CGTalk > Software > Maxon Cinema 4D
Login register
View Poll Results: What Windows version do you use?
XP 4 3.42%
Vista 9 7.69%
7 94 80.34%
8 10 8.55%
Voters: 117. You may not vote on this poll

Thread Closed share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-18-2013, 10:28 AM   #1
Srek
Some guy
 
Srek's Avatar
CGSociety Member
portfolio
Björn Dirk Marl
Technical Design
Maxon Computer GmbH
Friedrichsdorf, Germany
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 11,293
What Windows version do you use?

Hi,
obviously a question only targeted to Windows users here
I'm interested because XP dominated the Windows world for many years, but it is showing it's age. MS will drop support for it very soon and many new tools don't work with it. Since i'm an IT guy i noticed that many (like me) prefered to stay with XP for as long as possible and only very lately switched to Windows 7 or similar.
Thanks for participating
Björn


PS: No, this is not a Maxon poll.
__________________
- www.bonkers.de -
The views expressed on this post are my personal opinions and do not represent the views of my employer.
 
Old 03-18-2013, 01:11 PM   #2
brasco
Polygone
 
brasco's Avatar
portfolio
Jon Bosley
United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 1,731
I'm back on Win 7 from Win 8. All was well until a Windows Update completely killed the install, it was unrecoverable. I can't wait to get back to it though, just haven't had time to reinstall and block the update.

I generally run the developer preview of a new OS to see what's what, I think most would stick with what they're comfortable with and some just go with what's on the PC they buy.

cheers
brasc
__________________
brasco on vimeo
 
Old 03-18-2013, 01:11 PM   #3
Mr.Tyler Durden
Know-it-All
Tyler Durden
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 388


XP always lacked proper x64 support, so I wasn't able to stick with it as long..
 
Old 03-18-2013, 01:59 PM   #4
umblefugly
Lead Slacker
 
umblefugly's Avatar
Eric Jeffery
Dayton, USA
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 559
My wife loves the representation of Win 8..lol

Dont forget, Win 2k Pro was pretty solid aswell.
__________________
C4D 11.532|UVLayout Pro v2|Win 7 Pro 64bit|64 GB RAM|i7 4930K|PNY GTX 780|Samsung EVO 500GB SSD|SyncMaster S27B550 27 in. LED Monitor
 
Old 03-18-2013, 02:36 PM   #5
ilay
Lord of the posts
Ilay
Engineer
Kazakhstan
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 1,062
Finally i moved to win8 x64. Found it's slow, than 7. But stayed at it.
 
Old 03-18-2013, 03:09 PM   #6
spedler
Expert
 
spedler's Avatar
portfolio
Steve Pedler
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 401
Quote:
Originally Posted by umblefugly
Dont forget, Win 2k Pro was pretty solid aswell.


I really liked win2k pro, switched to vista - truly horrible - and now use win 7 64 bit. Won't be going to win 8.
__________________
Steve Pedler personal site www.microbion.co.uk
X-Particles: www.x-particle.com
 
Old 03-18-2013, 03:33 PM   #7
ragecg
Stranger Danger!
 
ragecg's Avatar
portfolio
Israel LONG
Motion and Title Animator
Minneapolis, USA
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 61
Same as Spedler, Win 7 64bit Ult. for me.
Once you go Win 7 64bit, you'll love it.
__________________
Izzy
Motion and Title Animation - Minneapolis
izzylong.com

 
Old 03-18-2013, 04:16 PM   #8
mnu
Expert
 
mnu's Avatar
Manuel Casasola Merkle
Managing Director
AixSponza
Munich, Germany
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 521
Win8 rocks! Only glitch so far is due to the ridiculous performance of Wacom...
__________________
... es sind noch Lieder zu singen jenseits der Menschen.
http://www.aixsponza.com
 
Old 03-18-2013, 04:49 PM   #9
Seinfeld
PRO
portfolio
Jeff
Rotterdam, Netherlands
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 69
Windows 7.

Pretty sure i will just skip windows 8 altogether.
 
Old 03-18-2013, 07:45 PM   #10
rustEdge
that guy
 
rustEdge's Avatar
portfolio
Gene Carlo Magtoto
Digital Designer, Cinema4D TD & Animator
freelance
Vancouver, Canada
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 345
Send a message via Yahoo to rustEdge
Win7 for me.

I have Win8 on dual boot. Sure, it's faster but that dang tablet drag lag is just unbearable.
__________________
Do what you want to do, not what you think you want to do.
| ToothedWheel V2 plugin for C4D |UberTracer plugin for C4D |
 
Old 03-18-2013, 09:43 PM   #11
Venkman
Don't cross the streams
 
Venkman's Avatar
portfolio
Peter Venkman
Frederick, USA
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 3,530
Windows 7, but I use C4d occasionally on a mac.
 
Old 03-18-2013, 11:27 PM   #12
douwe
Know-it-All
 
douwe's Avatar
portfolio
douwe
Brussels, Belgium
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 472
Win7 64bit

Been on xp for a loooong time.
A few years back, one of my cheap mass-produced browsing machines came with Vista, which I never liked, so when win 7 came along i upgraded the OS, and I was pretty happy with how it felt.

I've used win 7 on every windows machine I've had since.
Haven't tried win 8 yet.
__________________
-----------> douwe on vimeo
 
Old 03-18-2013, 11:38 PM   #13
poppes1928
New Member
portfolio
poppes1928 jat
USA
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 8
I have been using Vista64 with few extra programs that made it very useful.

I am moving to a new machine that has Windows 7 Ultimate/64 in new build. I took advantage of purchasing the Windows 8 Pro version/upgrade at the very discounted price available until 1/31/2013 I think.

So, I really see that I am in transition on the Windows front.

aj
 
Old 03-18-2013, 11:55 PM   #14
brasco
Polygone
 
brasco's Avatar
portfolio
Jon Bosley
United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 1,731
Quote:
Originally Posted by mnu
Win8 rocks! Only glitch so far is due to the ridiculous performance of Wacom...


Quote:
Originally Posted by rustEdge
Win7 for me. I have Win8 on dual boot. Sure, it's faster but that dang tablet drag lag is just unbearable.


Have you guys tried the new driver and fixes shown here ? This was a disaster when I was on 8, thought it was a temporary issue, seems it's persisting :\
__________________
brasco on vimeo
 
Old 03-19-2013, 12:38 AM   #15
Cactus Dan
Of the West
 
Cactus Dan's Avatar
Cactus Dan Libisch
Freelance Character TD
Ferron, USA
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 2,311
Howdy,

I'm on Windows 7 32bit and 64bit on 2 separate drives.

I'm reluctant to upgrade to Windows 8 until someone can show me that it can be defagified so that it works like a regular desktop (opening windows showing file lists).

Adios,
Cactus Dan
__________________
It doesn't matter what people say about you, just as long as they're talking about you.

cactus3d.com, cactus3d-Plugins, CD Character Plugins forum
 
Thread Closed share thread


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
CGSociety
Society of Digital Artists
www.cgsociety.org

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2006,
Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Minimize Ads
Forum Jump
Miscellaneous

All times are GMT. The time now is 12:14 AM.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.