Login register
Thread Closed share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »  

Old 10-04-2013, 01:45 PM   #1
EquityReleaseCalculator
portfolio
United Kingdom

Basic v-ray and 3DS max noobery

Hi there

I recently started learning 3DS max, I've been using Maya for a while and really like it, I'm nowhere near a professional level but I reached a point where I was creating reasonably detailed 10-20 hundred (unsmoothed) meshes that I was quite happy with and sculpting them in things like ZBrush, I hope to go into the games industry and am on a B-Tec lvl 3 course in game development (Equivalent of A-levels), does anyone have any tips for switching over to max? I need some help with efficiency more than anything, is there a way of selecting faces while using the extrude tool or to select multiple faces do I need to switch back to Q? How do I get things like tool settings? Is there a merge tool that uses midpoints in stead of snapping? (Uber noob time) how do I combine objects in Max?

Also at college we have V-ray and I spent a good hour and a half working on my materials but I don't have it at home, can I make changes and create objects in my scene without all of my materials being destroyed, even if they don't render right until I go back to college? I mostly want to create some objects with splines in the scene, can I make them in a new scene then import it just like in maya? On the subject of splines how do I convert a spline object into a normal poly mesh?

I know this isn't likely but is there a free way to get v-ray? I did NOT torrent it, but it didn't seem to work and gave me loads of error messages, does anyone definitely not have a better link to a torrent or other way of getting it. If you have a good torrent do not send it to me please, I'd really appreciate it.

Thanks a bunch, Paddy

Old 10-04-2013, 01:45 PM   #2
CGTalk Moderation
Lord of the posts
CGTalk Forum Leader

Thread automatically closed