Tutorials - UV-mapping for game designers

Become a member of the CGSociety

Connect, Share, and Learn with our Large Growing CG Art Community. It's Free!

THREAD CLOSED

01 January 2013
Tutorials - UV-mapping for game designers

Hi all,

I have been searching for some good tutorials for UV mapping, with focus on game design, i.e combining several maps/objects to one uv space. I have looked at Cineversity without any luck, and I had a hard time fining something really useful on youtube. I only found the general hobbyist-tutorials.

I am doing a game for mobile platforms and I really should say that I am quite new to both Cinema and game design. I am a pre-3ds max guy that has mainly done arch-viz so UV-mapping hasn't really been on my agenda as I mostly have used box, cylindrical, spherical etc.

Hope to hear from you guys on any useful tips.

Thanks a lot!

P.G

01 January 2013
Not game specific but the following set of tutorials show you everything you need know to get up to speed with UV mapping in C4D:

Discovering BodyPaint with 3DKiwi

Hope this helps.

01 January 2013
Hi Polygoon,
I honestly have no clue if this is going to get you anywhere,
but I was thinking to do a search in the Unity forums also. http://udn.unity3d.com/

And I'm sure there was a user on this forum who was using c4d for game development (in Unity), his name was Thomas Patieska or something? OK, quick search: thomaspasieka
Again, not sure this is helpful, sorry…

(if you get anywhere please let us know, at least myself would be interested)

[UP]

01 January 2013
I'm currently working between C4D and Unity 4 (pro). I believe the term you're looking for is called "atlasing". It's like creating a meta UV map; one large bitmap texture that contains all the textures in the scene, and the relevant portions/areas of the atlas map are then assigned to their respective objects.

Hopefully that'll help you perform some better searches.

01 January 2013
Originally Posted by [UP]: Hi Polygoon,