CGTalk > Software Specific Forums > Maxon Cinema 4D
Login register
Thread Closed share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »  
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-14-2012, 01:39 AM   #1
mmalone
Veteran
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 57
Sequentially offset animated texture across clones?

So... I have an animated 2d texture of a growing corn stalk 35 frames in duration. I then have a simple plane that I have cloned along a spline 40 times. What I want is the corn texture to animate on sequentially on each clone with a 10 frame separation between each. The idea is that the corn grows on along the spline.

Hope this makes sense. Is this possible? If not, any thoughts on another approach?

thanks

I'm on r13
 
Old 12-14-2012, 06:47 AM   #2
JeremyW
Lord of the posts
 
JeremyW's Avatar
portfolio
Jeremy W
dreamer
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 719
This may give you some ideas:

http://vimeo.com/21302433
 
Old 12-14-2012, 02:37 PM   #3
mmalone
Veteran
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 57
I did see that video and while I made some progress I just couldn't get it to work. Since I need it to be sequential not random, I used a plain effector instead with a linear falloff. It would only partial respect the falloff. The texture never fully on, or it was partially on even when it was outside the influence of the plain effector, etc.

I'll try again. I could have easily missed something. The alternative is to create 40 different textures with different start times for the texture. Ugh!

Thanks
 
Old 12-14-2012, 03:11 PM   #4
tcastudios
Steady now!
 
tcastudios's Avatar
...
Sweden
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 4,245
I often fall into this trap as well.
For multi shader to work full range (Black to White)
in the Cloner-> Transform, Set Color to black
and Weight to 0%

In the Plain Effector, Fall Off 100%
then Parameter "Color Mode" and "Use Alpha/Strength" both On.

Cheers
Lennart
__________________
MSA | OSX | xfiles ...Cinema4D Tools
 
Old 12-14-2012, 06:00 PM   #5
mmalone
Veteran
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 57
I surrender! Man this is some hard stuff to wrap your head around. Thanks for the advice as I was able to make some progress.

The technique laid out in the Vimeo video works on random looping animated textures. Not sure it will work on sequential non looping textures. In my case, a corn stalk growing on one after the other across 40-ish clones. There needs to be some overlap in the texture animation... when the first one is 25% on the next one starts for example.

I think I will just forget the animated texture and just scale the damn thing up from 0-100%.
That I can do. (client wont be happy though)

thanks
 
Old 12-14-2012, 08:04 PM   #6
vid2k2
Expert
 
vid2k2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 2,606
Another option may be to animate the visibility or even animate a boolean.
__________________
David

iMac 3.06 ghz Intel Core 2 Duo / 16 GB / OS 10.9.5 / C4D StudioR12 / CS6

R.I.P. 11.02.11 ... my dear friend .
 
Old 12-14-2012, 10:36 PM   #7
Activator
curious member
John Alexander
NY, USA
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 278
This will take a few minutes, but VERY easy solution.

1. Make 40 copies of your Corn texture.
2. Double Click the Texture thumbnail in the Material Editor.
3. Go to the Animation tab.
4. Set the Timing drop down to "Range".
5. Set the "Range Start" of each Material to the frame you want it to start. (20, 40, 60, etc.)
Note that you have to change the "Range End" to match. e.g.: If the animated texture is 30 frames long, and you want Clone#2 to start at frame 20, then the "Range Start" should be 20, and the "Range End" should be 50.

Since the Material will show the 1st frame of the animation until it's start time, you need to make that black or whatever color you want to be there before the corn animation starts.
__________________
| Motion Graphics | 3D | VFX |

http://www.activateyourimage.com
 
Old 12-15-2012, 04:57 AM   #8
bdjones
PRO
Brian Jones
Calgary, Canada
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 151
 
Old 12-15-2012, 11:35 PM   #9
douwe
Know-it-All
 
douwe's Avatar
portfolio
douwe
Brussels, Belgium
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 472
Nice one Brian.
First time I see this trick.

You're doing the Offset manually now though, so there's no reason to have that Step Effector still in there.

To keep this topic interesting :

If you prefer to stay within the MoGraph Color System to control your MultiShader;
you could use a Formula Effector and a formula that does something like this :
Code:
clamp(0;1;(id<=t)*(t-id))


I did a quick walkthrough of your example here :
https://vimeo.com/55689488

cheers,
d
__________________
-----------> douwe on vimeo
 
Old 12-16-2012, 12:56 AM   #10
JeremyW
Lord of the posts
 
JeremyW's Avatar
portfolio
Jeremy W
dreamer
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 719
Brilliant!
 
Old 12-16-2012, 01:05 AM   #11
bdjones
PRO
Brian Jones
Calgary, Canada
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 151
yeah, it could just be Index Ratio, just keeping options open... Nice example, thanks for that.
 
Old 12-16-2012, 01:06 AM   #12
CGTalk Moderation
Lord of the posts
CGTalk Forum Leader
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 1,066,481
Thread automatically closed

This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.
__________________
CGTalk Policy/Legalities
Note that as CGTalk Members, you agree to the terms and conditions of using this website.
 
Thread Closed share thread


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
CGSociety
Society of Digital Artists
www.cgsociety.org

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright 2000 - 2006,
Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Minimize Ads
Forum Jump
Miscellaneous

All times are GMT. The time now is 08:44 PM.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.