US marine

Become a member of the CGSociety

Connect, Share, and Learn with our Large Growing CG Art Community. It's Free!

THREAD CLOSED

11 November 2010
US Marine

Hey, there!

A while ago I started to build a helmet, and now I figured that to start a WIP-thread might help turn it into a full Marine. Also, I started a 3D-school a few months ago (happy me!) and I need stuff for my future reel, so that's another carrot to keep this project running!

If anybody didn't get it from the title I'm planning on creating a US Marine I'm not dead set on what year he's from, but it's sometime during the Iraq war. Since I'm still learning about who uses what gear from what time I'm all up for suggestions regarding all of that

Please note that the goggles are not done. More to come!

Last edited by eRKK : 01 January 2011 at 10:05 PM.

11 November 2010
Amazing level of detail, looking forward to seeing this progress.

11 November 2010
Thanks, man!

I've been working some more on the chinstrap. It's still far from finished, but I just figured it was about time to share some progress on this to keep me going. This image also gives some general impression of where I'm going with this. Anyone with a keen eye for details will also notice that I've added a head! I started the sculpting of it in mudbox a few days ago. I will post some more images of just the head since I need some advice on the anatomy of it!

Last edited by eRKK : 11 November 2010 at 08:08 PM.

11 November 2010
looks awesome...the cloth in particular looks really real. I have one of these helmets and it looks exactly like that. Can't wait to see how this progresses! About the head anatomy its hard to judge from these pictures, but it does look like the neck is a bit fat.

11 November 2010