CGTalk > Software > Maxon Cinema 4D
Login register
Thread Closed share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-08-2013, 02:56 PM   #16
mustardseed
Expert
 
mustardseed's Avatar
portfolio
Andrew Phang
Creative Director
Mustard Seed Creative
Singapore, Singapore
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 859
Soulja, please post an update on how your 660ti works with c4d on your Mac Pro, thanks!

Khor, that's good to know!
__________________
"...if you have faith as small as a mustard seed... Nothing will be impossible for you."
 
Old 02-09-2013, 11:33 AM   #17
rsquires
Expert
 
rsquires's Avatar
portfolio
Richard Squires
designer/director
reg
Melbourne, Australia
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,553
After a bit of Google research I have been led toward the 570 from Macvidcards

http://www.ebay.com/itm/Nvidia-GTX-...ce89cf5c&_uhb=1

Anyone had any experience of these. Interesting that his will show the boot screen
 
Old 02-09-2013, 06:10 PM   #18
soulja
New Member
Robert
Nürnberg, Germany
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 10
Ok, i just built in the 660ti and everything works fine. The systems starts with the login screen, the latest CUDA driver is also installed, and I have Octane up & running

Can't tell anything about the performance with octane though, because I have to learn it a bit first..
 
Old 02-09-2013, 08:32 PM   #19
Jim-H
PRO
portfolio
James Hall
USA
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 110
Downloaded the demo of the Octane Standalone renderer and the manual says there is a script to export from C4D. Anyone know where to find this script. Don't see it on the web site and don't think it was part of the download. So far haven't been able to get it to work even with importing an obj. Sure I'm just missing a simple step.
 
Old 02-09-2013, 10:51 PM   #20
Troyan
Ice Cream Fanatic
 
Troyan's Avatar
portfolio
Troyan Turner
Creative Director
The Danse Multimedia
USA
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 1,425
Send a message via AIM to Troyan
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim-H
Downloaded the demo of the Octane Standalone renderer and the manual says there is a script to export from C4D. Anyone know where to find this script. Don't see it on the web site and don't think it was part of the download. So far haven't been able to get it to work even with importing an obj. Sure I'm just missing a simple step.


I don't know why they don't put it online, but they emailed it to me.

Octane c4d exporter scripts
__________________
2014 Reel
Company website
Behance Portfolio
HyperactiveVR
I reject your reality and substitute my own
 
Old 02-09-2013, 10:53 PM   #21
Troyan
Ice Cream Fanatic
 
Troyan's Avatar
portfolio
Troyan Turner
Creative Director
The Danse Multimedia
USA
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 1,425
Send a message via AIM to Troyan
Also, they have confirmed to me that the Windows plugin will be released first and a Mac version is "quite some time off".
__________________
2014 Reel
Company website
Behance Portfolio
HyperactiveVR
I reject your reality and substitute my own
 
Old 02-09-2013, 11:39 PM   #22
PhoenixCG
Pixol Pusher
portfolio
Tappan Peterson
USA
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 704
The bridge is available in the customers section under Cinema 4D. I had to use riptide pro until I bought Octane, I'm surprised they emailed it to you.
 
Old 02-10-2013, 12:56 AM   #23
mustardseed
Expert
 
mustardseed's Avatar
portfolio
Andrew Phang
Creative Director
Mustard Seed Creative
Singapore, Singapore
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 859
Bummer. Left out in the cold again...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Troyan
Also, they have confirmed to me that the Windows plugin will be released first and a Mac version is "quite some time off".
__________________
"...if you have faith as small as a mustard seed... Nothing will be impossible for you."
 
Old 02-10-2013, 01:07 AM   #24
mustardseed
Expert
 
mustardseed's Avatar
portfolio
Andrew Phang
Creative Director
Mustard Seed Creative
Singapore, Singapore
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 859
Soulja, are you on mountain lion? What's your cinebench OGL results with the 660ti? Nice that you got the boot screen, are you using Apple drivers or did you download from nvidia?

