G5 Power Mac Versus OTHERS

Become a member of the CGSociety

Connect, Share, and Learn with our Large Growing CG Art Community. It's Free!

THREAD CLOSED

08 August 2003
G5 Power Mac Versus OTHERS

This may interest you...

for full story: http://www.barefeats.com/g5sum02.html

08 August 2003
nope not really, the final OS isn't available, C4D hasn't been coded for the G5 64 bit system so its not really a good comparison, not to metnion as lready discussed on PF, they aren't even using the proper results form cinebench.

08 August 2003

just trying to share some info... I'm not an expert on C4D's code, I just use the program

08 August 2003
Interesting Stats

I don't have the top end of either, but it's interesting to see the Cinebench lineup - it's the only program that taxes my system (well other than games)

Isn't AMD also coming out with a 64 bit processor and if so, I wonder how it'll stack up?

I've got a P4-1.7 - but I think a far more limiting factor is that it's capped at 512 MB :( (it's a laptop)

08 August 2003
i don't like MAc's too much, but the G5 looks awesome...but then why has Pixar decided to switch from their pc's to MAc G5's ?? it means the rendering is faster on the G5's...

Last edited by sebek27 : 08 August 2003 at 06:53 PM.

08 August 2003
Yet another soon to be platform war thread - in a moment Thalaxis will come by and give us the bare facts

IŽll just second Kaiskai: not really!

08 August 2003
I have already tested a Cinema scene (radiosity, no materials, pretty complex) on my Pentium IV (512 MB memory)and a dual g4 with 1GB memory (forget the exact spec but it was over 1.5 ghz per proc.) The pentium rendered in about 60% of the time it took the Mac. It was as fair a test as I could make and part of the college project. Everyone with me agreed the Mac should have finished ahead!

My2cents.

08 August 2003
Quote: Originally posted by neilyb