CGTalk > Software Specific Forums > Maxon Cinema 4D
To minimize the ads you see on this page create a CGTalk account and log in HERE
Thread Closed share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-26-2013, 03:32 AM   #1
JoelOtron
Lard of the pots
portfolio
Joel Dubin
Creative Director
MadMicrobe
USA
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 6,512
Getting an effector to see deformed state of object

I have a cloner in Sort mode containing 2 states of an object. I'm using the plain effector with linear falloff and set to Modify. When the cloner moves through the plain effector, The 2nd state of the clone swaps out the first.

I am also running the cloner through a Spline Wrap deformer.

Is there a way to get the plain effector to recognize the deformed position of the clones, so the sort effect will occur when the cloner is offset through the deformer, and visually passes through the effector? Please see this vid that illustrates the problem.

https://dl.dropbox.com/u/19000888/S...%20effector.mov

I want the spline wrapped cloner to sort when passing through the effector, rather than having the cloners true global coordinates being evaluated. Perhaps there is a better way to approach this? A bit of python /xpresso I need to get this to work?
 
Old 02-26-2013, 04:02 AM   #2
JoelOtron
Lard of the pots
portfolio
Joel Dubin
Creative Director
MadMicrobe
USA
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 6,512
I see there are a few xpresso nodes that might help with this--namely the Falloff and the Effector nodes... But unsure at this stage how to proceed.
 
Old 02-26-2013, 04:46 AM   #3
demafleez
Frequenter
 
demafleez's Avatar
fleezinator
USA
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 123
It has to be spline deformed? What about using the cloner set to object mode and targeting a spline instead? If the geometry doesn't have to be deformed along the spline, this might work.

http://vimeo.com/60528575
 
Old 02-26-2013, 04:54 AM   #4
JoelOtron
Lard of the pots
portfolio
Joel Dubin
Creative Director
MadMicrobe
USA
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 6,512
Thanks again demafleez---Yes in this case it needs to be deformed along the spline. I used primitives here to get the point across, but in actuality the clones will be 2 identical flat planes that will be duplicated along the z axis and then fed into the deformer to form one long ribbon. The effector will be used to swap between the two with a falloff.

There doesnt seem to be a simple way to do this---but wondering if an xpresso modification can do the job.
 
Old 02-26-2013, 06:05 AM   #5
Per-Anders
helper bunny
 
Per-Anders's Avatar
CGTalk Forum Leader
portfolio
Per-Anders Edwards
Developer
The Third Party
USA
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 12,708
This is what the Matrix object is for (among other things), apply your deformations to that and then apply your Cloner to the Matrix object to get a result that you can apply Effectors to.
__________________
The Third Party | Homepage | My Reel
"You need to know what you're doing before you start, and to start because you need what you're doing."
 
Old 02-26-2013, 12:57 PM   #6
JoelOtron
Lard of the pots
portfolio
Joel Dubin
Creative Director
MadMicrobe
USA
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 6,512
Thanks Per.
I avoided the matrix because I need the cloner to be deformed (bent) along the path. Was my understanding that the matrix will give me correct psr for my clones but not deformation. I'll try it again.
 
Old 02-26-2013, 01:45 PM   #7
JoelOtron
Lard of the pots
portfolio
Joel Dubin
Creative Director
MadMicrobe
USA
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 6,512
Tried the matrix to no avail. I get the deformed position/rotation of each clone but not the bending of geometry I need. Gotta be a way...
 
Old 02-27-2013, 02:49 PM   #8
JoelOtron
Lard of the pots
portfolio
Joel Dubin
Creative Director
MadMicrobe
USA
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 6,512
Any other ideas out there?

A recap---deforming (bending and moving) clones along a specific path. As the clones move though an object they need to swap out an alternate version of the clone (done with the sort mode and using a plain effector with falloff and modify set to 100%). Tried Per's suggestion with the Matrix object, and as mentioned this doesnt bend the cloner which i need. (the clones will form a flat ribbon moving and weaving through some machinery).

Would like to have the deformed cloner have the ability to "see" the plain effector in its real global location. Because they are being deformed through space, and not translated through space the cloner group never actually encounters the effector.

I could mark the "fit bounding box" function in the spline deformer, and this way I can move the cloner through the deformer in space, but it is still not accurately passing through the plain effector as the results are still deformed.


Any help would be appreciated.
 
