CGTalk > Software Specific Forums > Maxon Cinema 4D
Login register
Thread Closed share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-24-2012, 08:18 AM   #1
MAN0
Expert
manuel mark hofmann
nuremberg, Germany
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 587
r14 viewport speed

hi there,
ive noticed a big viewport difference in r14. i get a lot less fps in r14 and in big scenes this aint fun. same scene in r13 is butter smooth and in r14 i got lags when rotating/zooming. redraw is also slower.

i tried 3 different gfx driver already (the latest included). program ogl settings are same as r13.

can you confirm this or have any idea how to fix this?

thanks in advance,

manu
 
Old 09-24-2012, 01:35 PM   #2
brasco
Polygone
 
brasco's Avatar
portfolio
Jon Bosley
United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 1,731
Hi, I haven't noticed a difference here, I did have a major problem when Sculpting, with snapping left on, the viewport just ground to a halt, so could be that?

cheers
brasc
__________________
brasco on vimeo
 
Old 09-24-2012, 08:06 PM   #3
MAN0
Expert
manuel mark hofmann
nuremberg, Germany
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 587
nah,same slowdowns with snapping off
 
Old 09-24-2012, 08:39 PM   #4
PhoenixCG
Pixol Pusher
portfolio
Tappan Peterson
USA
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 704
Are you using an ATI GPU?
 
Old 09-24-2012, 08:51 PM   #5
MAN0
Expert
manuel mark hofmann
nuremberg, Germany
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 587
yes...tried several drivers
 
Old 09-24-2012, 10:10 PM   #6
PhoenixCG
Pixol Pusher
portfolio
Tappan Peterson
USA
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 704
ATI cards seem to have problems with r14.
 
Old 09-24-2012, 10:17 PM   #7
rustEdge
that guy
 
rustEdge's Avatar
portfolio
Gene Carlo Magtoto
Digital Designer, Cinema4D TD & Animator
freelance
Vancouver, Canada
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 345
Send a message via Yahoo to rustEdge
By chance, do you have shadow-casting lights in your scene, and they're visible in the viewport?

I've got an NVidia GPU, but they've really killed the viewport redraw speed in exchange for good-looking shadows...
__________________
Do what you want to do, not what you think you want to do.
| ToothedWheel V2 plugin for C4D |UberTracer plugin for C4D |
 
Old 09-24-2012, 11:23 PM   #8
MAN0
Expert
manuel mark hofmann
nuremberg, Germany
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 587
no, no light. please try yourself eg. create mograph cloner with cloning a simple cube 20 x 20 x 20 cubes and compare r13 to r14. also scenes without any generator but mutch objects...just try same scene and tell me your result. r13 viewport performance was bad bad r14 tops it
 
Old 09-25-2012, 12:00 AM   #9
ChrisCousins
Lance for Hire
 
ChrisCousins's Avatar
portfolio
Chris Cousins
Lance For Hire
Brighton, United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 1,493
Yes, I'm getting the same result in this situation, R14 grinds to a halt with the 20x20x20 grid of cubes, whereas R13 manages it better. Oddly, if I turn OpenGL off altogether for this scene, the editor speed becomes pretty OK (for this scene) - although that's not practical all the time of course.

Disabling 'Object Highlighting' (I turn this off anyway) also seems to help... a bit.
__________________
ProSite | Behance | Twitter
- - - - - -
Freelancer using Cinema4D? Sign up to the freelance directory: C4DFreelancers.com
 
Old 09-25-2012, 12:04 AM   #10
PhoenixCG
Pixol Pusher
portfolio
Tappan Peterson
USA
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 704
R14 is a tiny bit slower on my laptop with an nVidia GTX 460m, so it's not just an ATI thing I guess. Try going into the options drop down in your view port and turn down the level of detail a little, it defaults to high in both 13 and 14.
 
Old 09-25-2012, 02:37 AM   #11
realmoe
PRO
student
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 67
Send a message via ICQ to realmoe
hi, you could try to turn of the selection outline in viewport preferences (hope this is how itīs called in english) for me this slowed down the scene in a very big way. itīs only for the perspective viewport preferences. maybe this helps! after deactivation this function everything is as fast as in r13.
on the contrary it feels quicker for me if you got a big scene and disable many objects from visibility. in r13 i had the feeling that it doesnīt help too much in r14 i do so!

jens
 
Old 09-25-2012, 02:49 AM   #12
Horganovski
Freelance Animator/Rigger
 
Horganovski's Avatar
portfolio
Brian Horgan
Graphite9
Dublin, Ireland
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 4,831
Quote:
Originally Posted by realmoe
it feels quicker for me if you got a big scene and disable many objects from visibility. in r13 i had the feeling that it doesnīt help too much in r14 i do so!


Off topic, but just FYI, switching off visibility will speed things up a little, but it doesn't stop things like generators, deformers etc from calculating so often the best way is to add them to a layer and use the expressions/deformers etc switches to turn them off there.

Cheers,
Brian
 
Old 09-25-2012, 03:07 AM   #13
rustEdge
that guy
 
rustEdge's Avatar
portfolio
Gene Carlo Magtoto
Digital Designer, Cinema4D TD & Animator
freelance
Vancouver, Canada
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 345
Send a message via Yahoo to rustEdge
Currently I only have the R14 Demo, still waiting for the R14 box to come in.

At least for me, R14 looks like it performs a bit better GPU-wise, though it's often slower with CPU-reliant scenes (higher object counts, etc).
My machine's a first-gen ASUS G74-SX, 2GB GTX 560M.

OGL: on, Viewport Shadows: off, Goraud Shading: on, View Clipping: 1cm-100,000cm, same camera distance, 4 omni lights in-scene, no objects highlighted, rotating scene from world center and using Calculate FPS tool:
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Mograph Cloner, 20 x 20 x 20 cubes:
R13: 5.8 fps, R14: 4.7 fps

Mograph Cloner, 20 x 20 x 20 cubes, Render Instances checked:
R13: 7.4 fps, R14: 9.7 fps

Cloners made editable, total 8,000 separate cubes:
R13: 5.9 fps, R14: 4.6 fps
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
MoGraph Cloner, 10 x 10 x 10 cubes:
R13: 39.9 fps, R14: 29.0 fps

MoGraph Cloner, 10 x 10 x 10 cubes, Render Instances checked:
R13: 50.6 fps, R14: 58.7 fps

Cloners made editable, total 1000 separate cubes:
R13: 37.4 fps, R14: 26.5 fps
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Overall it seems like R14 does run slower for mograph stuff. Anybody have time to try out other scenes? character/expression-heavy scenes, deformer-heavy scenes, etc?
__________________
Do what you want to do, not what you think you want to do.
| ToothedWheel V2 plugin for C4D |UberTracer plugin for C4D |
 
Old 09-25-2012, 08:00 AM   #14
MAN0
Expert
manuel mark hofmann
nuremberg, Germany
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 587
i was aware of disabling selection outline would help and it does indeed
 
Old 09-25-2012, 08:39 AM   #15
SteveB
Deja-vu all over again
 
SteveB's Avatar
portfolio
Steve Bass
Exhibition Design
Manchester, United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 310
I get some slow down with some of the new snap settings.

Turning off the object highlighting as mentioned helps - plus that thing burns your eyes anyway when your working late!!
__________________
www.3dvisuals.net
 
Thread Closed share thread


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
CGSociety
Society of Digital Artists
www.cgsociety.org

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright Đ2000 - 2006,
Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Minimize Ads
Forum Jump
Miscellaneous

All times are GMT. The time now is 05:53 PM.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.