WIP: Gothic/Sci-Fi Citadel (Advice and Critique Appreciated!)

Become a member of the CGSociety

Connect, Share, and Learn with our Large Growing CG Art Community. It's Free!

REPLY TO THREAD

08 August 2017
WIP: Gothic/Sci-Fi Citadel (Advice and Critique Appreciated!)

Hey all,

This is a work in progress piece that is meant to be a Gothic styled citadel. It combined many elements seen in cathedrals, etc. I'm still fairly new to CG, and am not a CG artist by profession, but I'd still like to get good at CGI. Here's what my geometry looks like so far:

Last edited by deltaKshatriya : 10 October 2017 at 09:29 PM.

08 August 2017
I'll be posting more pictures as well. At this point, I've moved into texturing and that's what I'm working on, but I'm open to more advice.

The plan ultimately is to add in some ZBrush sculpts for statues, so that's why there's quite a few empty spaces still in the geometry.

08 August 2017
Progress on texturing:

08 August 2017
More progress from today! I've been working on doing texturing and UV unwrapping as I go!

08 August 2017
And one more I forgot of texture progress update!

08 August 2017
Some progress on my texture:

08 August 2017
I'm continuing to work on the textures. Hopefully the resolution improvement has helped:

08 August 2017
Some more things I'm trying out:

08 August 2017
Another choice I'm deciding between

08 August 2017
I feel like I'm missing something from these concrete bricks. Any ideas?

08 August 2017
Originally Posted by deltaKshatriya: I feel like I'm missing something from these concrete bricks. Any ideas?

Good job so far. You could include normal map or bump map on those bricks, or you could model them. Considering that you modeled all the other details, maybe you could do the same for the bricks?

08 August 2017