Hope to see your results with Octane... Otoy site states that Kepler cards don't perform as well as Fermi, but the gtx 580 is such a power hungry card, I'm not even sure if the Mac Pro power supply can handle it?

Well I'm praying hard that since the mac octane plugin is 'quite some time off', it will give Apple some time release some thunderbolt nvidia drivers so we can all pimp our MacBooks/iMacs/Minis for Octane!
__________________
"...if you have faith as small as a mustard seed... Nothing will be impossible for you."
 
Old 02-11-2013, 06:06 AM   #25
soulja
New Member
Robert
Nürnberg, Germany
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 10
OGL Cinebench Score is 26.36 BpS - so it's rather slow, but definitely way faster than the previous card.

I'm pretty sure the card doesn't run overclocked, I guess it would have to be done on a pc.. but I refrain from doing that, not sure how much power it would need.

No idea about power & the gtx 580, you can see about that in the link i posted earlier.

It worked with the drivers in Mountain Lion, but I installed the latest CUDA driver after the first boot up anyway.

I'm not so well versed with all this technical stuff, but is thunderbolt fast enough for external graphics cards? From what I read, it's not optimal..
 
Old 02-11-2013, 06:46 AM   #26
mustardseed
Expert
 
mustardseed's Avatar
portfolio
Andrew Phang
Creative Director
Mustard Seed Creative
Singapore, Singapore
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 859
Wow, I expected much higher OGL results than that for the 660ti. I guess that all boils down to the inferior drivers we have on OS X.

For the external PCI chassis, I'm assuming that since the card will be dedicated to rendering for Octane and not for driving a display, Thunderbolt's bandwidth would matter as much. But all this is pointless at the moment since we don't have any cards with thunderbolt aware drivers.
__________________
"...if you have faith as small as a mustard seed... Nothing will be impossible for you."
 
Old 02-11-2013, 10:46 AM   #27
soulja
New Member
Robert
Nürnberg, Germany
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 10
yea well.. too bad that the options for graphic cards on the 3,1 mac pro are very limited. My machine is 5 years old, and after some upgrades (ssd, ram, and now graphics) I'm still pretty happy with it. But I'm also looking out to what Apple is working on.. and I hope they won't completely discontinue the Mac Pro.. I'm optimistic.

Btw, working in Cinema 4D with all OGL settings on is now buttery smooth
 
Old 02-11-2013, 12:28 PM   #28
mustardseed
Expert
 
mustardseed's Avatar
portfolio
Andrew Phang
Creative Director
Mustard Seed Creative
Singapore, Singapore
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 859
That's what matters most!

Quote:
Originally Posted by soulja
Btw, working in Cinema 4D with all OGL settings on is now buttery smooth
__________________
"...if you have faith as small as a mustard seed... Nothing will be impossible for you."
 
Old 02-11-2013, 12:52 PM   #29
brasco
Polygone
 
brasco's Avatar
portfolio
Jon Bosley
United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 1,731
Quote:
Originally Posted by mustardseed
Wow, I expected much higher OGL results than that for the 660ti. I guess that all boils down to the inferior drivers we have on OS X.


The 6xx series have very poor compute capability and were geared much better towards gaming, which seems to affect OGL performance quite a lot. Also, the CPU is a big limiting factor in OGL scores.

cheers
brasc
__________________
brasco on vimeo
 
Old 02-11-2013, 12:55 PM   #30
artdude12
Expert
Les Sandelman
Artist_Illustrator
USA
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 409
Does Octane support C4D's Multi-Pass?
Or does it have it's own implementation of Multi-Pass?
I didn't see it mentioned on the Octane forum.
__________________
Les Sandelman
 
Thread Closed share thread


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
CGSociety
Society of Digital Artists
www.cgsociety.org

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2006,
Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Minimize Ads
Forum Jump
Miscellaneous

All times are GMT. The time now is 01:12 AM.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.