Login register
Thread Closed share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »  

Old 05-17-2013, 12:06 PM   #1
grreez
portfolio
United Kingdom

C4D or Maya (decision making)

Hi everybody,

I' Here's my question, which is directed to people who have experience with both C4D and Maya.
(Please, this is a sincere tech question, not a quest for insults on either software.)

I am a visual artist and most of the time i use traditional media like oils, clay, stone etc and also got a few years of experience with Zbrush.
Now i would like to get a bit deeper into rigging and animation as i really would love to reproduce some of my work using a decent 3D software.

I also have taken a quick look at Cinema 4d and Maya. I am either going to learn Maya or C4D. I have gotten to know Cinema 4D a bit and think I like it but maybe I am wrong.

Thanks in advance for any help you can provide, to aid my buying decision.

Take care.

Old 05-19-2013, 01:49 PM   #2
Cactus Dan
Of the West

Cactus Dan Libisch
Freelance Character TD
Ferron, USA

Howdy,

Well, that's really a decision you'll need to make yourself by trying the demo of each application.

For someone like me, where the cost of the software is a big factor, I'm perfectly satisfied with using the Cinema 4D Prime version ($995) plus my CD Character Rigging plugins to do all of my character rigging and animation work. Since my plugins have a Runtime feature, clients for whom I do work need not worry about having to purchase the plugins to use the files I create with them.

Adios,
Cactus Dan

cactus3d.com, cactus3d-Plugins, CD Character Plugins forum

Old 05-19-2013, 02:09 PM   #3
ilay
Lord of the posts
Ilay
Engineer
Kazakhstan

Hi
Can you analyze your labor market and make decision?
For example i'm moving to maya > i currently work at company which linked with ad's products in pipeline. So i left c4d and this is not only one reason to move, i completely disappointed by c4d(hardly to translate expressions to english)