CGTalk > Techniques > Texturing and Surfacing
Login register
Thread Closed share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »  
Old 04-09-2013, 07:56 PM   #1
Bruno de Coninck
Montreal, Canada
Send a message via MSN to bdec
Weird bump map problem in XSI...

Hi, every body! I'm writing you today because I have a problem that I don't even understand. It is the second time in one year I get it and nobody seems to know where it is from.

Here's the situation! I'm a student, I'm working on my final work for my bachelor degree and I really have to start my render soon.

So, here we are. I'm using an architectural material with a bump map in mental ray (I know, nothing impressive here, but I don't need more for this part...)

The problem is that every time I use a bumpmap in my character some weird edges appears in the bump. My UVs are correct (I checked it twice and asket to someone else to confirm). Some people asked if I had double edges, but I checked and double checked and no, I don't.

Finally, one last weird thing is that it appears ONLY when I add subdivisions...

Anyone can help me? I really don't understand and nobody seems to know what I could do. o.O Please, save me! :-(

Here are the pics...

Here is a render with bump. The problem is clearly visible around the center of the pic. I swear that there is NO seams here. My cutline is on the sewing line (I don't know if it is the correct word, English isn't my first language...)

On the second picture, I removed the bump to show that the problem is not from my UV or from a double edge...

Finally, the in the last image, you can see that with no subdivision, the problem disapear... But I can't render without my subdivisions... :-S

I'll continue to search on my side but I realy don't even know what to search! :-S I can't believe I'm the only one to get this problem in the world. In one year, it is the second dime I get it... :-S
Old 04-10-2013, 09:25 PM   #2
Bruno de Coninck
Montreal, Canada