CGTalk > Software > Maxon Cinema 4D
Login register
Thread Closed share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »  
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-15-2013, 08:38 PM   #1
JoelDubin
Lard of the pots
portfolio
Joel Dubin
Creative Director
MadMicrobe
United%2BStates
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 6,581
Rendering particles with Hair mat + Phys Renderer

I am using the particle rendering technique in which a hair material and a hair render tag are applied to the particle geometry object. (no actual geometry)

Results look fine in editor window with physical renderer on (and with Use Render LOD with Editor window toggled on)


I can render the sequence fine to the picture viewer using the standard renderer, but for some reason I get no particle results when I use the physical renderer. What is also strange is that I am only having this trouble on a particular computer (Mac Pro 2 x 2.66Ghz 6-core Intel Xeon i.e.: 12 core.)

I can render particles to the picture viewer with the physical renderer on my 2008 Mac Pro 8-core, no problem.

Any suggestions?
__________________
_____________________________

MadMicrobe
MadMograph (blog)
Behance

Last edited by JoelDubin : 01-15-2013 at 08:55 PM.
 
Old 01-15-2013, 08:49 PM   #2
JoelDubin
Lard of the pots
portfolio
Joel Dubin
Creative Director
MadMicrobe
United%2BStates
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 6,581
OK

I dont know how I fixed it exactly, but turning on and off DOF, switching back and forth between standard and physical renderer in conjunction with howling at the moon seems to have done it. Rendering fine now.

Maybe its just a buggy workflow.
__________________
_____________________________

MadMicrobe
MadMograph (blog)
Behance
 
Old 01-16-2013, 09:46 AM   #3
Mr.Tyler Durden
Know-it-All
Tyler Durden
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 388
Sometimes you will get "could not allocate particles"-errors when switching to physical renderer. I don't know why this happens, but increasing the allowed amount of particles in the tp settings isn't the problem here..

Last edited by Mr.Tyler Durden : 01-16-2013 at 11:20 AM.
 
Old 01-17-2013, 01:55 AM   #4
JoelDubin
Lard of the pots
portfolio
Joel Dubin
Creative Director
MadMicrobe
United%2BStates
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 6,581
Thanks

--still getting erratic results.

now I'm getting completely different results in the picture viewer than in the editor. Upped the max particle count to handle the ~600,000 particles being generated, but the behavior is completely off to what it should be.
__________________
_____________________________

MadMicrobe
MadMograph (blog)
Behance
 
Old 01-17-2013, 05:07 AM   #5
JoelDubin
Lard of the pots
portfolio
Joel Dubin
Creative Director
MadMicrobe
United%2BStates
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 6,581
Obeardy's pCahce did the trick
__________________
_____________________________

MadMicrobe
MadMograph (blog)
Behance
 
Old 01-17-2013, 05:58 AM   #6
Mr.Tyler Durden
Know-it-All
Tyler Durden
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 388
Ah, so I think this has something to do with the timing.
Are you using thinking particles or external sequences btw?
 
Old 01-17-2013, 03:02 PM   #7
JoelDubin
Lard of the pots
portfolio
Joel Dubin
Creative Director
MadMicrobe
United%2BStates
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 6,581
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr.Tyler Durden
Ah, so I think this has something to do with the timing.
Are you using thinking particles or external sequences btw?


I'm using thinking particles.
In my first post the particles were not showing up at all in the PV. That was fixed--albeit accidentally.

In this new case, with a different setup, the particles DO render to the PV but are not behaving as they should---different than their behavior in the editor playback. Could be some user error somewhere in the xpresso or settings but couldnt figure out the problem.

After running pCache however, the particles cached correctly (cache saved internally to the file--making it huge) and rendered as expected.

The ability to retime the particles within the plugin is also very usefull. VERY happy with this plugin.
__________________
_____________________________

MadMicrobe
MadMograph (blog)
Behance
 
Old 01-17-2013, 03:02 PM   #8
CGTalk Moderation
Lord of the posts
CGTalk Forum Leader
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 1,066,480
Thread automatically closed

This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.
__________________
CGTalk Policy/Legalities
Note that as CGTalk Members, you agree to the terms and conditions of using this website.
 
Thread Closed share thread


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
CGSociety
Society of Digital Artists
www.cgsociety.org

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright 2000 - 2006,
Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Minimize Ads
Forum Jump
Miscellaneous

All times are GMT. The time now is 02:06 PM.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.