Login register
Thread Closed share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »  

Old 03-16-2013, 03:33 PM   #1
coolvicky21
portfolio
United Kingdom

Exclamation Patchy rendering

Hi all

I am new to 3DS Max and learning by reverse engineering other people's work. I have a task to render jewellery created from JewelCAD software. The software exports model in DXF format and I can import it into 3DS Max. However, when rendering it I get patchy surface, causing the HDR image reflection to look distorted.

The scene has been downloaded from http://www.turbosquid.com/3d-models...iamond-2/698415. If I render the model the author has provided in the scene it renders smooth. But when I assign the same material to my model it renders distorted. I understand my model surface isn't correct.

So can someone guide me on how to fix it? I am new so a more detailed help will be useful

See sample rendering output: https://docs.google.com/file/d/0Bwz...dit?usp=sharing

See the DXF model file here: https://docs.google.com/file/d/0Bwz...dit?usp=sharing

Old 03-17-2013, 06:51 AM   #2
leigh
blahblah

CGSociety Staff
portfolio
Leigh van der Byl
A cog in the wheel
Hertfordshire, United Kingdom

It looks like a smoothing problem. I'm going to move this to the Max forum, as it's not a texturing issue.

Old 03-17-2013, 01:46 PM   #3
Aikku
Veteran
portfolio
Ruben Nunez
West Melbourne, Australia

Send a message via MSN to Aikku
It indeed looks like a smoothing problem.
3ds Max will sometimes import some formats by writing triangles directly and guessing normals/smoothing groups. This can lead to some inconsistencies to you may have to set the correct smoothing groups.

Another possibility is that, if you're using environment mapping, the UV co-ordinates are wrong, and this causes the visual distortion.

Old 03-17-2013, 02:05 PM   #4
scrimski
antieverything
portfolio
J. Schreyer
head->wall
ARRI Berlin
Berlin, Germany

Applying a Smooth(not Meshsmooth or Turbosmooth) modifier should fix the issue.