Binding Bones To Mesh Leads TO Crash

Become a member of the CGSociety

Connect, Share, and Learn with our Large Growing CG Art Community. It's Free!

THREAD CLOSED

Old 07 July 2013   #1
Binding Bones To Mesh Leads TO Crash

Hey guys so i have this fairly complex chest model of a robot that im trying to bind a set of bones too, now im doing this in segments as im new to bones and IK, so ive done the arms they are good to go the chest section seems to be giving me trouble. For testing purposes i set up a simple spline, 3 joints and have them working under an IK SPLINE with 3 controls for each joint

now this all works fine except for the bind part cinema seems to get to 80% (bar on the bottom right) and then freezes, and enters not responding, even as i type this ive left it be hoping by the time i get back from work it will be done and that its just calculating or something.

Any insight on this ? Or how i can work around this
can provide screenshots if needed or even a scene file

Thanks guys
-Sean

Old 07 July 2013   #2
Howdy,

Well, you really only need to bind (skin) a mesh to joints if that mesh needs to bend smoothly. If your character is a robot with rigid parts modeled separately, you could simply constrain those parts to their respective joints.

Skinning has to make a calculation for each vertex of the object while constraining only needs to calculate the axis of the object once, so constraining would even give you better viewport performance if the model has a large number of points.

Adios,
Cactus Dan

cactus3d.com, cactus3d-Plugins, CD Character Plugins forum

Old 07 July 2013   #3
Try this!