CGTalk > Software > Maxon Cinema 4D
Login register
Thread Closed share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-31-2012, 05:09 PM   #61
Schnupps
Frequenter
 
Schnupps's Avatar
portfolio
Christian Schnapp
3d Artist
Fractality
Cologne, Germany
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 209
Hi Paul, the new Smart Multipass looks nice :-)

There is a bug in the Shader List though:
-When putting a new shader into a new one, (like you´ve got a bitmap, and put this into a filter shader) the new top shader (filter in example) can not be properly selected until you reload the scene.
Same seems to happen sometimes if you drag and drop from Smart List. The new ones can´t be selected in the Shader List.

-For Vray Mats, there is no sign of the channel the shader is in, possible to add this? Right now it´s always guesswork, since the shader list order just puts new ones to the top.

Nice to hear about the future shift drag&drop integration ;-)

Last edited by Schnupps : 10-31-2012 at 05:19 PM.
 
Old 10-31-2012, 05:24 PM   #62
tapaul
Developer
 
tapaul's Avatar
portfolio
Paul Everett
Developer
Beverungen, Germany
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 1,154
>-When putting a new shader into a new one, (like you´ve got a bitmap, and put this into a filter shader) the new top shader (filter in example) can not be properly selected until you reload the scene.

already fixed 1.51

>For Vray Mats, there is no sign of the channel the shader is in, possible to add this? Right now it´s always guesswork, since the shader list order just puts new ones to the top.

can you sen dme a screenshot?
vray is just one noe with a tonne of links in it , it does not have channels. It has at best groups.Which I was planning to support.



cheers

Paul Everett
Tools4D.com
 
Old 10-31-2012, 05:43 PM   #63
Schnupps
Frequenter
 
Schnupps's Avatar
portfolio
Christian Schnapp
3d Artist
Fractality
Cologne, Germany
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 209
Not sure, what kind of screenshot you´ve got in mind.
I´m talking about, that there´s no way to see in Shader List, whether the Shader is in Diffuse
Layer, Specular Layer1,2,3...

Of course in Vray Advanced Mat there are several "Channels" in only one Specular Layer "Channel". Don´t know how to support this, other than with custom names (Specular Layer 2 - Refelection Glossiness).

But to see the overall channel, like on the left side in material editor (that you meant by groups?) would be sufficient I guess.

Thx for the 1.51 fix :-)
 
Old 10-31-2012, 06:07 PM   #64
tapaul
Developer
 
tapaul's Avatar
portfolio
Paul Everett
Developer
Beverungen, Germany
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 1,154
a vray material should show all the shaders inside it. The links should all show. But not sorted into anykind of special channels, as it wont have any real channels. its just groups in the the dialog layout.

If you need to expain further , please pm me or post on my forum, as this is not really a support forum.

regards
Paul Everett
www.Tools4D.com
 
Old 11-01-2012, 03:47 PM   #65
HolgerBiebrach
@Holgerbiebrach
 
HolgerBiebrach's Avatar
portfolio
Holger Biebrach
Animator, TD
Freelancer
Hamburg, Germany
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 1,139
I have just uploaded a new Demo-Video on the new Multipass-Shader:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XDLqv9lgI0Y
__________________
____
Cinema 4D Studio MSA, Zbrush, CS6, 3DCoat, Moi
Twitter: @holgerbiebrach
www.c4dStuff.com

HB_ModellingBundle
 
Old 11-01-2012, 05:51 PM   #66
Rich-Art
The Big Bang
 
Rich-Art's Avatar
René Rijk
Netherlands
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 1,963
Cool thanks Holger... Will check it asap....

Peace,
Rich_Art.
__________________
Retired Cinema4D Guru


 
Old 11-01-2012, 08:32 PM   #67
joshfilms
Lord of the posts
portfolio
Josh Johnson
USA
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 951
Just purchased! Brillant work, Paul. Sent you an email too.

Cheers,
Josh
__________________
My Reel
VFXdaily
 
Old 11-02-2012, 10:01 AM   #68
bonsak
Frequenter
 
bonsak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 119
The new multipass shader is just fabulous! Thanks a lot.
One tiny thing that would be great was if there was an extra column in the Smart Shader List with the names of the buffers the different materials was assigned to.

Ive been trying to figure out if its possible to use several Smart multipass shaders (set up for different buffers) in the same material layer stack. Say you have three noise shaders on top of each other in a layer shader, and you wanted to render a matte for each shader layer. I cant seem to get my head around this one

Would be great if it was possible to delete buffers inside shaders not just add. This would save some trips to the Render Settings box when you accidentally make mattes you don't want.

Anyway. Thanks again!

Cheers
Bonsak
__________________
Latest STUDIO version | Mac Pro 2x2.6 16GB | OSX 10.8
http://www.racecar.no

 
Old 11-02-2012, 10:18 AM   #69
tapaul
Developer
 
tapaul's Avatar
portfolio
Paul Everett
Developer
Beverungen, Germany
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 1,154
>Ive been trying to figure out if its possible to use several Smart multipass shaders (set up for different buffers) in the same material layer stack.

yes, you can. you can use as many as you want, in any combination. The rule of thumb is, if the shader gets rendered, so will the buffer.

