CGTalk > Software > Maxon Cinema 4D
Login register
Thread Closed share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-05-2012, 03:00 PM   #1
Kevron
Frequenter
portfolio
Tor Martin Norvik
Tilnærmet Lik
Oslo, Norway
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 105
C4D + Wacom + Mountain Lion = ?

Hi,

I just updated to 10.6.8, and it gives me some strange behavior in Cinema 4D with wacom intous 3.

My problem is that whenever clicking in a "box" i.e those you can find under coordinates P.X p.Y and so on, my pen marker vanishes as soon as I move my wacom pen.

So for an example. You make a cube and want it to be 100m in scale Z. I click the the "box" with 200m and is about to write 100m. But the "box" "un-clicks" as I move the wacom pen.

I reckon it is driver related, after removing the Wacom driver, the problem is gone. But without a driver installed the pen marker moves like "something very slowly covered in mud".

I have the latest drivers (6.3.4-3) installed, and tried to repair disk permissions. Also restarted the system, and open/closed preferences in C4D and pulled the Wacom USB cord in and out while being in C4D. (This was some of the solutions I have picked up while searching this forum)

Has anybody experienced i similar issue and solved it?

Best regards,
Tor Martin
 
Old 11-05-2012, 03:30 PM   #2
vincent scotti
Explorer
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 16
I'm having the same problem now as well wit intous 4. If I use the mouse instead of the pen it doesn't happen. I'm going to try reverting to a earlier wacom driver.
 
Old 11-05-2012, 06:18 PM   #3
Kevron
Frequenter
portfolio
Tor Martin Norvik
Tilnærmet Lik
Oslo, Norway
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 105
Hi Vincent,

Please let me know if you find a driver that works better. All the other applications I use work as normal, it only in C4D this behavior exist.

Regards,
Tor Martin
 
Old 11-05-2012, 07:04 PM   #4
cmyk
Wielder of Untold Evil.
 
cmyk's Avatar
portfolio
Kevin Capizzi
Self-Employed (former Creative Director)
Kevin Capizzi CGI, LLC
USA
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 472
Send a message via AIM to cmyk
I just switched from a Bamboo to an Intuos 5 last week. Exact same problem.

I troubleshot it for a couple hours to no avail. But I did narrow down the specific problematic behavior:

If I use my pen to select a alpha-numeric field, or anything like that such as changing the name of an object, the string field only deselects if I lift the pen higher than the tablet's "float zone".

Until I can find a solution, I've been either selecting a field with my pen, keeping it on the tablet, while using my freehand to awkwardly type.

Or, I've had some luck in moving the pen (yet still keeping it in the float zone) toward the top of the tablet until it falls off the tablet's range, then it seems to keep the field active as expected. But this is usually more of a hassle, since its a precarious movement.

It's like the Wacom is reading lifting off of the pad as hitting enter, or something??
__________________
I'm a gun for hire... My work & gallery.

Last edited by cmyk : 11-05-2012 at 07:08 PM.
 
Old 11-05-2012, 08:04 PM   #5
eightinc
New Member
portfolio
erik west
Eight inc
San Francisco, USA
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 3
try older driver

I am using wacom intuous3 w/ Mountain Lion 10.8.2.

I am not having the problems you encounter.

The control panel driver , as well as tablet driver is version 6.1.6-2
 
Old 11-05-2012, 08:06 PM   #6
cmyk
Wielder of Untold Evil.
 
cmyk's Avatar
portfolio
Kevin Capizzi
Self-Employed (former Creative Director)
Kevin Capizzi CGI, LLC
USA
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 472
Send a message via AIM to cmyk
Quote:
Originally Posted by eightinc
I am using wacom intuous3 w/ Mountain Lion 10.8.2.

I am not having the problems you encounter.

The control panel driver , as well as tablet driver is version 6.1.6-2


Thanks, I'll give it a go (if I can with my particular tablet)...
__________________
I'm a gun for hire... My work & gallery.
 
Old 11-05-2012, 09:07 PM   #7
Kevron
Frequenter
portfolio
Tor Martin Norvik
Tilnærmet Lik
Oslo, Norway
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 105
I will test the driver tomorrow and report back if it works for my system. Thanks for letting me know.

Regards,
Tor Martin
 
Old 11-05-2012, 10:17 PM   #8
Aurety
Expert
 
Aurety's Avatar
portfolio
Antoine Aurety
LEV COMMUNICATION
LORIENT, France
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 745
I had the same problem and I switched back to a old driver ( now I'm in 6.3.2-4 ) and now all is fine. If i can help.
__________________
Frenchcinema4D Moderator http://www.frenchcinema4d.fr
my website : http://www.lev-communication.fr
Kamigaz® Project on : Pinterest
 
Old 11-06-2012, 10:09 AM   #9
Kevron
Frequenter
portfolio
Tor Martin Norvik
Tilnærmet Lik
Oslo, Norway
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 105
Hi Aurety,
I switched to an older driver (6.3.2-4) and it works as normal. Thanks to all who commented!

