Need advice on moving from Max

Become a member of the CGSociety

Connect, Share, and Learn with our Large Growing CG Art Community. It's Free!

REPLY TO THREAD

03 March 2018
Need advice on moving from Max

Hi, All

I do medical and scientific animations. Not really character animation so much, but plenty of arbitrary soft tissue deformation and stuff like that. I've been using Max for over 20 years and I'm burned out... on the bugs, the features that don't play nicely with each other, the painful workflows, the pricing games, etc.

Can anyone here tell if they think I'll fare any better using C4D? I need good skinning and morph tools, in addition to as many non-destructive, parametric deformation modifiers as I can get. Rendering tools that allow for quick visualization of lighting or reflection changes, etc. And a good render layer system that even supports different frame ranges per output.

Thanks!

03 March 2018
Also, I'd like to know the general feeling that users have towards the software. Is there optimism and excitement in the community, or is everybody as jaded and frustrated as us Autodesk users?

03 March 2018
Hey Jon,
Been a long time since the Interact days! Always liked your work, man.

Glad to see you are interested in C4D. I never used Max and only Maya while at Interact, so I can't comment too much on comparisons, but I think you'll like C4D for medical work. It keeps getting better and better. I'll be happy to answer any of your questions as best I can. PM me if you're interested.
Arik

Last edited by ScientiaViz : 03 March 2018 at 02:10 PM.

03 March 2018
Hi, Arik

It has been a loooooong time. I hope things are going well for you.

Thanks for the feedback and kind words. I will certainly hit you up as needed. Right now the biggest barriers to entry are finding time, the upfront cost, and the fact that their demo download is corrupted (ha ha). I'm sure you'll be hearing from me at some point. Thanks!

03 March 2018