CGTalk > Software > Maxon Cinema 4D
Login register
Thread Closed share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-17-2012, 08:41 AM   #16
Zendorf
synapse farmer
portfolio
James Redmond
Sydney, Australia
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 880
Quote:
Originally Posted by theglenster
QMC+RMs will work fine with object animation too.
basicly, indirect illumination is an optermised QMC that works well outdoor scenes, and QMC RMs work well with interior scenes, both make flicker free cam and object animations.


Ok, thanks this is good to know. What I am finding intriguing is that from simple interior object animation tests I have done, is how well IR(still image) is working. The combination of physical render/IR(still image) and RM is surprisingly flicker free.

The animated scene I have setup like this renders in a quarter of the time compared to phys/QMC/RM and I really can't see much difference. If I change it to standard renderer with IR(still image)/RM it is a flickery mess. Not quite sure why this is working so well, since the physical render is not calculating any QMC, but it is very promising!

From reading the documentation, it states that if you are using area lights with RM that you can get 2 bounces otherwise you are stuck with one. I have used area lights but changing the diffuse depth from 1 to 2 makes no difference and it still looks like 1 bounce. What am I missing here ?
 
Old 08-17-2012, 11:45 AM   #17
Decade
Expert
 
Decade's Avatar
Graeme McDougall
London, GB
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 746
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zendorf
From reading the documentation, it states that if you are using area lights with RM that you can get 2 bounces otherwise you are stuck with one. I have used area lights but changing the diffuse depth from 1 to 2 makes no difference and it still looks like 1 bounce. What am I missing here ?


Further to this, if I'm using RMs with my QMC, should I just turn the diffuse depth on the QMC down to 1 ?
Is it being wasted if the RMs are only working to a diffuse depth of 1, or do both settings have a seperate effect ?
Finally, does diffuse depth 1 still provide 1 bouce off the initial object or none ?

Your other observations are interesting Zendorf, I will have to experiment further.
__________________
Cinema 4D R17 Studio, VRAYforC4D, Z Brush, Mudbox, Photoshop CS6.
 
Old 08-17-2012, 12:28 PM   #18
ThirdEye
PinealGlandOptics
 
ThirdEye's Avatar
CGSociety Member
Alberto Blasi
Architect & Graphic Designer
Milan, Italy
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 10,241

Using a dd of more than 2 with rm is basically useless, it has no effect whatsoever. The indirect illumination in the physical tab can be forgotten afaik, it's just there for legacy. All I use is qmc+rm now, if I need more light I increase the gamma, use the physical camera exposure or/and use light cards on windows for interiors.
 
Old 08-17-2012, 01:47 PM   #19
druller
Veteran
portfolio
Andrey Kodencev
Russia
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 38
Quote:
Originally Posted by ThirdEye
if I need more light I increase the gamma, use the physical camera exposure or/and use light cards on windows for interiors.


Another way to compensate diffuse depth reduction when using RM, as far as I tested, is to increase GI Primary Intensity (about 150-170% or more) without increasing the gamma. In some scenes it gives better results, than increasing the gamma.

Last edited by druller : 08-17-2012 at 02:23 PM.
 
Old 08-17-2012, 02:00 PM   #20
theglenster
Maxon C4D
 
theglenster's Avatar
portfolio
Glen Johnson
3D Content Creator
MAXON Computer GmbH
Friedrichsdorf, Germany
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 342
Quote:
Originally Posted by druller
Another way to compensate diffuse depth reduction when using RM, as far as I tested, is to increase GI Primary Intensity (about 150-170% or more) without increasing the gamma. In some scenes it gives better results, then increasing the gamma.


GI Area lights, GI portals and colour mapping a some more ways to bring more light into your scenes.
__________________
www.glenjohnson.de



 
Old 09-20-2012, 09:55 AM   #21
wump
FarmerWadams
 
wump's Avatar
portfolio
Will Adams
Director / Animator
Once Were Farmers Ltd
Glasgow, United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 7
Send a message via Yahoo to wump
Sky Sampler

I'm struggling to recreate the speed and look of the r13 sky sampler which was great for flicker free animation with fast render times.

Any pointers as how to recreate the sky sampler on it's own?
__________________
-- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- --
http://www.oncewerefarmers.com
-- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- --
 
Old 09-20-2012, 09:55 AM   #22
CGTalk Moderation
Expert
CGTalk Forum Leader
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 1,066,478
Thread automatically closed

This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.
__________________
CGTalk Policy/Legalities
Note that as CGTalk Members, you agree to the terms and conditions of using this website.
 
Thread Closed share thread



Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
CGSociety
Society of Digital Artists
www.cgsociety.org

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright 2000 - 2006,
Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Minimize Ads
Forum Jump
Miscellaneous

All times are GMT. The time now is 02:46 AM.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.