C4D+Octane UV Question!

Become a member of the CGSociety

Connect, Share, and Learn with our Large Growing CG Art Community. It's Free!

07 July 2018
C4D+Octane UV Question!

I've been a C4D artist for about 4 years now. And within the last 6 months have been using Octane as well.

My problem is I haven't HAD to learn UV mapping and still haven't HAD to, but rather I want to at this point. I'd like to post some of my models on something like SketchFab and things to showcase some. But need to UV map them. For example, I tried to UV Map my Sunset Sarsaparilla Machine model but had zeroooo luck.

If you check out my instagram [ TreyTrimble ] to see my Everydays (currently on Day 1007 consecutively) 

// Is there a point where it's TOO late to UV Map something?
// Does it have to be ONE solid object model in the end?
// Does the Octane Dirt Node also stay with the UV Map when doing this?
// Any tips/help/advice for a first time UV Mapper?

Thank you guys so much for your time and help in this!

07 July 2018
Originally Posted by TreyTrimble:  I've been a C4D artist for about 4 years now. And within the last 6 months have been using Octane as well.

My problem is I haven't HAD to learn UV mapping and still haven't HAD to, but rather I want to at this point. I'd like to post some of my models on something like SketchFab and things to showcase some. But need to UV map them. For example, I tried to UV Map my Sunset Sarsaparilla Machine model but had zeroooo luck.

If you check out my instagram [ TreyTrimble ] to see my Everydays (currently on Day 1007 consecutively) 

// Is there a point where it's TOO late to UV Map something?
// Does it have to be ONE solid object model in the end?
// Does the Octane Dirt Node also stay with the UV Map when doing this?
// Any tips/help/advice for a first time UV Mapper?

Thank you guys so much for your time and help in this!

UVs aren’t tied to render engines. Materials are.

-No...it’s never too late to UV map something