CGTalk > Software Specific Forums > Maxon Cinema 4D
Login register
Thread Closed share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-31-2013, 01:43 AM   #16
Per-Anders
helper bunny
 
Per-Anders's Avatar
CGTalk Forum Leader
portfolio
Per-Anders Edwards
Developer
The Third Party
USA
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 12,708
The GI in C4D is a little more complex to use than in LW, however it can be quite fast provided you learn how to use it and don't just leave it on it's defaults.

The resolution of your irradiance cache GI in C4D is controlled by the record density, adjust the min and max rate accordingly, a rate of 0 is a 1x1 size GI pass, a rate of -1 is a quarter size, -2 is a sixtenth i.e. it's reducing the resolution by a half in each axis for each step down, or doubling for each step up.

If you pick to autoload in your irradiance cache file then it will re-use any existing cache that you've made when nothing else has changed, if you check the lock button then it will lock the cache permanently regardless of changes, if you change the animation mode you're using then you can have it only calculate areas that have changed with for example camera animation, however if you pick a full animation mode which is only for scenes where objects and lights are moving around and thus result in changes to the overall GI solution then it must calculate a heavy prepass.

With camera animation mode you can skip frames by rendering a prepass only render and simply changing the frame rate in the projects render settings (make sure that autosave is enabled in the irradiance cache file), then return the fps settings, disable prepass only and lock the cache, and render the result.

In general your passes with irradiance cache are defined by the animation mode, the min/max rate under record density and the cache refinement options. The defaults have been set very high because in the past the settings were far lower and quicker but people complained that C4D's GI quality was poor/blotchy. As a result the current defaults are set up for creating a final quality output at "medium" settings in many situations, you can afford to bring the values way way down and reduce the number of steps between the min and max rate when doing a preview render.
__________________
The Third Party | Homepage | My Reel
"You need to know what you're doing before you start, and to start because you need what you're doing."
 
Old 03-31-2013, 03:33 AM   #17
earwax69
Ctrl+Altl+Chicken
 
earwax69's Avatar
portfolio
Thierry Fortier
Montreal/Osaka, Japan
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,497
Precious information Per-Anders, thanks!

Sad there's no fraction in the record density. A sixtenth is quite small. I am using preview.

I am experiencing strange artefacts. What is the culprit setting?


artefacts by Earwax69, on Flickr
__________________
So long and thanks for all the fish
 
Old 03-31-2013, 04:18 AM   #18
Per-Anders
helper bunny
 
Per-Anders's Avatar
CGTalk Forum Leader
portfolio
Per-Anders Edwards
Developer
The Third Party
USA
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 12,708
Looks like some normals shading issue, but it also looks like a problem with the cache did you lock it? Alternatively there's a problem with the least squares interpolation smoothing, you can adjust how smooth this is in the smoothing settings which should resolve it from the settings, however it's nearly impossible to say without having the scene file to check. Try flushing the cache and see if it persists, if it does then please share the file.
__________________
The Third Party | Homepage | My Reel
"You need to know what you're doing before you start, and to start because you need what you're doing."
 
Old 03-31-2013, 04:49 AM   #19
earwax69
Ctrl+Altl+Chicken
 
earwax69's Avatar
portfolio
Thierry Fortier
Montreal/Osaka, Japan
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,497
Well, I'll bump the specs up and reread your post when I'll be ready to render again. For now I just need a preview to show the client. I cant wait to be on my 12 cores workstation in 2 weeks to speed things up. 3x the speed will be welcome!

Thanks for the reply! Very appreciated. I seem to complain a lot but C4D is really my favorite softare now. I'm starting to get the hang of it, being very clean in my objects manager (it help!).
__________________
So long and thanks for all the fish
 
Old 04-01-2013, 01:03 PM   #20
chi
Modernism at my brains
 
chi's Avatar
portfolio
Patrick Goski
Community Ambassador (North America)
MAXON Computer Inc.
Montreal, Canada
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 1,742
Send a message via MSN to chi
Quote:
Originally Posted by earwax69
Precious information Per-Anders, thanks!

Sad there's no fraction in the record density. A sixtenth is quite small. I am using preview.

I am experiencing strange artefacts. What is the culprit setting?


artefacts by Earwax69, on Flickr


I would say this is because you are using a (full animation) mode.
I avoid these like the plague.
You are safe to bump up your sampling and tweak your record settings to reduce flicker rather than use the (full animation) modes.

Set the GI mode to "still image"
Then set you sample mode to "custom sample count"
and set the sample count to "512" (if there is flickering increase this number, sometimes it can go into the 5000+ range, but rarely)
click render.
My laptop rendered the entire sequence out in 02:37 (mm:ss)
__________________
The views expressed in this post are by no means the opinion of those making the post or of any one person in particular.
 
Old 04-01-2013, 02:39 PM   #21
earwax69
Ctrl+Altl+Chicken
 
earwax69's Avatar
portfolio
Thierry Fortier
Montreal/Osaka, Japan
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,497
Chi, you are a genius! thanks for that. It work very well. I am very glad I posted this thread as this little trick will help me in a lot in the future!
__________________
So long and thanks for all the fish
 
Old 04-01-2013, 03:29 PM   #22
noseman
3D nosey
 
noseman's Avatar
Athanasios Pozantzis
3D Generalist - Certified C4D Trainer
Noseman productions
Toronto, Canada
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 855
Per beat me to it.

Another way I tested is with pure QMC. It's slower (15 minutes for all frames), but very precise.
I also did a render with Physical renderer, Motion Blur and indirect illumination and the whole thing rendered in just over an hour on my 12 Core Mac, but it looked very good.
__________________
----------------------
noseman.org
 
Old 04-04-2013, 07:35 PM   #23
flingster
cinema fan
 
flingster's Avatar
flingster.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 8,378
useful thread this..thanks for all the advice peoples..v useful little tips in here as always.
__________________
One never knows what each day is going to bring. The important thing is to be open and ready for it.

Henry Moore
 
Old 04-04-2013, 07:35 PM   #24
CGTalk Moderation
Lord of the posts
CGTalk Forum Leader
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 1,066,481
Thread automatically closed

This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.
__________________
CGTalk Policy/Legalities
Note that as CGTalk Members, you agree to the terms and conditions of using this website.
 
Thread Closed share thread


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
CGSociety
Society of Digital Artists
www.cgsociety.org

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright 2000 - 2006,
Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Minimize Ads
Forum Jump
Miscellaneous

All times are GMT. The time now is 07:55 AM.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.