CGTalk > Software > Maxon Cinema 4D
Login register
Thread Closed share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-12-2013, 08:53 AM   #1
ilay
Lord of the posts
Ilay
Engineer
Kazakhstan
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 1,062
HOT4D, Houdini Ocean Toolkit port to C4D

Hello to all

Manuel(aka valkaari) made this port for c4d

Check developer blog for news > http://www.valkaari.com/?cat=40

Plug-in for windows and mac OSs : http://valkaari.com/forum/hot4d/hot4d_alpha.zip
And special kit of dlls in root of c4d(unpack it in dir with executables): http://valkaari.com/forum/hot4d/fftwdll.zip

Shading of ocean: terrain mask shader, simbionts, stacx... and if renderman - i use air(OceanSurface/WithForm shader), http://sitexgraphics.com/blog/?p=103

Source from frenchcinema4d.fr

P.S. Valkaari, i'm sorry that post it at this forum, i think need more beta-testers.

Last edited by ilay : 01-14-2013 at 02:45 PM.
 
Old 01-12-2013, 10:09 AM   #2
spedler
Expert
 
spedler's Avatar
portfolio
Steve Pedler
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 404
Great to see this ported to Cinema. It works pretty well, gives a nice animated ocean. I must dig out my copy of Add-the-Sea and compare the two, though ATS is getting a bit old now.
__________________
Steve Pedler personal site www.microbion.co.uk
X-Particles: www.x-particle.com
 
Old 01-12-2013, 02:56 PM   #3
bonsak
Frequenter
 
bonsak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 119
This is great! Thanks.

Cheers
Bonsak
__________________
Latest STUDIO version | Mac Pro 2x2.6 16GB | OSX 10.8
http://www.racecar.no

 
Old 01-12-2013, 03:49 PM   #4
JoelDubin
Lard of the pots
portfolio
Joel Dubin
Creative Director
MadMicrobe
United%2BStates
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 6,646
Thanks for sharing.
__________________
_____________________________

MadMicrobe
MadMograph (blog)
Behance
 
Old 01-12-2013, 04:06 PM   #5
ilay
Lord of the posts
Ilay
Engineer
Kazakhstan
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 1,062
Manuel, I'm sorry, i miss that warning:
Quote:
Pour le moment, merci de ne pas diffuser sur les autres forums cette information (je le ferais moi même quand j'aurais intégré les fichiers de licences aux fichiers zip, et remis un peu d'ordre dans les fichiers sources pour les diffuser)

(if somebody doesn't understand, use any translating engine from French)

Only thinking about increasing of beta-testers.
Again, sorry
 
Old 01-12-2013, 05:05 PM   #6
Katachi
Boss at Navié
 
Katachi's Avatar
portfolio
Samir Kharchi
FX Artist & Software Dev
Navié
Magdeburg, Germany
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 2,834
Quote:
Originally Posted by IlaySHP
Manuel, I'm sorry, i miss that warning:
Quote:
Pour le moment, merci de ne pas diffuser sur les autres forums cette information (je le ferais moi même quand j'aurais intégré les fichiers de licences aux fichiers zip, et remis un peu d'ordre dans les fichiers sources pour les diffuser)

(if somebody doesn't understand, use any translating engine from French)

Only thinking about increasing of beta-testers.
Again, sorry


Translation for convenience

Quote:
Thanks for currently not distributing this information in other forums (I will do this myself once I have integrated the license files into the zip archive and ordered the source files a bit for distribution)


Still, good to see this ported.
__________________
FX & Design
www.navié.com | YouTube | Facebook
 
Old 01-12-2013, 05:25 PM   #7
valkaari
Veteran
 
valkaari's Avatar
portfolio
Manuel MAGALHAES
France
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 62
No problem, i was waiting a bit because i'm not sure i'm following the good path with this.
i should create a deformer instead of a generator.

I'm also working on a shader for this, but right now it's not working.

For those that don't speak french, i've created a category on my blog about HOT4D.

http://www.valkaari.com/?cat=40

If you got some questions of course, feel free to ask.

Sources will be distributed but right now, it's just a mess T.T
__________________
Website
 
Old 01-12-2013, 07:07 PM   #8
imashination
Expert
 
imashination's Avatar
portfolio
Matthew ONeill
3D Fluff
United Kingdom
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 9,018
Looks nice. You might find neither an object generator nor deformer are needed. If its well implemented as a material for displacements, remember using the displace deformer with the emulation box checked will allow the deformed mash to show up in the editor.
__________________
Matthew O'Neill
www.3dfluff.com
 
Old 01-13-2013, 09:02 AM   #9
paulmara
New Member
portfolio
paul
ferrara, Italy
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 8
works only on 64bit?
 
Old 01-13-2013, 10:09 AM   #10
Lothar1952
PRO
portfolio
Lothar Mai
Atting, Germany
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 141
Quote:
Originally Posted by imashination
Looks nice. You might find neither an object generator nor deformer are needed. If its well implemented as a material for displacements, remember using the displace deformer with the emulation box checked will allow the deformed mash to show up in the editor.


but how to interact with other objects then ? I think real geometry is desirable as well ...
 
Old 01-13-2013, 11:58 AM   #11
ilay
Lord of the posts
Ilay
Engineer
Kazakhstan
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 1,062
Quote:
Originally Posted by paulmara
works only on 64bit?

Yes, author of hot recommends it for memory management and recent libs were compiled at x64.
(As i understand Scott Iverson from SiTex Graphics adopted air shaders to handle x86 environment by 32-bit seawave dso/lib)

Last edited by ilay : 01-13-2013 at 12:06 PM.
 
Old 01-13-2013, 12:25 PM   #12
deepshade
Expert
portfolio
Paul T
United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 1,245
Wow - realistic looking ocean surface, right inside C4D. Looking forward to seeing how this one develops. Great job!.
 
Old 01-13-2013, 12:58 PM   #13
imashination
Expert
 
imashination's Avatar
portfolio
Matthew ONeill
3D Fluff
United Kingdom
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 9,018
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lothar1952
but how to interact with other objects then ? I think real geometry is desirable as well ...


How do you mean? the displace deformer creates real geometry, just like all the other deformers do.

Add a plane
Create a material and apply it to the plane, then add a noise shader into the displacement channel
Add a displace deformer, apply it to the plane and enable the emulation checkbox.

You should now have the shader creating real geometry in the editor. If it saves a lot of time, then really only the shader needs to be made. Unless the wave system is to be expanded and include curling waves, then theres nothing much to gain.
__________________
Matthew O'Neill
www.3dfluff.com
 
Old 01-13-2013, 01:33 PM   #14
Lothar1952
PRO
portfolio
Lothar Mai
Atting, Germany
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 141
Quote:
Originally Posted by imashination
How do you mean? the displace deformer creates real geometry, just like all the other deformers do.



you are right - didn´t read thoroughly enough. This way thought you would like a shader to use in displace channel of a material. Displace deformer with a shader works of course and I can access points of the deformed geometry to attach objects to. But wonder if it is faster than a coded deformer doing this intermediate step...
 
Old 01-13-2013, 04:56 PM   #15
EricM
Expert
Eric Marodon
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 1,294
A deformer would certainly be a good option, as you can then mix it with local simulation for instance for a splash.
 
Thread Closed share thread


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
CGSociety
Society of Digital Artists
www.cgsociety.org

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2006,
Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Minimize Ads
Forum Jump
Miscellaneous

All times are GMT. The time now is 09:52 AM.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.