General Rambling: Bizarre C4D Dialog

Become a member of the CGSociety

Connect, Share, and Learn with our Large Growing CG Art Community. It's Free!

THREAD CLOSED
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  09 September 2012
General Rambling: Bizarre C4D Dialog

Has anyone been caught off guard by the dialog that comes up when you try to open a file that's already open?

The message I'd expect in such a scenario would be: "This file is already open: a) Switch to it. b) Open a Copy.

Instead, we get this weirdness:
Do you want to open it with the same name and title? Yes, No, Cancel...

Honestly, who came up with this dialog? Does clicking 'Yes' open the same file? No, it doesn't. It opens a copy with the same name! So what happens when you save? Does it overwrite the same file? Yes it does!! So you have 2 versions of the same file with the same name open! If you accidentally load the older file (you know, because it has the exact same name) and save over that, it will overwrite all your changes! When is this situation possibly desirable?


Ok, so clicking 'Yes' opens a copy. That must mean the other buttons do something else. Nope. Clicking 'No' also opens a copy! Just with a different name. Really, who did come up with this interface?

Also, what exactly is the difference between a "name" and a "title"? They both sound like the same thing. Does clicking 'No' mean open with the same name but different title? Or vice-versa?

It's just chaos.


Fortunately 'Cancel' does exactly what it should do - cancel the madness with NO changes to anything.


Ok, I'm done.

Last edited by eikonoklastes : 09 September 2012 at 06:23 PM.
 
  09 September 2012
Hahahaha! I've had those same thoughts for years now.

I always hit cancel because the other two choices leave me uncomfortable.
 
  09 September 2012
Originally Posted by eikonoklastes: Has anyone been caught off guard by the dialog that comes up when you try to open a file that's already open?

The message I'd expect in such a scenario would be: "This file is already open: a) Switch to it. b) Open a Copy.

Instead, we get this weirdness:
Do you want to open it with the same name and title? Yes, No, Cancel...

Honestly, who came up with this dialog? Does clicking 'Yes' open the same file? No, it doesn't. It opens a copy with the same name! So what happens when you save? Does it overwrite the same file? Yes it does!! So you have 2 versions of the same file with the same name open! If you accidentally load the older file (you know, because it has the exact same name) and save over that, it will overwrite all your changes! When is this situation possibly desirable?


Ok, so clicking 'Yes' opens a copy. That must mean the other buttons do something else. Nope. Clicking 'No' also opens a copy! Just with a different name. Really, who did come up with this interface?

Also, what exactly is the difference between a "name" and a "title"? They both sound like the same thing. Does clicking 'No' mean open with the same name but different title? Or vice-versa?

It just chaos.


Fortunately 'Cancel' does exactly what it should do - cancel the madness with NO changes to anything.


Ok, I'm done.


Name and title is redundantly redundant if you ask me, but outside of that the question makes sense.

do you want to open with the same name?
Yes - Open a second instance of the file with the exact same name (why you'd want it, I agree, don't see a reason for it)
No - Open file without the same name I don't have C4D in front of me but I believe it renames it untitled #
Cancel - I don't need to open this file

i agree that a switch to already open file would be useful.
__________________
Quote: "Until you do what you believe in, how do you know whether you believe in it or not?" -Leo Tolstoy
Kai Pedersen
 
  09 September 2012
Aye, it would've been great if they didn't use the stock Yes/No/Cancel text. At least with the XRef dialog box there's extra notes with what Yes and No will do.

They could fix it a bit, like buttons labeled "same name" "different name" instead of yes/no. At least the words are short enough to fit in buttons.

When I see that 'file is already open' dialog I just instinctively spam Esc on my keyboard and look for the open file. I'd rather spend more time manually checking than accidentally overwriting something important.
__________________
Do what you want to do, not what you think you want to do.
| ToothedWheel V2 plugin for C4D |UberTracer plugin for C4D |
 
  09 September 2012
Thread automatically closed

This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.
__________________
CGTalk Policy/Legalities
Note that as CGTalk Members, you agree to the terms and conditions of using this website.
 
Thread Closed share thread



Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
CGSociety
Society of Digital Artists
www.cgsociety.org

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright 2000 - 2006,
Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Minimize Ads
Forum Jump
Miscellaneous

All times are GMT. The time now is 08:41 AM.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.