CGTalk > General Techniques > Texturing and Surfacing
To minimize the ads you see on this page create a CGTalk account and log in HERE
Thread Closed share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »  
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-04-2014, 09:45 AM   #1
karalei
New Member
portfolio
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 23
Maya - models render out with a grey outline

Hi all,

I need some help. This has been plaguing me for yeeeears. And I'm fairly sure there's a blindingly obvious solution to which I'm, well, blind. Whenever I render an image in Maya that contains an alpha channel it produces a grey outline around the object. And when you try to comp it on a light background it stands out fairly obviously. I'm not sure whether it's an anti-aliasing issue or a transparency one. I've played around with render settings , but nothing seems to make a difference. I'm afraid rendering simply isn't my forte. And I've spent years telling clients "it's supposed to look like that" ;p - so please, any help would be massively appreciated ....

Regards
K

ps - i've attached a rendered image, I hope it shows up
Attached Images
File Type: jpg test_shield1.jpg (69.8 KB, 9 views)
 
Old 02-05-2014, 11:52 PM   #2
MasonDoran
uhh...
portfolio
Mason Doran
Digital Artist
Freelance
Wien, Austria
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 2,482
Send a message via ICQ to MasonDoran Send a message via Yahoo to MasonDoran
Its called premultiplication.

The alpha channel is mulitiplied against the render to remove the fringe.

Color correcting the image can reintroduce the fringe, so what is normally done is un-premultiply the render first, color correct, and then premultiply afterwards.
__________________
: my website :
 
Old 02-05-2014, 11:54 PM   #3
MasonDoran
uhh...
portfolio
Mason Doran
Digital Artist
Freelance
Wien, Austria
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 2,482
Send a message via ICQ to MasonDoran Send a message via Yahoo to MasonDoran
__________________
: my website :
 
Old 02-06-2014, 09:52 AM   #4
karalei
New Member
portfolio
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 23
Thank you!

Aaaah, finally the universe makes sense - well ok, at least my rendering issues do now. Thanks so much, you were a fantastic help!
 
Old 02-06-2014, 09:52 AM   #5
CGTalk Moderation
Lord of the posts
CGTalk Forum Leader
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 1,066,481
Thread automatically closed

This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.
__________________
CGTalk Policy/Legalities
Note that as CGTalk Members, you agree to the terms and conditions of using this website.
 
Thread Closed share thread


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
CGSociety
Society of Digital Artists
www.cgsociety.org

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright 2000 - 2006,
Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Minimize Ads
Forum Jump
Miscellaneous

All times are GMT. The time now is 07:51 AM.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.