Old 02-27-2013, 03:23 PM   #9
tcastudios
Steady now!
 
tcastudios's Avatar
...
Sweden
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 4,243
Quote:
Originally Posted by JoelOtron
Would like to have the deformed cloner have the ability to "see" the plain effector in its real global location.


And that's where I'm confused.
Have you tried using the Shader Effector
instead (with a gradient) as it treats the
spline in true UV space (along the spline)?
Then you could animate the gradient knots
via UD if you like.

Given your other Q I suspect there is more
to your scene that might be taken in consideration.

Does your spline animate over time, do you need
a looping stream of clones etc etc?

Cheers
Lennart
__________________
MSA | OSX | xfiles ...Cinema4D Tools
 
Old 02-27-2013, 03:48 PM   #10
JoelOtron
Lard of the pots
portfolio
Joel Dubin
Creative Director
MadMicrobe
USA
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 6,512
Hi Lennart

Thanks for taking a look.


The clones are a series of paper sheets fed sequentially as one continuous ribbon through a machine.

The spline is not moving. The spline carries the sheets (via the spline deformer) through the machine where they need to switch to a different sheet with one UV mapped image stamped onto each one.

I HAD considered using an alpha gradient set to world space, using some xpresso to feed the coordinates of a widget which would represent where the alpha would be, but I HADN'T considered the shader effector.


Thanks--will give it a go...
 
Old 02-27-2013, 04:25 PM   #11
JoelOtron
Lard of the pots
portfolio
Joel Dubin
Creative Director
MadMicrobe
USA
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 6,512
Heres a very rudimentary image showing what I want to do.

Clone A would be a different color then than Clone B which would be swapped by an effector.

Clone B will have a UV mapped image stamped onto each clone.

Thought it would be a piece of cake (odds are it still is and Im just missing it)
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Screen Shot 2013-02-27 at 11.21.48 AM.jpg (67.4 KB, 26 views)
 
Old 02-27-2013, 04:50 PM   #12
tcastudios
Steady now!
 
tcastudios's Avatar
...
Sweden
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 4,243
Then a Shader Effector with a gradient in it will work.
(The Shader Effector lets the blending happen at a spline
position rather than the clone index.)
Thus you can use the Rate parameter or offset in your
Cloner to sweep the papers along the spline.

Cheers
Lennart
__________________
MSA | OSX | xfiles ...Cinema4D Tools
 
Old 02-27-2013, 05:15 PM   #13
AdamT
oh ... what?
 
AdamT's Avatar
Adam Trachtenberg
Modeler, Animator, Attorney
3D Anvil
Miami, USA
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 10,464
Quote:
Originally Posted by tcastudios
Then a Shader Effector with a gradient in it will work.
(The Shader Effector lets the blending happen at a spline
position rather than the clone index.)
Thus you can use the Rate parameter or offset in your
Cloner to sweep the papers along the spline.

Cheers
Lennart


But he's not cloning along the spline, so there is no rate or offset parameter in the cloner. He's using the spline wrap to bend the clones along the spline.

I think he'll just have to do the texture animation on the undeformed cloner and then mess with the timing to match the deformer's animation.
 
Old 02-27-2013, 05:53 PM   #14
tcastudios
Steady now!
 
tcastudios's Avatar
...
Sweden
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 4,243
Applying the Wrapper directly on the Cloner will make it work.
(Cloner and Wrapper under a Null)

Cheers
Lennart
__________________
MSA | OSX | xfiles ...Cinema4D Tools
 
Old 02-27-2013, 06:16 PM   #15
JoelOtron
Lard of the pots
portfolio
Joel Dubin
Creative Director
MadMicrobe
USA
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 6,512
Adam beat me to it

I'm not actually cloning onto a spline (therefore no offset/rate)
I'm cloning linearly on the Z and deforming the cloner onto a spline.

I had already set up the cloner in the same hierarchy as the spline deformer.

Perhaps I'm missing what the shader effector could do in this situation.

I'll take a look at the animating/offsetting the material--thanks for the suggestion Adam

Thanks again guys.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Screen Shot 2013-02-27 at 1.13.49 PM.jpg (96.8 KB, 13 views)
 
Thread Closed share thread


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
CGSociety
Society of Digital Artists
www.cgsociety.org

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright 2000 - 2006,
Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Minimize Ads
Forum Jump
Miscellaneous

All times are GMT. The time now is 08:43 PM.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.