CGTalk > Software > Maxon Cinema 4D
Login register
Thread Closed share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »  
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-19-2013, 11:00 PM   #1
GruvDOne
Keeper of the Cheese
 
GruvDOne's Avatar
portfolio
Willie Frazier
Production Designer
Reality Check Systems
Burbank, USA
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 1,709
Send a message via AIM to GruvDOne Send a message via Yahoo to GruvDOne
Camera has lost it's mind?

Right, not the first time this has happened to me, but I cannot for the life of me figure out what the hell is going on with this.

Essentially I have a camera moving down into a room, from frame 66 through the end of the animation, all the frames render black, as if the camera has gone behind something. But, here's the rub... there is NOTHING anywhere near the camera to be causing this... it is absolutely blowing my mind.

I have attached 2 screen shots showing the rendered camera view and the the position of the camera in the scene.

****EDIT*** since it is impossible to get my first screen shot to anything less than 99KB, and the size limit is 97KB (really?) then I can only upload the second one which shows the black frame, but you will just have to take my word for it that every preceding frame renders fine****EDIT****

Has anyone ever seen anything like this before?

Thanks in advance,
- Will
__________________
Mac Pro 12 x 2.6 GHz 64GB Quadro K5000
OSX 10.10.4
MacBook Pro 4 x 2.3GHz 16GB GeForce GT 750M
OSX 10.10.4
C4D R16 Studio/CC/FCS 3
Will's Works
 
Old 03-19-2013, 11:28 PM   #2
LucentDreams
lover of gophers
 
LucentDreams's Avatar
CGSociety Member
portfolio
Kai Pedersen
Lighting Lead
Double Negative
Vancouver, Canada
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 10,355
perhaps the front clipping is accidentally animated?
__________________
Quote:
"Until you do what you believe in, how do you know whether you believe in it or not?" -Leo Tolstoy
Kai Pedersen
 
Old 03-19-2013, 11:31 PM   #3
demafleez
Frequenter
 
demafleez's Avatar
fleezinator
USA
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 123
not having seen your scene file, I can only speculate. do you have any other camera in the scene? did you accidently keyframe a stage object? Are your lights keyframed, either in brightness or in color? do the frames in question render in the viewport/IPR?
__________________
••••••••••••••••••••••••

demafleez.com | twitter
 
Old 03-19-2013, 11:32 PM   #4
GruvDOne
Keeper of the Cheese
 
GruvDOne's Avatar
portfolio
Willie Frazier
Production Designer
Reality Check Systems
Burbank, USA
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 1,709
Send a message via AIM to GruvDOne Send a message via Yahoo to GruvDOne
Quote:
Originally Posted by LucentDreams
perhaps the front clipping is accidentally animated?



No, just double checked, near clipping is enabled and at 0cm, far is not enabled (essentially, default settings), and there are no keyframes present.

Thanks for the response though
__________________
Mac Pro 12 x 2.6 GHz 64GB Quadro K5000
OSX 10.10.4
MacBook Pro 4 x 2.3GHz 16GB GeForce GT 750M
OSX 10.10.4
C4D R16 Studio/CC/FCS 3
Will's Works
 
Old 03-19-2013, 11:35 PM   #5
GruvDOne
Keeper of the Cheese
 
GruvDOne's Avatar
portfolio
Willie Frazier
Production Designer
Reality Check Systems
Burbank, USA
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 1,709
Send a message via AIM to GruvDOne Send a message via Yahoo to GruvDOne
Quote:
Originally Posted by demafleez
not having seen your scene file, I can only speculate. do you have any other camera in the scene? did you accidently keyframe a stage object? Are your lights keyframed, either in brightness or in color? do the frames in question render in the viewport/IPR?



No other cameras, no stage object, no animated lights. The black frames appear in both the editor and net renders, though the viewport has no issues while working in the scene. The only way I have been able to solve it has been to make a duplicate of the room, delete everything but the wall behind the camera, and add a composting tag to the new object to not be seen by the camera.

