CGTalk > Software > Maxon Cinema 4D
Login register
Thread Closed share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-21-2012, 05:22 PM   #16
fxgogo
Your Average Eccentric
 
fxgogo's Avatar
portfolio
Gareth Qually
Motion Graphics Designer
South Africa
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 1,203
Quote:
Originally Posted by Walli
one thing that I haven´t seen mentioned here: if you build the machines now and add heavy GPU in hope for GPU rendering to show up in a year or so....in a year this hardware will be old again. And in the meantime you probably would not make use of th expensive hardware.
So just keep in mind, that later on you can add good gpu without to much hassle.


Very true Walli. I am also going to look into After Effects network rendering and see if they currently use the GPU, otherwise it might make sense to do that. The only issue I have is in bigger type companies where policy and procedure are more important than common sense, I might only have one opportunity for a while to get the capex for the render farm.
__________________
Gareth Qually
Slowly Making Smoke

www.slowlymakingsmoke.com
 
Old 09-21-2012, 05:24 PM   #17
fxgogo
Your Average Eccentric
 
fxgogo's Avatar
portfolio
Gareth Qually
Motion Graphics Designer
South Africa
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 1,203
Quote:
Originally Posted by druller
There is something in the middle between local render farm and remote render services like Rebus: you can build your own render farm in Amazon EC2 - no need to buy a hardware, pay-per-use, you can customize it for plugins, render engines etc.


Hadn't thought of that, gonna look into that one thanks.
__________________
Gareth Qually
Slowly Making Smoke

www.slowlymakingsmoke.com
 
Old 09-21-2012, 11:49 PM   #18
druller
Veteran
portfolio
Andrey Kodencev
Russia
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 38
Quote:
Originally Posted by fxgogo
Hadn't thought of that, gonna look into that one thanks.


You can start from here , but there is some features that should be taken into account for C4D NET Render.
 
Old 09-21-2012, 11:49 PM   #19
CGTalk Moderation
Lord of the posts
CGTalk Forum Leader
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 1,066,481
Thread automatically closed

This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.
__________________
CGTalk Policy/Legalities
Note that as CGTalk Members, you agree to the terms and conditions of using this website.
 
Thread Closed share thread


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
CGSociety
Society of Digital Artists
www.cgsociety.org

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2006,
Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Minimize Ads
Forum Jump
Miscellaneous

All times are GMT. The time now is 05:08 PM.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.