CGTalk > Software > Maxon Cinema 4D
Login register
Thread Closed share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-17-2013, 04:41 PM   #1
renderjunge
New Member
portfolio
Germany
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 12
how to make a spline like this ?

hi i am new to this site and i have problem i need to make a spline that looks like this

floor heating system
 
Old 06-18-2013, 07:22 AM   #2
mnu
Expert
 
mnu's Avatar
Manuel Casasola Merkle
Managing Director
AixSponza
Munich, Germany
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 521
Create a plane. Convert it. Resort the vertices in the structure manager to reflect the right order. Use MoGraph Tracer to connect them.

cheers mnu
__________________
... es sind noch Lieder zu singen jenseits der Menschen.
http://www.aixsponza.com
 
Old 06-18-2013, 08:04 AM   #3
bunk
Expert
 
bunk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 418
That's one way of doing it.
 
Old 06-18-2013, 08:30 AM   #4
mnu
Expert
 
mnu's Avatar
Manuel Casasola Merkle
Managing Director
AixSponza
Munich, Germany
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 521
Create a bunch of nulls in the right spot. Write a PyhtonGenerator to return a spline that connects the nulls ;-)

That's another way of doing it

Just draw it by hand

That's the third way of doing it

Draw the spline in illustrator or inkscape and import it

number 4

;-)
__________________
... es sind noch Lieder zu singen jenseits der Menschen.
http://www.aixsponza.com

Last edited by mnu : 06-18-2013 at 08:33 AM.
 
Old 06-18-2013, 08:46 AM   #5
mazab
Expert
 
mazab's Avatar
portfolio
Matthias Zabiegly
Munich, Germany
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 525
Do a MoSpline Turtle System
Number 5
__________________
zabiegly.com
 
Old 06-18-2013, 08:48 AM   #6
Jops
hyper nerd
Florian Sepp
Germany
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 339
make a plain supdevide it once more than your desired structure.
select edges, convert to spline.

best regards
Jops
 
Old 06-18-2013, 09:27 AM   #7
sandidolsak
Expert
 
sandidolsak's Avatar
portfolio
Sandi Dolšak
CEO / TD
Ratata studio
Ljubljana, Slovenia
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 434
or make a small and big rectangle spline, put it under a cloner on blend mode to generate inbetweens, then just use spline mask to delete half, copy, rotate 180, move a bit and connect the halfs...
__________________
Twitter | Ratata
 
Old 06-18-2013, 09:28 AM   #8
sandidolsak
Expert
 
sandidolsak's Avatar
portfolio
Sandi Dolšak
CEO / TD
Ratata studio
Ljubljana, Slovenia
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 434
and yeah, turtle even has a spiral example in help, nice to start with
__________________
Twitter | Ratata
 
Old 06-18-2013, 10:05 AM   #9
renderjunge
New Member
portfolio
Germany
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 12
thanks for your help but i am not a profi so i need a little bit more detailed help.
 
Old 06-18-2013, 10:39 AM   #10
cubeman
PRO
portfolio
Manfred Kostka
Hamburg, Germany
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 190
#6: Start with a simple helix spline and squeeze it in shape with a FFD.

Cheers Cube
 
Old 06-18-2013, 10:41 AM   #11
mazab
Expert
 
mazab's Avatar
portfolio
Matthias Zabiegly
Munich, Germany
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 525
Quote:
Originally Posted by renderjunge
thanks for your help but i am not a profi so i need a little bit more detailed help.


Really the simplest way would be to go into Top View, choose any of the Spline tools (Bezier or B-Spline would probably be the best choice) and simply draw the spline you need manually.
__________________
zabiegly.com
 
Old 06-18-2013, 12:14 PM   #12
chi
Modernism at my brains
 
chi's Avatar
portfolio
Patrick Goski
Community Ambassador (North America)
MAXON Computer Inc.
Montreal, Canada
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 1,753
Send a message via MSN to chi
Quote:
Originally Posted by mazab
Really the simplest way would be to go into Top View, choose any of the Spline tools (Bezier or B-Spline would probably be the best choice) and simply draw the spline you need manually.


This really would be the fastest method, unless you are doing a football field or something that massive.
__________________
The views expressed in this post are by no means the opinion of those making the post or of any one person in particular.
 
Old 06-18-2013, 12:32 PM   #13
vid2k2
Expert
 
vid2k2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 2,658
Draw spline in Ai or C4D
Use outline command
Sweep spline
__________________
David

iMac 3.06 ghz Intel Core 2 Duo / 16 GB / OS 10.9.5 / C4D StudioR12 / CS6

R.I.P. 11.02.11 ... my dear friend .
 
Old 06-18-2013, 02:55 PM   #14
AdamT
oh ... what?
 
AdamT's Avatar
Adam Trachtenberg
Modeler, Animator, Attorney
3D Anvil
Miami, USA
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 10,515
I draw it in Cinema using linear spline, then select all the points and convert to soft.
 
Old 06-18-2013, 05:52 PM   #15
bunk
Expert
 
bunk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 418
Quote:
Originally Posted by cubeman
#6: Start with a simple helix spline and squeeze it in shape with a FFD.
My favorite methode as well, by far.
 
Thread Closed share thread


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
CGSociety
Society of Digital Artists
www.cgsociety.org

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2006,
Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Minimize Ads
Forum Jump
Miscellaneous

All times are GMT. The time now is 09:01 PM.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.