Thus, I am able to determine that it is that back wall that is the issue, though I still don't know why as the camera is not even remotely close to it.
__________________
Mac Pro 12 x 2.6 GHz 64GB Quadro K5000
OSX 10.10.4
MacBook Pro 4 x 2.3GHz 16GB GeForce GT 750M
OSX 10.10.4
C4D R16 Studio/CC/FCS 3
Will's Works
 
Old 03-20-2013, 12:20 AM   #6
E2GO
PRO
portfolio
Egor Gostyshev
CG Artist
Vladivostok, Russia
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 165
Send a message via ICQ to E2GO
I have this issue couple times. My problem was - because of foreground objects in the scene with missing textures on'em or textures without alpha channel.
 
Old 03-20-2013, 12:26 AM   #7
LucentDreams
lover of gophers
 
LucentDreams's Avatar
CGSociety Member
portfolio
Kai Pedersen
Lighting Lead
Double Negative
Vancouver, Canada
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 10,355
perhaps try giving it a small front clipping to eliminate that back wall. wouldn't make sense, but maybe it would work.

Out of curiosity does the back wall have transparency, or perhaps a window that is transparent? Does the material have absorption in it maybe?
__________________
Quote:
"Until you do what you believe in, how do you know whether you believe in it or not?" -Leo Tolstoy
Kai Pedersen
 
Old 03-20-2013, 04:37 PM   #8
GruvDOne
Keeper of the Cheese
 
GruvDOne's Avatar
portfolio
Willie Frazier
Production Designer
Reality Check Systems
Burbank, USA
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 1,709
Send a message via AIM to GruvDOne Send a message via Yahoo to GruvDOne
Quote:
Originally Posted by LucentDreams
perhaps try giving it a small front clipping to eliminate that back wall. wouldn't make sense, but maybe it would work.

Out of curiosity does the back wall have transparency, or perhaps a window that is transparent? Does the material have absorption in it maybe?



No, no transparency or absorption, just a fairly standard drywall shader.

What is interesting is that i had used PLA on the room to expand the outer edges of the wall at one point. I realized that I hadn't disabled the Y axis when I did my scale, so when rendered, the result wasn't great. I evened out the y points, re-added the outer face of the back wall, and aligned my polygon normals, and the issue with the camera went away.

Even more strange, is I also ended up changing the camera animation too (it really isn't possible to get the camera moving / rotating on multiple axis smoothly without nesting it in nulls). The new animation brings the camera much, much closer to the walls, without the issue appearing.

Truly a mystery, and not the first time a camera in the middle of a room has been blocked by some sort of phantom.
__________________
Mac Pro 12 x 2.6 GHz 64GB Quadro K5000
OSX 10.10.4
MacBook Pro 4 x 2.3GHz 16GB GeForce GT 750M
OSX 10.10.4
C4D R16 Studio/CC/FCS 3
Will's Works
 
Old 03-21-2013, 06:25 PM   #9
Hilt
Reality? Not worth it.
 
Hilt's Avatar
mj
3D/VFX/Post/Sherpa
InfoFrame
Helsinki, Finland
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1,185
Wow the camera looks so small compared to the room, way off the scale. Do you have any falloffs in your lights, or, if you have Physical sky check its settings? Do you use the right render engine? If using Physical, check that camera settings are within range, as there might not be nothing blocking the room..
__________________
Crazy people make better CG
 
Old 03-21-2013, 07:23 PM   #10
fluffouille
Booh
 
fluffouille's Avatar
Sιbastien Florand
Fluffy4D
Durham, USA
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 1,667
Yeah, your scales seem way off. Not sure what you are measuring with the HUD on the right, but it's already at a distance of a 100m. Scale might be why there are issues (not that it should be happening, though, I'd still classify that as a bug).

If you can get the scene displaying the problem to maxon, maybe it can be fixed and/or explained.
__________________
One on one Online Instructor for Cinema4D | Visit www.Fluffy4D.com for more info.
 
Old 03-21-2013, 07:23 PM   #11
CGTalk Moderation
Lord of the posts
CGTalk Forum Leader
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 1,066,481
Thread automatically closed

This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.
__________________
CGTalk Policy/Legalities
Note that as CGTalk Members, you agree to the terms and conditions of using this website.
 
Thread Closed share thread


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
CGSociety
Society of Digital Artists
www.cgsociety.org

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2006,
Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Minimize Ads
Forum Jump
Miscellaneous

All times are GMT. The time now is 11:12 PM.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.