CGTalk > General Techniques > Texturing and Surfacing
Login register
Thread Closed share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »  

Old 01-25-2014, 06:47 AM   #1
Epifire

portfolio
David Somers
USA

Nailing The Look! (fan project question)

Hey guys! I'm just a new modeler trying to work on a few steady projects and turn them into something worth looking at. Currently I am working on a Bioshock Infinite influenced project to see how tightly I can work in a set art style, but still expand to my goals. I call this, the Air-Bike. It's based upon the workings of the B:I universe (rail launching and such) as well as constricted to a time period (being 1912). It may be a rather big task for me to take on something so large for my first high res project, but I'm willing to press my skills through the course of it's construction. Which is sorta my goal at the same time. So here is what I'm wanting to texture and bring to life...

Keep in mind the shots of the mesh are still WIP but the general silhouette and details are pretty final, (minus the horrid chesterfield seat) Still working that out!

While I have much to master in the line of baking procedures, my current concerns rest more in the texture work I'd be doing in Photoshop. I guess I'm worried about how to replicate the sort of loud elements that make a lot of the materials pop in B:I. Most the time there is a lot of watering down (from what I could tell) in other more games that try to nail a more "photo realistic look" Where as I feel B:I tends to exaggerate it's materials to try and draw upon more depth and definition.

A prime example for both color and lighting elements I wish to capture are summed up in this screen shot really well...