CGTalk > Software > Maxon Cinema 4D
Login register
Thread Closed share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »  
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-20-2012, 09:33 AM   #1
sandidolsak
Expert
 
sandidolsak's Avatar
portfolio
Sandi Dolšak
CEO / TD
Ratata studio
Ljubljana, Slovenia
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 434
Hair Dynamics

Hello, need some advanced hair help..

setup = hair on a car model, on it I have baked white gradient that drives the hair materials length, so the result is that it looks like the hair gradually grows on the car..

now I have to blow this hair off the car, and this I control with animating "Rest Hold" to 0%, hair blows off, all fine

now the problem, to get the blow off part working I have to unroot the hairs and unrooting the hair causes the material to ignore the animated map I am using to "grow" them, makes sence since they loose the connection to the car / map...

so I decided to simply have 2 different hair objects (one with rooted hair and one unrooted) that I would simply swich visibility after the hair fully grows...

the problem with this becomes that the hair dynamics (same settings) behaves different on rooted and unrooted, so when I switch them, hair looks totaly different...

now I am wondering if its possible to do this without haveing 2 Hair objects, or maybe find a way to get the dynamics to behave the same for both Hair objects (atleast till the point of switching)...



any insight most welcome, thanks
__________________
Twitter | Ratata
 
Old 09-20-2012, 10:53 AM   #2
fuat
Expert
 
fuat's Avatar
Fuat Yüksel
FX TD
Trixter
Munich, Germany
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 620
maybe try the "set as dynamics"-function. this will set the current hair dynamic state as the rest state.
i can´t tell if this will solve your problem with the growth map, but maybe you can use the rest state as the transition point of time to your unrooted state.
didnt try, just a thought.
good luck
fuat

Last edited by fuat : 09-20-2012 at 11:03 AM.
 
Old 09-20-2012, 11:24 AM   #3
dataflow
Expert
 
dataflow's Avatar
portfolio
james hooten
digital media
TAFE
Sydney, Australia
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 1,065
have you tried caching the hair on the first object then save the cache and load it on the second?
__________________
Dataflow Donation Cinema 4D Beta Tester
 
Old 09-20-2012, 11:55 AM   #4
sandidolsak
Expert
 
sandidolsak's Avatar
portfolio
Sandi Dolšak
CEO / TD
Ratata studio
Ljubljana, Slovenia
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 434
thanks for the ideas, will try that set as dynamics

using cache of unrooted and moving it to rooted ones works for orientation of hairs only, not the translaton, so they don't break off
__________________
Twitter | Ratata
 
Old 09-20-2012, 11:55 AM   #5
CGTalk Moderation
Lord of the posts
CGTalk Forum Leader
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 1,066,481
Thread automatically closed

This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.
__________________
CGTalk Policy/Legalities
Note that as CGTalk Members, you agree to the terms and conditions of using this website.
 
Thread Closed share thread


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
CGSociety
Society of Digital Artists
www.cgsociety.org

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2006,
Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Minimize Ads
Forum Jump
Miscellaneous

All times are GMT. The time now is 04:53 PM.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.