>Would be great if it was possible to delete buffers inside shaders not just add. This would save some trips to the Render Settings box when you accidentally make mattes you don't want.

yes, I can add this. It will be RMB -> Remove entry.

regards
Paul Everett
Tools4D.com
 
Old 11-04-2012, 09:53 AM   #70
Rich-Art
The Big Bang
 
Rich-Art's Avatar
René Rijk
Netherlands
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 1,963
Just had some time to play with this plugin. This is a no brainer.!!!
Really great Paul. Thanks for this Gem...

Peace,
Rich_Art.
__________________
Retired Cinema4D Guru


 
Old 11-04-2012, 09:57 AM   #71
tapaul
Developer
 
tapaul's Avatar
portfolio
Paul Everett
Developer
Beverungen, Germany
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 1,154
Smart Shaders* has been updated to version 1.53 and is available immediatley.

existing users can just grab it from their dropbox.

I have expanded Smart Multipass* a lot, adding custom infinate RGB layers, freeing the user from the restriction of fixed multipass layers and I have began extending what can be written into each layer.



-------- changelist (1.53)---------
1.53
Smart Multipass - Added settings to invert output.
Smart Multipass - Dialog Shuffle
Smart Multipass - Added Shadow Catching Draw mode
Smart Multipass - Added Premultiplied RGB Draw mode

1.52
Smart Multipass - Added Custom RGB multipass layers to the multipass shader. So now, just like with matte buffers, you can add as many RGB buffers as you want.and you are no longer dependent on the existing color buffer types(you can stll use them though if you want)
Smart Multipass shader - Added RMB , remove entry , to delete a multipass layer.
Smart Multipass shader - added Alpha mode as channel output. eg.if you have a bitmap that has an alpha channel, you can render this alpha to matte, and send color to RGB.
Smart Multipass shader - existing c4d multipass layer access removed. There is no need for this anymore as I have added unlimited Custom RGB channels.
Smart Multipass shader - fixed the typo in the shader name


1.51
adding a material shader, such as banji would not refresh the smart list.
Fixed a linkage problem after using 'paste as link'. .parent and channel where not set, so the link could easily break.
Fixed a crash bug with vray bridge. it was dropping the shader on the videopost list.(which is in itself an interesting idea "shader as post effect") but was crashing vray.


1.50
added amart multipass shader
added smart multipass buffer naming
loads of bugfixes


----------------------

*Smart Multipass is included with the Smart Shader package.

regards
Paul Everett
www.Tools4D.com
 
Old 11-04-2012, 10:33 AM   #72
TBA3D
PRO
portfolio
Thomas Belitzki
Hamburg, Germany
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 144
Thanks for update!
This is a really intelligent cinema4D enhancement and a great "timeserver".
A "must have" for everyone used C4D.

Great work, Paul
 
Old 11-04-2012, 10:44 AM   #73
Rich-Art
The Big Bang
 
Rich-Art's Avatar
René Rijk
Netherlands
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 1,963
Paul did you noticed my PM??

Peace,
Rich_Art.
__________________
Retired Cinema4D Guru


 
Old 11-22-2012, 04:44 AM   #74
tapaul
Developer
 
tapaul's Avatar
portfolio
Paul Everett
Developer
Beverungen, Germany
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 1,154
service update to v1.55

Smart shaders has been updated again to version 1.55

This is an important service update and existing users should grab it immediatly from their dropbox.

----------------------------------------------------------------
v1.55
Smart List - improved support for non standard materials (such a vray) The parent group name is used as a channel name.
Smart List - fixed a bug, preventing the list from showing broken bitmap links marked red..
Smart Multipass - Result. allows you to return what would normally go into a multipass , as the shader result.
Smart Multipass - fixed a nasty bug that was deleting c4d multipass layers , like shadow or diffusion.


v1.53
Smart Multipass - Added settings to invert output.
Smart Multipass - Dialog Shuffle
Smart Multipass - Added Shadow Catching Draw mode
Smart Multipass - Added Premultiplied RGB Draw mode

v1.52
Smart Multipass - Added Custom RGB multipass layers to the multipass shader. So now, just like with matte buffers, you can add as many RGB buffers as you want.and you are no longer dependent on the existing color buffer types(you can stll use them though if you want)
Smart Multipass shader - Added RMB , remove entry , to delete a multipass layer.
Smart Multipass shader - added Alpha mode as channel output. eg.if you have a bitmap that has an alpha channel, you can render this alpha to matte, and send color to RGB.
Smart Multipass shader - existing c4d multipass layer access removed. There is no need for this anymore as I have added unlimited Custom RGB channels.
Smart Multipass shader - fixed the typo in the shader name


v1.51
adding a material shader, such as banji would not refresh the smart list.
Fixed a linkage problem after using 'paste as link'. .parent and channel where not set, so the link could easily break.
Fixed a crash bug with vray bridge. it was dropping the shader on the videopost list.(which is in itself an interesting idea "shader as post effect") but was crashing vray.


v1.50
added smart multipass shader
added smart multipass buffer naming
loads of bugfixes


www.Tools4D.com
 
Old 11-22-2012, 10:18 AM   #75
Rich-Art
The Big Bang
 
Rich-Art's Avatar
René Rijk
Netherlands
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 1,963
Thanks Paul...


Peace,
Rich_Art.
__________________
Retired Cinema4D Guru


 
Thread Closed share thread


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
CGSociety
Society of Digital Artists
www.cgsociety.org

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2006,
Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Minimize Ads
Forum Jump
Miscellaneous

All times are GMT. The time now is 10:17 AM.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.