Regards,
Tor Martin
 
Old 04-12-2013, 12:20 AM   #10
nlite10
New Member
portfolio
Jason Schwarz
Hello Lovely
Denver, USA
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 1
Same issue here. OSX 10.8.3, Intuos 3 w/ v6.3.5-3... No worky.
Downgraded to v6.3.4-3... No Worky.
Downgraded to v6.3.3-3... Seems to worky although the PrefPane still says v6.3.4-3.
I'll restart and see if anything changes.

Thanks for the thread... This has been super annoying for a while now. I've gotten good with the stylus freeze/left-hand crossover to the number pad.
 
Old 04-13-2013, 12:15 AM   #11
cmyk
Wielder of Untold Evil.
 
cmyk's Avatar
portfolio
Kevin Capizzi
Self-Employed (former Creative Director)
Kevin Capizzi CGI, LLC
USA
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 472
Send a message via AIM to cmyk
How strange.

Having finally become so frustrated with the Intuos/C4D behavior, I finally strangled a kitten, then googled a bit and decided to downgrade to 6.3.3-3.

My god, it worked.

Then I stumble in here and see some have found the same. Still, I can't imagine what the hell's going on with Wacom's drivers for this series. Absolutely abysmal.

Hopefully, whatever Wacom "fixed" with the later drivers won't plague me until, hopefully, they release a proper driver:

1) Fix the damn behavior where pulling the pen out of the hot zone acts like a click (?).

2) The hot zone is way too high. I'm seeing almost an inch of air between the nib and the tablet, and it's reading the position/tilt. This creates for some really clumsy behavior when moving my stylus hand to the keyboard.

3) Allow disabling of not just the Eraser's function, but it's cursor movement.

4) The touch/gestures still need some finesse to be useable. I've kept it off the whole time I've had it. Only using the scroll wheel periodically for browsing.
__________________
I'm a gun for hire... My work & gallery.
 
Old 04-13-2013, 12:16 AM   #12
cmyk
Wielder of Untold Evil.
 
cmyk's Avatar
portfolio
Kevin Capizzi
Self-Employed (former Creative Director)
Kevin Capizzi CGI, LLC
USA
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 472
Send a message via AIM to cmyk
Quote:
Originally Posted by nlite10
...I've gotten good with the stylus freeze/left-hand crossover to the number pad.


HA! I've been doing this so long now, it's actually habitual.
__________________
I'm a gun for hire... My work & gallery.
 
Old 04-13-2013, 10:51 AM   #13
chi
Modernism at my brains
 
chi's Avatar
portfolio
Patrick Goski
Community Ambassador (North America)
MAXON Computer Inc.
Montreal, Canada
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 1,750
Send a message via MSN to chi
We had some presenters experiencing issues with this on the presentation station at NAB.
Turned out that the double-click distance had somehow been set to the max, which made it incredibly easy to accidentally dbl-click.

Anyway, I'm not a mac user, but this issue sounds really close to what I was seeing on the presentation station.

Changing the double-click distance fixed it in that instance.

Might not help, but might help. We were using the wacom driver from march 18
__________________
The views expressed in this post are by no means the opinion of those making the post or of any one person in particular.
 
Old 04-18-2013, 03:29 PM   #14
cmyk
Wielder of Untold Evil.
 
cmyk's Avatar
portfolio
Kevin Capizzi
Self-Employed (former Creative Director)
Kevin Capizzi CGI, LLC
USA
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 472
Send a message via AIM to cmyk
Quote:
Originally Posted by chi
We had some presenters experiencing issues with this on the presentation station at NAB.
Turned out that the double-click distance had somehow been set to the max, which made it incredibly easy to accidentally dbl-click.

Anyway, I'm not a mac user, but this issue sounds really close to what I was seeing on the presentation station.

Changing the double-click distance fixed it in that instance.

Might not help, but might help. We were using the wacom driver from march 18


Yeh, I've messed with all those settings, and permutations for hours.

As far as I can tell, the behavior seems that when you use the stylus to tap (single left click, unchangeable under the driver prefs) in any text/number field, then when you move your stylus hand to use the keyboard, it registers the "exiting" of the stylus from the hover-zone as another click. It'll even follow the movement of the pen, and activate a particular pallet or even another field (if not just deselecting it outright).

So, something screwy on Wacom or Maxon's end.

I ultimately had to switch back to the current driver. As the older one didn't seem to have this bug, it had a few others that made the tablet quit working, making the pref pane for the driver blind to the device, and laggy, unpredictable behavior in photoshop.

Back to awkward left-hand typing while keeping the pen on the tablet...

*sigh*
__________________
I'm a gun for hire... My work & gallery.
 
Old 05-03-2013, 08:11 PM   #15
jaypeeare
Veteran
portfolio
Ryan Somerville
USA
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 43
Thank god other people were having this problem too, not that I don't want people to have to problem as well but it was just driving me mad! I didn't want to inherit a left hand habit to avoid this problem.

Thanks all that helped figure this really annoying and unnecessary already fixed problem that wasn't even an issue in the first place! That didn't make much sense but you get the picture.
 
Thread Closed share thread


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
CGSociety
Society of Digital Artists
www.cgsociety.org

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2006,
Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Minimize Ads
Forum Jump
Miscellaneous

All times are GMT. The time now is 08:08 PM.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.