Explorer
portfolio
Endre Ajandi
Freelance motion design artist
Crosspath Motion
Lisboa, Portugal

C4DtoA render problem

Hello

So, I hit a wall with this. I'm new to the Arnold render world and quite happy with the results it produces. Let me get to the point.

Okay. I have a camera move backplate that needs to feature a car on it. I worked on the car and while it still needs some kinks worked out I wanted to see it on the backplate that is provided. I used a similar hdr to light the car and used it for my initial renders as a background but for my final sequence i want the background hdr (skydome light) turned off. I don't want it to show up in the alpha. I thought that a simple switch can help me but it turns out it doesn't function like that. Is there a way to turn the hdr in the background in a way that it still affects the reflections but the cars glasses are transparent and not show the bg?

I added a render with the hdr and the backplate in a mockup to illustrate the point. The left side is the hdr skydome and the right side is just a quick mockup of the backplate that should be in the final composite. The glass surfaces still show the hdr in the bg. I need to have the backplate showing up.

A quick resolution would be favourable, I will take any advice at this point.

Cheers,
Endre

http://crosspathmotion.com/

Old 04-19-2017, 01:09 PM   #2
luisRiera
Expert
portfolio
luis Riera
Graphics designer
America Television
Lima, Peru

Use an Arnold Tag and set the visibility like the C4D Composite tag.

Old 04-19-2017, 01:35 PM   #3
endreaja
Explorer
portfolio
Endre Ajandi
Crosspath Motion
Lisboa, Portugal

Quote:
Originally Posted by luisRiera
Use an Arnold Tag and set the visibility like the C4D Composite tag.

Thank you for the response.
Sorry, not sure which tag and what parameters should be manipulated. Can you elaborate?

Old 04-19-2017, 02:01 PM   #4
NWoolridge
Expert

Quote:
Originally Posted by endreaja
Thank you for the response.