederick, USA
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 3,496
I am definitely overpaying for Cineversity. That auto renewed a while back, I totally forgot I could get it with my MSA in the US. My fault, but no less frustrating.
 
Thread Closed share thread


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
CGSociety
Society of Digital Artists
www.cgsociety.org

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright 2000 - 2006,
Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Minimize Ads
Forum Jump
Miscellaneous

All times are GMT. The time now is 05:56 AM.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.