CGTalk > Software > Maxon Cinema 4D
Login register
reply share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-20-2017, 02:34 PM   #1
zeden
PRO
CDN
3D/Game Design
self
Germany
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 183
Using the Points after Polygons delete?

Is here anybody who makes use of the remained points after one has deleted polygons?

Because after a decade of C4D I have yet to meet somebody who is not really annoyed by the remained points. Running those endless optimzed commands....it is time for a global setting in preferences
 
Old 04-20-2017, 03:23 PM   #2
Cairyn
Fur Stylist
 
Cairyn's Avatar
Robert Gruenweiss
Germany
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 473
Yes, sometimes I actually do that. Especially when I am optimizing ugly polys locally.
 
Old 04-23-2017, 07:24 AM   #3
ClausD
PRO
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 79
I have NEVER EVER used the remaining vertices. They are a constant annoyance since I always have to optimise the geometry and check the optimize command prefs. A global setting in preferences would be nice.

And btw. I would love to be able to clone selected polys with CTRL-drag inside the same object.
 
Old 04-23-2017, 09:46 AM   #4
Srek
Some guy
 
Srek's Avatar
CGSociety Member
portfolio
Björn Dirk Marl
Technical Design
Maxon Computer GmbH
Friedrichsdorf, Germany
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 11,463
I use them quite often
__________________
- www.bonkers.de -
The views expressed on this post are my personal opinions and do not represent the views of my employer.
 
Old 04-23-2017, 01:18 PM   #5
Hilt
Reality? Not worth it.
 
Hilt's Avatar
mj
3D/VFX/Post/Sherpa
InfoFrame
Helsinki, Finland
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1,188
Personally I don't think U~O takes that long to execute.
__________________
Crazy people make better CG
 
Old 04-23-2017, 01:41 PM   #6
AlekseyVoz
Expert
 
AlekseyVoz's Avatar
portfolio
aleksey voznesenski
United States Minor Outlying Islands
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 379
maybe a script that runs delete and then optimize wouldn't be hard to stick together. and then bind it to the "delete" key
 
Old 04-23-2017, 01:44 PM   #7
AlekseyVoz
Expert
 
AlekseyVoz's Avatar
portfolio
aleksey voznesenski
United States Minor Outlying Islands
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 379
https://www.dropbox.com/s/4oabatcnz...ptimize.py?dl=1

Here you go done

Put it in your scripts folder. Then restart cinema. shift+f12, find it. And bind it to delete. Done
 
Old 04-23-2017, 03:38 PM   #8
Bullit
Expert
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,429
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hilt
Personally I don't think U~O takes that long to execute.


Waste actions should be prevented in a well designed software. Even more those that have potential to be repeated often.
If you delete a polygon the program should delete the associated points automatically.

Even in Max there is key comb to delete everything and another to delete just the polygon.
 
Old 04-23-2017, 05:30 PM   #9
Srek
Some guy
 
Srek's Avatar
CGSociety Member
portfolio
Björn Dirk Marl
Technical Design
Maxon Computer GmbH
Friedrichsdorf, Germany
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 11,463
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bullit
Waste actions should be prevented in a well designed software. Even more those that have potential to be repeated often.
If you delete a polygon the program should delete the associated points automatically.

Even in Max there is key comb to delete everything and another to delete just the polygon.

Problem here is that it is very easy to delete unwanted points, but much moe difficult to recreate them if you need them.
__________________
- www.bonkers.de -
The views expressed on this post are my personal opinions and do not represent the views of my employer.
 
Old 04-23-2017, 06:37 PM   #10
jayroth
PRO
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 76
What are the use cases, Srek? To me, this is a leftover of Lightwave compatibility efforts...
 
Old 04-23-2017, 07:10 PM   #11
Srek
Some guy
 
Srek's Avatar
CGSociety Member
portfolio
Björn Dirk Marl
Technical Design
Maxon Computer GmbH
Friedrichsdorf, Germany
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 11,463
Quote:
Originally Posted by jayroth
What are the use cases, Srek? To me, this is a leftover of Lightwave compatibility efforts...

To the best of my knowledge there never was a Lightwave compatiblity effort.
I use this during low poly technical modelling for 3D printable machine parts.
__________________
- www.bonkers.de -
The views expressed on this post are my personal opinions and do not represent the views of my employer.
 
Old 04-23-2017, 11:19 PM   #12
Bullit
Expert
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,429
Quote:
Originally Posted by Srek
Problem here is that it is very easy to delete unwanted points, but much moe difficult to recreate them if you need them.



Well the need to recreate points of a deleted poly is more rare than delete them all so the most often use should be the default option, but even it can be made two commands isn't it? one that let them stay one the deletes them. In Max is just using a CTRL+Key and deletes everything while in Softimage there wasn't even this issue.
 
Old 04-24-2017, 03:43 PM   #13
AlekseyVoz
Expert
 
AlekseyVoz's Avatar
portfolio
aleksey voznesenski
United States Minor Outlying Islands
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 379
the new modo release. just made it so regular delete command deletes everything. shift+delete leaves points behind. seems like a solid approach.
 
Old 04-24-2017, 07:43 PM   #14
IceCaveMan
Expert
portfolio
Craig Wall
USA
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 1,581
FYI...Among all the other goodies Holger's must-have Toolkit features a script/button for this type of delete option.
 
Old 04-24-2017, 09:47 PM   #15
Bullit
Expert
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,429
Quote:
Originally Posted by IceCaveMan
FYI...Among all the other goodies Holger's must-have Toolkit features a script/button for this type of delete option.


Yeah, like Max only is alive because work of many users with scriptspot.

The language should be clear and the behavior fit the action defined by the language.
Here is another case of strange decisions http://forums.cgsociety.org/showthr...?f=47&t=1447330

This is a generic comment and not related to C4D but i cringe when i see the state of software today compared to advancements by hardware. It seems software stood still.
17 years later i am still fighting with booleans, bevels and interface decisions that does not make sense or reward marginal cases.

The behavior should be like AlekseyVoz stated about Modo. Max also have 2 commands but there is more energy spent deleting everything because implies the use of option key.
 
reply share thread


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
CGSociety
Society of Digital Artists
www.cgsociety.org

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2006,
Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Minimize Ads
Forum Jump
Miscellaneous

All times are GMT. The time now is 05:42 PM.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.