Zbrush to Maya workflow help

Become a member of the CGSociety

Connect, Share, and Learn with our Large Growing CG Art Community. It's Free!

THREAD CLOSED

Old 10 October 2013   #1
Zbrush to Maya workflow help

Hey,
I'm a student that's just starting to learn ZBrush. I've mostly worked in Maya for modeling, animation, and rendering. Now that I'm starting to get the hang of using ZBrush, I'm really interested in being able to take my zbrush models and texture them with some of the subsurface shaders and materials available in Maya. But I've been having a really hard time transferring detail onto the models in Maya. I've posted what I've been trying to work on and what I've done, and I would really appreciate it if anyone can help me out with getting better results and let me know how they would do it instead.

This is the zbrush sculpt that I want to try to get into Maya

I've UVed all the parts, here's a look at the face UV:

I heard that what I should do is export my low poly mesh and the displacement maps from Zbrush. So I created displacement maps with this setting- 32bit, Adaptive, DPSubPix-2, flipV. and I set the size to the max at 8192x8192

I then set up plain lambert shaders with the displacement maps plugged in. smooth previewed the geometry to get rid of the hard edges, and then added a default displacement approximation with the U and V Subdivisions at 4. and this was the result:

the render looks ok, but it lack fine detail and has a bunch of weird artifacts and spiky geometry.here's a closeup to further show what I mine:

I notice that in the displacement map that some of the weird geometry stuff happens where there is light gray spots around the eyes and nose

I've also noticed that even with all the same settings, some of the displacement maps have a black background while others have a gray and I don't know what causes the difference:

the ones with the gray background don't behaved correctly like the back background ones: