CGTalk > Software Specific Forums > Maxon Cinema 4D
Login register
Thread Closed share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »  
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-27-2012, 01:51 PM   #1
ChrisCousins
Lance for Hire
 
ChrisCousins's Avatar
portfolio
Chris Cousins
Lance For Hire
Brighton, United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 1,493
Lines pointing to all clones

Hi - I'm sure there's a simple way of doing this, but my brain is on strike for some reason - anyone able to help?

I'm looking to draw splines from a discrete null to the positions of a Matrix object. The Matrix is animated, effectors etc, and I want to keep the lines attached to the clones at all times.

Closest I've come is UberTracer, but it seems to create multiple lines per link, a little offset, which aren't going to work here as the lines need to stay very clean.

Lennart's very cool pConnector also seems to fall over, it can draw a chain through the clones easily enough but not pointers to them.

My last guess is making a mirrored cloner, with linear splines in there and using xpresso to iterate through both cloners to get the relevant positions... but I can't get access to the point data of the splines inside the cloner.

Number of clones is changing... but it doesn't have to if this is going to cause complications!



Cheers! Chris
__________________
ProSite | Behance | Twitter
- - - - - -
Freelancer using Cinema4D? Sign up to the freelance directory: C4DFreelancers.com
 
Old 09-27-2012, 02:00 PM   #2
AAAron
Lord of the posts
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 955
But dosenīt Lennarts pBuilder in step mode let you do this
Attached Files
File Type: zip pbuilder.c4d.zip (73.3 KB, 21 views)
 
Old 09-27-2012, 02:06 PM   #3
ChrisCousins
Lance for Hire
 
ChrisCousins's Avatar
portfolio
Chris Cousins
Lance For Hire
Brighton, United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 1,493
Ah, Step mode is what I missed. Thanks Aaron, saving my screen from any more head-shaped indentations
__________________
ProSite | Behance | Twitter
- - - - - -
Freelancer using Cinema4D? Sign up to the freelance directory: C4DFreelancers.com
 
Old 09-27-2012, 02:09 PM   #4
AAAron
Lord of the posts
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 955
I did something with the pBuilder yesterday so I had itīs settings fresh in my mind.

Best// Aron
 
Old 09-27-2012, 03:09 PM   #5
typografschaft
Know-it-All
portfolio
Yader
Art Director, Motion Designer
Berlin, Germany
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 374
I was just about to post a xpresso solution with MoSplines rotated
towards matrices and the distance altering the MoSplines lengths,
but Lennart's plugin is way better suited for this task than xpresso,
given you have thousands of matrices.
 
Old 09-27-2012, 03:24 PM   #6
ChrisCousins
Lance for Hire
 
ChrisCousins's Avatar
portfolio
Chris Cousins
Lance For Hire
Brighton, United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 1,493
Thanks Yader, I'm sure that would have also done the job, but you're right, working out all the rotations every frame would have been a bigger overhead than the pConnector way.

But I'm starting to really like MoSplines, they're much more versatile than I first thought!
__________________
ProSite | Behance | Twitter
- - - - - -
Freelancer using Cinema4D? Sign up to the freelance directory: C4DFreelancers.com
 
Old 09-28-2012, 08:01 PM   #7
tcastudios
Steady now!
 
tcastudios's Avatar
...
Sweden
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 4,245
I'm happy the helpdesk is working

Reminder, if anyone have anything done with it please show!
Offering free tools sometimes feels like throwing things into a big black hole

Cheers
Lennart
__________________
MSA | OSX | xfiles ...Cinema4D Tools
 
Old 09-29-2012, 12:02 AM   #8
ChrisCousins
Lance for Hire
 
ChrisCousins's Avatar
portfolio
Chris Cousins
Lance For Hire
Brighton, United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 1,493
Quote:
Originally Posted by tcastudios
Reminder, if anyone have anything done with it please show!
Offering free tools sometimes feels like throwing things into a big black hole


Will do! It's a very grateful black hole, if that's any consolation
__________________
ProSite | Behance | Twitter
- - - - - -
Freelancer using Cinema4D? Sign up to the freelance directory: C4DFreelancers.com
 
Old 09-29-2012, 12:02 AM   #9
CGTalk Moderation
Lord of the posts
CGTalk Forum Leader
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 1,066,481
Thread automatically closed

This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.
__________________
CGTalk Policy/Legalities
Note that as CGTalk Members, you agree to the terms and conditions of using this website.
 
Thread Closed share thread


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
CGSociety
Society of Digital Artists
www.cgsociety.org

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright Đ2000 - 2006,
Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Minimize Ads
Forum Jump
Miscellaneous

All times are GMT. The time now is 02:07 AM.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.