Xpresso and thinkng particles

Become a member of the CGSociety

Connect, Share, and Learn with our Large Growing CG Art Community. It's Free!

THREAD CLOSED

11 November 2012
Question Xpresso and thinkng particles

Hello All,

I have basic knowledge of C4D R11.5. I am learnign it myself by online tutorials. I came to know that Xpresso and thinking particles are very powerful in C4D but I don't know anything about it. I tried some online tutorial but I didn't get it. I want to learn about them.

1. What is Xpresso and Thinking particles?

2. Difference between simple particles and thinking particles

3. What can I do with them? I mean what are uses of them?

4. How can I learn about them ? Beacause I am learning online, no one is here to help me

5. Is there any website from where I can learn from begaing?

Thank you,

Vipati

11 November 2012
1. xpresso is a node based programing language. thinking particles is a rule based particle system. tp is implemented as a feature of xpresso. xpresso is very similar to the ICE in XSI or the operator (Ops) system of houdini.

2. the standard particles are a very basic event based particle system and therefor less powerful than tp.

4&5. there are specific video training products for tp & xpresso out there i think, but the most obvious answer is : http://www.cineversity.com/.

ps : i know, some people won't like this, but if you are specific into particles, cinema isn't a very good choice right now. you will be way better of with XSI or houdini. for reasons use the search function, it has beeen discussed quite often here, why c4d is a bad particle environment.

11 November 2012
Originally Posted by Little_Devil: ps : i know, some people won't like this, but if you are specific into particles, cinema isn't a very good choice right now. you will be way better of with XSI or houdini. for reasons use the search function, it has beeen discussed quite often here, why c4d is a bad particle environment.

No surprise, i don't like it